3/12 Gobbles PMPS 440 +2 462

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90715&p=972907#p972907

He woke up in a good mood, however, would only eat 1 t. LC. Last night, I "fed" his numbers a little (better high for a day, than low for a moment, right?). Giving him 20% at +4 had no effect at +5.5, so I assume he may have gone low, therefore give dry treats. Yesterday, his lowest number was 51--borderline reduction, though I did not reduce last night. However, this AM (3/12/13) I gave him a .25 U reduction; he may or may not have earned it; I'll never know that since I fed his numbers--we'll see how that works out. ; if it fails, he'll just go back up to .75! Well, here's how the entire day went:

AMPS 250
+2 279
+4 214
+6 51
+6.75 106
+7.5 114
+9 118
+10 157
PMPS 185 (ate 1 t. LC)
+2.5 125 (would not eat)
+4 98 (fed 1 T. 20%)
+5.5 96 (appears 20% did not phase him; gave 2 crunchy treats)
+7.5 120
AMPS 169 (.25 reduction--new dose is .5 U)

On another note--Please think about buying FDMB raffle tickets if you haven't already done so. This raffle is open to anyone, so if you know someone who may like to buy some, tell 'em! Here's a link to details: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614

:RAHCAT As of last night, we've already raised $100! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169

Morning Kat ~O)

Nice blue start, wonder what Gobbles has in mind for today...... ;-)

Good luck with .5u, Gobbles latest step down the dosing ladder water-slide :lol:
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169

Bruce & Simon said:
Morning Kat ~O)

Nice blue start, wonder what Gobbles has in mind for today...... ;-)

Good luck with .5u, Gobbles latest step down the dosing ladder water-slide :lol:
ha ha! We have a pool out back; maybe I should get his swim trunks out...
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 ? what is happening here???

I am a little baffled here. Eyes please; take a look below. Also, since last night, he has picked at his food; ate little. I assume, with today's +2 of 105, that Gobbles & I are in for an active cycle again. Is it possible, that he is just entirely "done" with insulin? Do cats ever just "draw the line", so to speak?

Monday, 3/11/13 --AMPS 250
+2 279
+4 214
+6 51
+6.75 106
+7.5 114
+9 118
+10 157
PMPS 185 (ate 1 t. LC)
+2.5 125 (would not eat)
+4 98 (fed 1 T. 20%)
+5.5 96 (appears 20% did not phase him; gave 2 crunchy treats)
+7.5 120
TUESDAY, 3/12/13--AMPS 169 (ate 1 T. LC), (.25 reduction--new dose is .5 U)
+2 105 (ate 1 T. LC)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 ? what is happening here???

For some cats, there's a point where everything snaps into place and the SS turns green. I would caution you to not be overly zealous about dose reductions that aren't indicated. Gobbles pancreas is coming back on line. If you reduce insulin too fast, you're not providing a healing pancreas the support it needs to keep healing.
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 ? what is happening here???

Sienne and Gabby said:
For some cats, there's a point where everything snaps into place and the SS turns green. I would caution you to not be overly zealous about dose reductions that aren't indicated. Gobbles pancreas is coming back on line. If you reduce insulin too fast, you're not providing a healing pancreas the support it needs to keep healing.
But what if say, for example today or tomorrow, he merits a reduction again? Maybe a skinny dose?
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 ? what is happening here???

I think you need to just deal with the numbers that Gobbles is giving you at the moment. (Otherwise, I'm sending Marje over with her patience pants!)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 ? what is happening here???

I'm home to monitor. I won't break out the HC unless necessary. I have a good question: If Gobby was very low and refused to eat/lick any of the HC gravy/sauce foods I have on hand, in a pinch would it be OK to give him a t. of Mighty Dog (gravy only), if all else fails? That's what my dog eats and some of the varieties she eats are gravy-laden. Just a thought....
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 what is happening her

Here we go again ~ 4 days in a row he has gone low, even with the decreases:

AMPS 169 (.25 reduction--new dose is .5 U)
+2 105 (ate 1 T. LC)
+4 43 (gave 1 T. gravy)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 what is happening her

On a mission (and a good one it seems :mrgreen: ). Congrats on the reducie :lol:

A note about Gobbles' SS.. it often hangs for me for a while with "Loading rows 102 through 789"
You're only on row 113, could delete 500 rows or so and it might load a lot faster ;-)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 what is happening her

Kat

I wouldn't give him dog food gravy. I'd rather you give him a bit of karo on his gums if he won't eat.

Since you reduced him this morning, I wouldn't reduce him again tonight. You are likely looking at depot from the .75u dose. In addition, if he's not eating as he should, his BG might drop. Maybe he got too much stuff last night that didn't agree with him? Is he acting ok, just not eating as much?

