3/12 KARAMELLE AMPS 283 +5 150 +9 149 PMPS 207 +3 312

I need to ask about the dose reduction. Two days ago she dropped to 46 and I was supposed to do a reduction but instead I just shaved a sliver of the 1.25 pm dose and then went back up to the full dose the next morning. I'm just wondering now if I should have done the full reduction or should still do it. She seems stable and I don't want rock the boat. Just second guessing my decision. I know what the protocol says and I realize I didn't follow it.
 
Yes, that drop below 50 earned her a reduction to 1U.

Rather than not take earned reductions, you want to try and keep her at a good dose (avoid reductions) by feeding the curve. Prevent sharp drops with food and if you still see sharp drops, use food to get her to flatten out/slow down.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Yes, that drop below 50 earned her a reduction to 1U.

Rather than not take earned reductions, you want to try and keep her at a good dose (avoid reductions) by feeding the curve. Prevent sharp drops with food and if you still see sharp drops, use food to get her to flatten out/slow down.
She gets fed after each test and sometimes in between if theres a longer time in between tests. She asks for food and is eating a lot! I think she might have been eating smaller portions that day she dropped. I keep track of the calories, but dont write down times for each feeding, but its usually after each test. So that day, 3/10, I tested 7 times and she ate 8 times. She ate 316 calories that day.
 
She gets fed after each test and sometimes in between if theres a longer time in between tests. She asks for food and is eating a lot! I think she might have been eating smaller portions that day she dropped. I keep track of the calories, but dont write down times for each feeding, but its usually after each test. So that day, 3/10, I tested 7 times and she ate 8 times. She ate 316 calories that day.
Ok. Great! Then in some cycles where there are sharp drops even after LC, you might need to use a little MC to slow her down and keep her over 50. In bounce clearing cycles, there is additional downward momentum and often reductions earned in those cycles don't hold.
 
Ok. Great! Then in some cycles where there are sharp drops even after LC, you might need to use a little MC to slow her down and keep her over 50. In bounce clearing cycles, there is additional downward momentum and often reductions earned in those cycles don't hold.
That particular day when she dropped to 46, I fed her the regular low carb food, tested an hour after the 46 test but it was probably closer to 1/2 hour after she ate and it was 90, so it went up without any intervention besides just feeding her. Thats why I was reluctant to lower the dose.
 
This post describes what to do for reductions in a way that might be easier to reference. Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
I read that if they dont hold reductions well you can go up to 3 drops before reducing. I dont know if shes had enough experiences with reductions yet but she didnt hold the last one well (that was a month ago). I increased again in 2 days. She hasnt had any reductions since, only increases. Since I missed the reduction this time, I guess I will do it next time, if she drops again.
 
That particular day when she dropped to 46, I fed her the regular low carb food, tested an hour after the 46 test but it was probably closer to 1/2 hour after she ate and it was 90, so it went up without any intervention besides just feeding her. Thats why I was reluctant to lower the dose.
Yes, later in the cycle, you may not need carbs to bring her numbers up.


I read that if they dont hold reductions well you can go up to 3 drops before reducing. I dont know if shes had enough experiences with reductions yet but she didnt hold the last one well (that was a month ago). I increased again in 2 days. She hasnt had any reductions since, only increases. Since I missed the reduction this time, I guess I will do it next time, if she drops again.
She doesn't yet fall into the does not hold reductions category. In the future, see if you can prevent her from dropping below 50 so that she can stay at a good dose.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Yes, later in the cycle, you may not need carbs to bring her numbers up.



She doesn't yet fall into the does not hold reductions category. In the future, see if you can prevent her from dropping below 50 so that she can stay at a good dose.
Im starting to see a pattern I think. If her AMPS starts with pink then she seems to either stay pink or maybe some yellow for the rest of the day. If it starts with Yellow, she can stay yellow or drop to blue. If its low yellow or blue or green then she has a chance of dropping farther down. So when i see the lower AMPS, should I try and feed her more? Of course she usually doesnt eat as well when its lower, which is probably why she drops.
 
Back
Top