3/12 GracieD PMPS 81, +1 57, +2 51

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
Morning All!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38592

I lowered Gracie's dose to 1u 2 days ago. Her third reduction in as many days. Yesterday her numbers in the AM cycle were higher than normal(her new normal, yeah!). I was thinking that we may have reduced to quickly. Then last night her numbers were better. I was planning on shooting 1/2 an hour early today to make up some time, but she was at 68! I didn't feed, waited for normal time, and got 67. I threw caution to the wind yet again, and shot the 1u. I will be home with her all day, and I have a lot of data from the last week showing that she surfs well at lower numbers. Just in case, I fed her her favorite, unidentified glycemic value food, Soulistic Chicken. She loved it. Then, as I was feeding my IBD/CRF cat(we have to feed them in a locked downstairs bathroom to keep the other cats out, and yes, they do open the door!) I hear multiple vomits. It was Gracie with a huge hairball. Now, not only did I shoot a very low number, she barfed her whole breakfast! I fed her another bowl of the Soulistic, which she seemed bored of, and then she went out and ate a little BG Chicken dry. I guess she'll be fine.

That was just the start of my morning, but I won't bore you with any more cat caring antics. I hope everyone has a great weekend and best wishes to all the wonderful kitties and their parents from LL!

FYI... I've become obsessed with consistent dosing, and perfecting fractional dosing. So much so that I bought these!

41Zz5NiNBVL._SL500_AA300_.jpg


Jason
 
Re: 3/12 Gracie D AMPS 67 - What a morning

Good morning, Jason & Gracie..what a morning :roll: but they do happen!
Great job on shooting, I am sure she will be just fine - your a great furdad ;-)
A few times Baby has puked after her shot/breakfast & I just feed her within 30mins or so something different because I know if I puked I wouldn't want to eat immediately & not the same thing :lol:
Happy Caturday & have a great day, Gracie is looking amazing!
 
Re: 3/12 GracieD AMPS 67, +1 73, +2 46 4th reduction coming

Her +2 was 46, so I fed her some HC 9-Lives. It seems she's been on the 1u long enough that these are true 1u numbers, so I think we'll be looking at a reduction tonight. Just 5 days ago, she was getting 1.5u, and tonight, she'll be on half that, .75u. My fingers are crossed that this continues.
 
Re: 3/12 GracieD AMPS 67, +1 73, +2 46, +3 45, +5 45

So crossing my fingers for you, too. Great job....nice shooting. Another Gracie who loves the 40s!!
 
Re: 3/12 GracieD AMPS 67, +1 73, +2 46, +3 45, +5 45

I believe Miss Gracie is on a mission. :mrgreen:

I agree that she has earned another reduction. Congrats!
 
Re: 3/12 GracieD AMPS 67, +1 73, +2 46, +3 45, +5 45

SWEET!!!

and perhaps she feels this way about diabetes...

d3aef_funny-pictures-cat-hates-monkeys.jpg
 
Re: 3/12 GracieD AMPS 67, PMPS 81 Dose reduction

GracieD is doing awesome. She is so majestic looking in her picture. Truly an intervention that she found you.
 
Jason, you're feeding these 50s, right? You can go ahead and give gravy if you want. Gracie doesn't need to earn another reduction tonight, since she just had one this cycle.
 
I am. Not HC yet, just her regular Soulistic Chicken. I'll give her HC before I go to bed. If this reduction is like the previous ones though, she will earn another reduction in the next cycle or two. I guess that's a good thing :)

Libby and Lucy said:
Jason, you're feeding these 50s, right? You can go ahead and give gravy if you want. Gracie doesn't need to earn another reduction tonight, since she just had one this cycle.
 