Sienne is right....I will have to send you my patience pants ;-)

You know, we are all happy to stay up with anyone who needs it and I understand exactly what you did last night and why. I've done the same....we have to rest or we can't take care of our babies. I'd only ask one favor in the future, tho. When you put numbers in the subject line and then put "uh oh", then we are going to be watching closely. So it would be really appreciated if you could just delete that and let us know you are ok and going to feed and get some rest. That way, it frees us up to spend more time helping others and not popping back in to check on you. Thank you so much! :-D

Gobbles is doing great...be happy :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 what is happening her

Marje and Gracie said:
Maybe he got too much stuff last night that didn't agree with him? Is he acting ok, just not eating as much? You know, we are all happy to stay up with anyone who needs it and I understand exactly what you did last night and why. I've done the same....we have to rest or we can't take care of our babies. I'd only ask one favor in the future, tho. When you put numbers in the subject line and then put "uh oh", then we are going to be watching closely. So it would be really appreciated if you could just delete that and let us know you are ok and going to feed and get some rest. That way, it frees us up to spend more time helping others and not popping back in to check on you.

I don't think his belly is upset from last night; he's been picking these last few days and in fact has gone from 13.2 pounds (.2 is not "ounces" -- it is what reads on my human scale) to 12.8 today--so thats almost a half pound loss in 9 days. It leads me to believe that his weight loss is concurrent with his dose decreases. If I had to guesstimate, I'd say that these past two days he may have consumed what can be compared to the size of a can of FF. He has a vet appointment tomorrow. I

'm sorry I didn't fix my post; no excuses--you're right; there were a few of you looking for me last night (it dawned on me this morning that perhaps there was worry that Gobbles was in the ER or that I just plain fell asleep for the entire evening).
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63

I figured you fell asleep at the keyboard :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63

Marje - Carl - Debbie: I am so sorry I didn't update Gobbles 3/11 post last night. No excuses. :oops:
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63

Recap of this morning:

AMPS 169 (.25 reduction--new dose is .5 U)
+2 105 (ate 1 T. LC)
+4 43 (gave 1 T. gravy)
+4.5 63 (gave 1 T. MC & 2 cat treats)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63

As of 3/12/13 @12:15 PM EST:

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat $130 Raised for FDMB!!! flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63

(((Kat))). I didn't want you to apologize. We understand exhaustion. I'm glad you did what you needed to and got some sleep.

I do think a vet visit is called for if he's lost that much weight. Decreasing his dose should not cause weight loss. I might think about having that blood panel run again.....

Good job with the numbers!
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63

Marje and Gracie said:
(((Kat))). I didn't want you to apologize. We understand exhaustion. I'm glad you did what you needed to and got some sleep.

I do think a vet visit is called for if he's lost that much weight. Decreasing his dose should not cause weight loss. I might think about having that blood panel run again.....

Good job with the numbers!
I know, but I thought I would anyways :-D I am definitely going to get the blood panel run AND I am printing/bringing his labs (I've got all the way back to 2009 entered on his SS). Thanks again; will recheck here in a bit..
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63 +5.5 93

Recap of this morning:

AMPS 169 (.25 reduction--new dose is .5 U)
+2 105 (ate 1 T. LC)
+4 43 (gave 1 T. gravy)
+4.5 63 (gave 1 T. MC & 2 cat treats)
+5.5 93 (ate 1/2 t. LC)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63 +5.5 93

When numbers are in better ranges, appetite does decrease. The concern/question I have is whether Gobbles is in a good weight range or if losing a half pound is something you're worried about? Is there anything else that you're seeing that suggests Gobble's isn't feeling great?
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63 +5.5 93

Okay, so where's the "Mr. Green" smiley icon? Have 43s become ho-hum?
:mrgreen:

Carl
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63 +5.5 93

Sienne and Gabby said:
When numbers are in better ranges, appetite does decrease. The concern/question I have is whether Gobbles is in a good weight range or if losing a half pound is something you're worried about? Is there anything else that you're seeing that suggests Gobble's isn't feeling great?
He eats, but is not eating no where close to what I feel he should be eating (I believe he should be eating around 200 calories a day? Please correct me if I am wrong--his perfect weight is 13.5 pounds). Back in the day when he weighed 14 pounds he was fat. So I think 13.5 is a good weight. When he was up to 13.2 pounds last week, he looked to be at a healthy weight. I am going to ask the vet what his opinion is regarding a healthy weight for Gobbles. These last few days he has been totally picking (and I've had a heck of a time trying to get him to eat when his BG is very low--even though his belly should be a little hungry). I am worried about the half pound. I mean, I am weighing him on a human scale, different times of the day; I'm sure cats, like humans, have fluctuating weight throughout the day due to weight of food & what's in the LB. He weighed 12.87 on the vet's scale on 2/26/13--much more accurate scale than mine--we'll see what he weighs at his appointment tomorrow. Based on his lack of eating these past few days, I am not shocked with the weight loss (though wouldn't the MC, HC, karo, treats have a lot more calories in them than LC???). No ketones as of yesterday. He's peeing and pooping. He's alert and sociable. He's preening. He is hanging out on the sunporch part of the day. Now at +6.5, I discovered bad diarrhea (looks about an hour old.
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63 +5.5 93

