3/12 Kitty AMPS 121 - no shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

worldtraveller

Member Since 2011
Good morning!! After my wonderful 3,5 hours of sleep, another Kitty ear piercing job :smile:

And - he is now 113 at +11 since PM shot. Green all night! :mrgreen: Just A M A Z I N G how he doing this well. And of course I now have to leave him now, UGH!

I am thinking about skipping the morning shot. Do you agree?
 
Re: 3/12 Kitty +11 113 - advise ?

I think we had a consensus that skipping the AM shot and then having your petsitter give Kitty 0.25u while your traveling should be safe. Please remember to leave a sample syringe for your petsitter since this may be a hard amount for her to draw up.
 
Re: 3/12 Kitty +11 113 - advise ?

Hi Sienne,
Yes, i think this is the best plan (as long I can also draw 0.25u, never tried before :cool: ). I will also leave extra LC canned food.

Ok - now I have to ask about the hypos.... what if Kitty would have a very low blood sugar level and then hypo between the shots, when no-one is here? I have never experienced one, so how long would a hypo last? would the pet sitter notice that if she comes later in the evening? or is it something that a cat would/may recover on her own? Of course I do hope there would not be a "big" hypo episode with a low dose.....
 
AMPS was now 121, lowest ever AMPS reading - go Kitty go!! Because of my travels, I will not shoot this morning.

You guys have no idea how stupid it now feels to leave Kitty for 5 days after yesterday's first green+blue day. :sad:
I am now considering to take an earlier flight back on Friday, just to have one more cycle before the next trip again... Let's see.
 
for getting the .25u dose - have your sitter draw up more, say 1 unit, or something slightly less. then try "screwing" the plunger to work it down to .25u one drop at a time. sometimes you can have more control using the plunger that way. when looking at the plunger, take note of the "air space" between the plunger and the lines.

you can also count drops. that's how people do less than .25u, but perhaps it would help here as well. draw up an exact unit, then squeeze out one drop at a time, counting the drops, until you get to .25. make note of how many drops you squeezed out and then repeat the process the next time.

you'll have to use the insulin for trying the drop method because the "thickness" of liquids varies. fortunately, he's on a small enough dose that you're not going to miss the insulin!

regarding the hypos - this is hard to say. we are very data-driven on this forum and we test so we know where the cat's BG is.

low numbers are not necessarily hypos. i've had punkin show up in the 30's when i've tested, but i give him high carbs right away and he comes up. we treat numbers that are below 50. a cat can't become hypoglycemic without an injection of insulin. as i said, most cats will want to eat if they get too low of blood sugar. that's why i was suggesting leaving out plenty of regular food.

i think dyana gave you the links for hypos for your petsitter. everything would depend on how low Kitty got and the timing related to the petsitter's arrival. Kitty seems to nadir fairly early - perhaps around +4. if your cat sitter were to arrive and find Kitty in distress, she should rub karo syrup on his gums or administer it rectally and get him to a vet. that would be an emergency.

this is why we're suggesting caution. perhaps someone else has a better answer for you than this.
 
I think Julie has done a great job of answering your questions. The best thing to do is to be sure the petsitter has read the information on hypos, understands what it means and how to identify a hypo, and most importantly, understands what to do and where the closest vet clinic is. I don't know about Russia, but here, a letter is required from the "owner" (not a term I like to use but...) in order for the pet to be treated. You might leave such a letter for your petsitter in case of an emergency.

Have a good trip, Mia.
 
Thanks Julie, thanks Marje!

I have tried to make the 0.25 dosing myself, and it is a bit challenging :). I think it is likely one drop of insulin. I left a note saying in case they are in doubt, less is better.

My sitters are nice Russian ladies who are not afraid to take action (in a friendly way, really! I've met the most resourceful and helpful people here in Russia). And to take Kitty to a vet clinic in a case of emergency is probably not a problem.... when I went there the first time, nobody really asked any questions.... a long and funny story, a true life experience :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top