Jason: which Soulistic is the chicken...is it Good Karma? If it is, were you aware that it is 19%carbs from calories? That's based on the info the company gave me. I have all their foods % carbs:
Shrimply Divine 8%
Double Happiness 5%
Polynesian Picnic 3%
Celestial Feast 4%
Upstream Dream 7%
Surf n Earth 8%
Pure Bliss
18%
Aqua Grill 22%
Good Karma 19%
Nautical Nirvana 8%
Sweet Salutations 22%
Harvest Sunrise 24%

The owner of the company sent me the as feds and I used Janet's calculator to get the above numbers.
 
Thanks Marjorie. It is Good Karma, but I had no idea how many carbs it had! All I saw was this on the Petco website " Low carbohydrates and low glycemic formulas to help maintain urine pH balance ". I guess that doesn't include the chicken. Darn. That's her favorite. I must say though, that it doesn't seem to affect her that much. Oh well, I guess I have been giving her HC! I did read that Tapioca Starch isn't an awful carb for diabetics, but that percentage is still way high.

Thanks again. I couldn't find that info online. I did find the phosphorus count, which is low, and why I initially bought it.

Jason


Marjorie and Gracie said:
Jason: which Soulistic is the chicken...is it Good Karma? If it is, were you aware that it is 19%carbs from calories? That's based on the info the company gave me. I have all their foods % carbs:
Shrimply Divine 8%
Double Happiness 5%
Polynesian Picnic 3%
Celestial Feast 4%
Upstream Dream 7%
Surf n Earth 8%
Pure Bliss
18%
Aqua Grill 22%
Good Karma 19%
Nautical Nirvana 8%
Sweet Salutations 22%
Harvest Sunrise 24%

The owner of the company sent me the as feds and I used Janet's calculator to get the above numbers.
 
Jason: I had a lot of interesting emails back and forth with the owner. He said the same thing...tapioca starch is not high in carbs and there is nothing else to provide the carbs but then he sent me his as-feds and I double and triple checked them on Janet's calculator. Here's some of my email exchange with him (which, btw, Dr. Lisa disagreed with some of his statements regarding using percentages):

The only added carbs to Good Karma would come in the tapioca starch and the xanthan gum. The tapioca starch is between 1-2% of the formula and xanthan gum is about 0.5% of the formula. Tapioca starch is about 90% carbs and xanthan gum is about 78% carbs. In doing that math, 90% of 1% is .9%, 90% of 2% is 1.8% and 78% of 0.5% is 0.39%. Meaning, the carb percentage in the formula is around 1.29% to 2.19%. Taking the higher number of 2.19%, this changes the math a bit in your example…there are 7.67 carb calories + 14.45 + 48.86 = 71 calories. That is about 10.8% carbs calories. If you use the lower range, it’s 4.52 + 14.45 + 48.86 = 67.83…this is 6.6% carbs.
We are calculating percentages here, and while percentages may be useful, we urge a focus on actual amounts. For instance, the actual amount of carbohydrate content/carbohydrate calories is quite low at 5-8 calories. In comparison to many other pet food brands, the actual carb calories is quite low and the actual protein calories is quite high. This is good. Where we lack calories in comparison to most brands is in the fat category. We use far leaner cuts, such as skinless chicken breast. There are a few brands out there that have double and even triple the amount of fat calories over their protein calories. Of course, by boosting the fat calories, you dilute the percentage of the other calories. Meaning, we could lessen the percentage of our carbohydrate calories quite significantly by adding in fat. The more fat we added, the lower the carbohydrate percentage. However, just because we boost the fat content, it does not mean we change the actual carbohydrate content. In fact, it will not change the actual amount of carbohydrate calories at all. They would stay between 5 and 8 calories.
All in all, there is an actual amount of carbohydrates that should or should not go into the body. Percentages can be misleading. If a can is 250 calories and was 5% carbs, that would be 12.5 calories of carbs. A formula that has 175 calories that is 7% carbs is 12.25 calories of carbs. The higher percentage has a lower actual amount but the lower percentage has an actual higher amount. Which one is better? This is tough to say as a lot would depend on the quality of the ingredients used and the protein to fat ratio.

However....something is obviously working for Gracie so...if it isn't broke..don't fix it!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top