Carl & Bob said:
Okay, so where's the "Mr. Green" smiley icon? Have 43s become ho-hum?
:mrgreen:

Carl
Well the 43 (kinda) scared me because it was only +4. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Mr. Green has been added!
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 what is happening her

Marje and Gracie said:
Since you reduced him this morning, I wouldn't reduce him again tonight. You are likely looking at depot from the .75u dose. In addition, if he's not eating as he should, his BG might drop.
The thing is, if you look a few days/nights back, when I reduced him, (most of?) those blues were inflated numbers due to junk I fed him....some of said junk was not really warranted....it was more of "just in case". And if he's not eating again as he should (as of this writing, he is certainly not), his BG may fall again....

Update +6.5: bad diarrhea
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105 +4 43 +4.5 63 +5.5 93 diarr

Recap:

AMPS 169 (.25 reduction--new dose is .5 U)
+2 105 (ate 1 T. LC)
+4 43 (gave 1 T. gravy)
+4.5 63 (gave 1 T. MC & 2 cat treats)
+5.5 93 (ate 1/2 t. LC)
+6.5 169 (bad diarrhea, ate 1 t. LC)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 di

As of 3/12/13 @1:45 PM EST:

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat $135 Raised!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 di

I think the best way to track his weight is to get a Digital Scale for Cats. The link is to the one I have. I don't even totally trust the vet's scale because there are so many animals off and on it and they don't calibrate it that often. I always weigh my cats at the same time every day....early in the morning before they've eaten just like I do my own weight. Then you are comparing apples to apples.

The diarrhea really concerns me. If he continues with it today, I'd call the vet this afternoon.

What I've noticed about dosing and feeding is that when they are ready for a reduction, you can't keep them up with food. Granted,if I am working hard (feeding alot) to keep Gracie above 40, I give her a reduction whether she's earned it or not because I know within a cycle, she will earn it. But Gobbles is newly dx. So you shouldn't be working to keep his numbers above 50 to keep him from earning a reduction. Conversely, you don't want to give a lot of back to back reductions because of the depot.
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 di

I agree with Marje re. the diarrhea. How much gravy have you been feeding Gobbles? Pre-diabetes, did you feed beef varieties of food? (Beef and anything with gluten, like gravy, will give Gabby diarrhea. She also pukes from beef. It's not pretty!!)

I was also wondering if maybe what you're seeing with the loss of appetite is the beginning of a pancreatitis flare. If it keeps up, I'd want to get a Spec fPLI run. (It's the test that's specific for pancreatitis.)
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 +8

That's a very good thought, Sienne.

Kat....did you give him dog gravy?
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 di

Marje and Gracie said:
The diarrhea really concerns me. If he continues with it today, I'd call the vet this afternoon.

What I've noticed about dosing and feeding is that when they are ready for a reduction, you can't keep them up with food. So you shouldn't be working to keep his numbers above 50 to keep him from earning a reduction. Conversely, you don't want to give a lot of back to back reductions because of the depot.
I had already called the vet this morning and he has an appointment tomorrow. I'm not quite following about what you mean "you shouldn't be working to keep his numbers above 50 to keep him from earning a reduction" because it seems the opposite of "you don't want to give a lot of back to back reductions"; I have been feeding his numbers up, partially because he is just not eating enough, but yet he is still going low.
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 +8

Looking GOOD Gobbles! Sorry to hear that he's lost weight and has an upset tummy... sending healing vines.
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 +8

I hope Gobby is feeling better...sending prayers your way!
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles AMPS 169 +2 105..+4 43 +4.5 63..+6.5 168 +8

Amy&TrixieCat said:
I hope Gobby is feeling better...sending prayers your way!
Thanks Amy! He appears to be better. Ate 1 T. LC @AM+10, appears to have gotten into LC I put up @AM+11 (perhaps 1 t.) and ate 1 T. LC @PMPS. No diarrhea in LB (one clump pee) @PMPS. I didn't exactly decrease him; but instead of .5 he got a .5sk. I'll check him in a few hours.
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles PMPS 440

Jeez, Gobbles....bounce much?

He didn't even pause at the yellow or pink floors. :sad:

But then the past couple of bounces didn't take any time at all to clear...

Carl
 
Re: 3/12 Gobbles PMPS 440

Carl & Bob said:
Jeez, Gobbles....bounce much?

He didn't even pause at the yellow or pink floors. :sad:

But then the past couple of bounces didn't take any time at all to clear...

Carl
yeah, he went directly from the basement to the penthouse!!! I hope hear clears fast; in a safe manner :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top