3/12 Jack: 104@amps, holding 9.5units

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
This has been one wild ride lately. Jack seems to be throwing overnight parties! Some updates:
1. We finally got power back yesterday...yay!
2. I spoke with the pharmacist, Jack's insulin has been renewed, and it is from the manufacturer we were using since he was diagnosed (Mylan) and not the one they gave me last time (Biocon Biologics) I know in theory there shouldn't be a difference, but it's a variable I can control so I'm going back to the brand that was giving better numbers. The pharmacy had to order it so I won't be able to switch him until the end of the week. I'll make a note on the SS again when I do switch.
3. I sent an email to the vet clinic about the insulin resistance tests, waiting to hear back on an estimate.
4. I was able to label the cat food for carbs according to Dr Lisa's PDF, and am giving Jack the lower carbs in the AM with the kibble mix (3-4%) and the higher carbs (5-6%) in the PM. Ideally I would like to get him off the kibble mix but that has been a 2 1/2 year battle already, so maybe I'll just see if I can switch the kibble mix to the pm so he has higher numbers overnight and I have a chance at sleeping again. This will cause a riot with the herd though so will have to be done over the weekend when I have more time and patience for cat attitude.
5. I decided to hold the 9.5 units because I am planning on switching the manufacturer in a few days and also because Jack has a tendency to throw green and then bounce. His current protocol is showing 3 dark greens around 75 and then he gets the reduction. Unless he goes lime (NOT an invitation to do so!)

Hope everyone has a good day!

Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-11-jack-317-amps-380-2.287595/#post-3160411
 
Hi Christine. Sounds like a well thought out plan. Great job. It seems like we need to be a detective to figure out what variables we can control to try to tweak to get a better result. And then, Cats… they don’t cooperate with our plan.
Glad you got power back, too…makes all the difference.
Wishing you a much less stressful day with Jack and the herd :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wow Christine, Jack had a fantastic cycle last night. Greens at the later time! :D
His system may be getting the message at last!
I like your points and plans too! Nice systematic steps you've been taking :)
Hope you have a great day and Jack surfs safely and steadily! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top