3/12 Max +2 46~+11.75 55~PMPS 72-BCS-AM Dose Advice Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Happy Friday LL, the weekend is almost here.

Mr. Max earned another dosecrease last night and OMG we are below 4u. We shot 3.75 this morning.
The last time was back in December. This is just so exciting and he is just so happy.

This mornig was a huge change in the routine. I so wanted Max to sleep with us last night so
I carried him up to bed (of course he wouldn't walk up the stairs) but he had other plans.
Well, this morning, the alarm goes off and on I go downstairs to start his routine.
All of a sudden I see a big Orange Tabby walk out of my closet to follow me downstairs.
He never went back down last night and stayed upstairs with us. He has not done that in ages.
He was meowing and meowing and running down the stairs for his test.
The feeder from last night (3 bowls for 3 cats) was untouched. Max did not eat and even this morning he left over some breakfast.
It is amazing how the appetite is lower now that
his numbers are lower. The good thing is that I am not "obsessed" with him eating so much.
I now know that because his BG is not as high, he does not need as much food as he did before.
I am hoping then a bit of weight will come off his 18.5 pounds. Got to do a weigh in this weekend.
Had our coffee together this morning too and Max got a terrific brushing.
Oh I also notice last night that he needs to be caoaxed for his testing now as he isnot always on his chair. He must be saying, hey Mom, my numbers are good, stop testing me, okay.
Just way too funny.


Have a great day everyone!!!!!
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125

This is such wonderful news Randi...I am so happy for you!!! :YMHUG:
Great report!! Hope you guys have a great day today!!!
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125

I just decided to do a +2 before out the door. DPS will only be in in about 1.5 hours.
I almost didn't test him but said why not.

OMG dropped to 46 already. Feeding him MC now. I need to leave so i will have DD test him before DPS comes in. How can he ave so much shed from that 4u??

Max just keeps running down that dose ladder.
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46

Wow! I was just telling DH2B about how great Max has been doing. That was a fast drop for +2. I guess Max thinks 3.75 is a little too much? It's great to hear that he's doing things that he hasn't done in a while. I know that makes you feel good! Great WCR! Hope he'll start to surf for you - maybe in the 60s, though - get out of the 40s, Max!
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46

Randi, since you had a dosecrease last night, the 46 today (wow... and early in the cycle) is likely shed effect. Don't hesitate to MC him -> but no need to send him to rocketville.
Way to go Maxman!
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46

Hey Randi!! Moonie just did the same thing & got the same number--46!!!
Are there some secret messages going on with these 2???
She does love all Maxes!! & Orange ones!!--WE also just fed her MC--Hope we both get them on the surfboard!!
Yes, this is shed action from previous dose--DOING SOOOOO GREAT!!! Happy dance dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+3 43

Max does not want to leave the 40's. I had to leave for work and saw DPS
posting a 43. He has been getting MC.

Is it dangerous to be surfing these 40's?
And it is so early in he cycle.
I prepared a can of gravy straining on the counter although DH had prepared a concoction
kept in the fridge but I am not sure if the carb content was high enough.
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+3 43

will there be a retest soon?

This is really awesome to see Randi! Im so happy for you guys :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+3 43

Thanks Miriam
I have been giving him 2 tsp of LC wit 2 tsp of gravy from the high carb can.
He did not seem very hungry this morning though.
I will call home and see if he is eating.

Ronnie - calling home now for an update.
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+3 43

I meant to add that it is not dangerous to surf the 40's but it is preferable he surf a little higher like in the 50's. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+3 43

Miriam and Putty said:
I meant to add that it is not dangerous to surf the 40's but it is preferable he surf a little higher like in the 50's. :mrgreen:

That's what I thought Miriam - Thanks so much.
I just wasn't sure if he should have pure HC since it is early and Max can nadir up to +7.
Just called home and he is eating his MC.
Testing again at 10:45 which will be +4.
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+6 65~+11.75 55 Shot help

Just did my PMPS and Max is 55.

+9 86 and he ate LC at that time.
Where he is dropping at almost shot time by 30 points is beyond me.
Obviously I cannot shoot him his full dose and I can stall for a bit but going into a time change
this weekend is going to be a huge problem stalling for very long.

What do I do?
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+6 65~+11.75 55 Shot Advice

I agree that this is too low of a number to shoot. Let me see if I can scare up some more eyes to take a look. If this is a BCS dose, I'm thinking 2.5u but I'm not sure if that's too much. I also am wondering if it may be worth considering skipping a shot given how Max keeps going below 40. His shed may be overfilled.
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+6 65~+11.75 55 Shot Advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
I agree that this is too low of a number to shoot. Let me see if I can scare up some more eyes to take a look. If this is a BCS dose, I'm thinking 2.5u but I'm not sure if that's too much. I also am wondering if it may be worth considering skipping a shot given how Max keeps going below 40. His shed may be overfilled.

Thanks Sienne.
About to go test again but I don't expect him to jump to a shootable number.
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+11.75 55~+12 71 Shot Advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
Are you skipping?

OOPS. Had a really hard time testing again so I did not here your message come in.
Just shot, 1/2 past AMPS dose, which was 45 minutes passed when I wanted due
to the time change tomorrow.

Shot BCS dose of 2. Home all night and have a case of HC and about 7 boxes of test strips.
That should cover me I hope.
Don't know what I will do tomorrow AMPS if he is still showing these numbers.
Hey, how about an OTJ trial??? :smile:
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+11.75 55~PMPS 72-BCS

2.0 sounds fine.

As far as going from 3.75u to none... Let's just say I wouldn't think it would be the most successful of OTJ trials.
 
Re: 3/12 Max AMPS 125~+2 46~+11.75 55~PMPS 72-BCS

Sienne and Gabby said:
2.0 sounds fine.

As far as going from 3.75u to none... Let's just say I wouldn't think it would be the most successful of OTJ trials.

Hoping for the best but do I go back to the 3.75 tomorrow AMPS, 3.5? Stcik to 2?
That would not be great protocal such a decrease.
When you do a BCS are you supposed to go back to your dose but that does not make sense
in sticking with a dose that gives me unshootable numbers.

I know going from 3.75 to nothing was kind of silly, just thought Max should make some
history here, lol.
That is not the route I want to go. I want to microdose too and I could not figure out where
2 was on the syringe. Too small for me.
 
To recap, Max dropped very low very this morning and surfed greens all day.
At shot time he was at 55, too low to shoot.
Stalled 1/2 hour, came up to 72 and with all of the action, BCS'd his dose to 2u.

Right now Max is still surfing the greens.

The mornings are quiet sometimes and I really will not be able to stall the shot and actually
need to move it back as I did not get it done tonight.

I would like an opinion as to what dose I should shoot tomorrow. I know it will depend on the number but if it is still low should I stay at the 2? I do not know
the protocol for BC dose.
If he rebounds back up, go back to original dose?

Just some ideas or suggestions in case no one is around, and I will only do what I am comfortable with, you know that.
Thanks!
 
no, don't stay with the 2 units, you don't get to keep BCS doses! Today's low numbers were largely influenced by the shed from the last dose (4 units is a pretty big shed). I would go back to 3.75 and give it a try on an emptier shed.

I know going down the dosing scale is exhausting, but this is a time when it is worth it to ride the edge as long as you can do so safely. Max is doing so well and I would hate to see him lose momentum.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
no, don't stay with the 2 units, you don't get to keep BCS doses! Today's low numbers were largely influenced by the shed from the last dose (4 units is a pretty big shed). I would go back to 3.75 and give it a try on an emptier shed.

I know going down the dosing scale is exhausting, but this is a time when it is worth it to ride the edge as long as you can do so safely. Max is doing so well and I would hate to see him lose momentum.


Thank you Libby. I was pretty sure I did not get to earn the BCS but he really has been
out of control, well you know what I mean, and I did not know where to go to.
Going up was depressing but it was so much easier on a different level.
You are not kidding that going down is exhausting and we are going down from 6u. That's a long way down.
Max is starting to get very annoyed with the testing. This is all so new that we are afraid for
him to get too low. His ss is starting to look like Luna's did.

BTW in you opinion, what would you have done for a shot tonight, in case I have to fly solo
again. I like to learn so if I did not make a good choice, I would like to know.
 
Unless Libby, or Jill if she's on later tonight, has a different spin on things, I think the choice tonight was to do what ou did, a BCS dose or to skip. There's a point when the shed is overfilled and you it's just hard to catch up with regard to where your dose needs to be.
 
Thanks Sienne.
I was so afraid of skipping the shot and depleting the shed by too much since
Max has come down in dose a bit too much lately and I would like to keep him going down.
I felt with the smaller dose at least he was getting some insulin, and besides its the
weekend, I'm mostly around.
I am curious to see what AMPS will be waiting for me.
 
Randi...you and Max have come a long way and it is so great to see the amazing progress !!
You are doing a fantastic job!!! Will be interesting to see his AMPS...keep on keeping on! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top