3/12 Felix +11 204, +11.75 183 Dose Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104

if i were in your shoes, i would try to keep him over 100. that'll give you a little cushion should he begin to drop again.
the effects from syrup/karo will wear off faster than hc will. however, you have to do somewhat of a balancing act. you don't want him to get too full to the point where he won't eat any more nor do you want him to vomit because his tummy is too full. however, you want to get little bits of food and/or hc/gravy/syrup into him to keep the numbers up. see what i mean by a balancing act?

the key will be testing often enough to catch a drop before it becomes a big drop.

if he experiences a big drop and you're having trouble bringing the numbers up, i would bring him to an ER. they'll put him on a glucose drip. take the bottle of syrup with you so one of you can apply more syrup to his gums on the way there.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 1

Just out of curiosity, how many strips do you have on hand? (You mentioned having "10 more strips.")
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 1

144 at +3? I think you can safely wait an hour to test now.

it looks like Felix can drop pretty hard when his food spikes wear off, so I would definitely wait until you get a couple more rising tests before you go to bed. It also looks like he drops again late in the cycle, so plan to get a +11 in the morning so you can catch it if he drops again.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 1

Sorry that was supposed to be 100 strips that we just picked up plus the 48 we still have from the last container. We're good on strips.

I stay up to get his +4 and I'll likely get up to check a +6 as well. What am I looking for with his +4 and +6 numbers? What ball park do I want them in to feel comfortable going to bed.

We'll get the +11 to see where he is at. Like today though his +11 looks good but then his preshot drops. We are trying to figure out what to do in the morning. Should we start adjusting our schedule by 15 min? And to make sure we are clear that is 15 min per shot correct or is it 15 min per day? If it's 15 min per shot does this schedule work to get us back to 7:45.

Sunday am 9:00 (adjusted for Time change)
Sunday pm 8:45
Monday am 8:30
Monday pm 8:15
Tuesday am 8:00
Tuesday pm 7:45
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 1

I think your shot times look good....it's 15 mins twice a day or 30 mins once a day. The one thing we have found is you have to really keep track of what time you shot if you are doing 15 min increments because you need to be on top of your testing...especially with Felix. We found it easier to keep track of by just doing 30 mins once a day so Gracie was on the same schedule both shot times for that day. Up to you...whatever works. Also...you need to get a couple of rising tests after he has not had food for a bit. So, for instance, if his last meal was +3, I, personally, would want two rising tests after an hour...so if +4 was your hour, I'd want to see rising numbers at +5 and +6. But that's me...and I have a wobbly numbered cat. The first hour after they've eaten can still be a food-influenced number...in your case +4 could still be food influenced.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 1

at +4 I would look for him to be at or near the 144, or over 100 for sure. Then feed and catch a nap. +6 might be a bit lower - if it's under 100 I would feed and get another test to be sure he isn't dropping.

For morning, how about posting your +11 no matter what? Most likely you'll be able to stay with the 1.5 unit dose, but if Felix holds his recent pattern of dropping very low at +12, then you might be best off to skip a shot or to shoot a reduced dose one time just to help drain his shed a little. We can help you decide based on his +11 number.

He did go low tonight, but that number tonight was caused more by action from the previous 1.75 dose than the 1.5 units you shot tonight.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 1

+4 is 97 still good but that a declining number not a climbing number. Not sure he'll eat right now but wondering if I should offer gravy and syrup again. It seems like I should get him to eat some MC or HC if I can to get his long term numbers up. I'll wait for a reply before I procced.

Hubby
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 1

A couple of things for tomorrow...

What happened tonight was due to shooting a dropping number. Your PMPS was lower than your +11. It's not necessarily a problem IF you know what to do. You're still new at managing numbers and this kind of situation could have become challenging. Obviously, all is good tonight. So.....
  • Please get a +11 in the morning.
  • Don't shoot until we have a chance to see the +11 and your +12/AMPS number. And don't feed.
A lot will depend on what those numbers are. It may be that if they are low, you'll need to skip or shoot a reduced dose. We can't predict what you will need to do in the morning especially since Felix seems to like to throw curve balls.

The schedule you laid out looks good. The 15 min. shift should not have an effect on numbers. And yes, you can move your time by 15 min. twice a day.

If you go back to the post on handling low numbers as a reference, the idea is that you want to see that once you've brought low numbers up, they are either stable or rising. For example, once you got the +2 at 73, it would have been unwise to stop feeding and testing. Now that Felix is in a very safe zone, you don't have to test as frequently, but you still need to know that there won't be a significant drop over an hour. Remember, that as the HC wears off, there's a chance that numbers will slide back down. There's no need for Felix to revisit the 30s or 40s. The goal is for Felix to surf away in safe numbers overnight.
 
Re: +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 144 +4 97

More HC please and get another test. This is what we mean about numbers wobbling.

It's best to delete some of the numbers if you need more room in the Subject line than to delete Felix's name.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 144 +4 97 +5 80

+5 is 80 so he's still declining. I gave him more Gravy, HC, and Syrup. I guessing that by the time I got him to eat some of the prevous snack that it is not showing yet. I'll be testing him again for a +6 and likely +7.

hubby
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104 +3 144 +4 97 +5 80

Sounds like you have the drill and looks like he's going to keep you up. Wish I could say sleep is overrated BUT......having been in your shoes more times than I like to remember, it isn't the truth :lol: :lol: Good luck....I'm not sure who is up but just keep giving him HC and gravy if he keeps falling; if he gets down in to the mid 60s, you probably ought to add karo to it but remember it will wear off.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +3 144 +4 97 +5 80 +6 60

Looks like he's still dropping so I'll keep testing. He's eating HC, Gravy, and Syrup right now. Just a small amount so that if I need to he'll eat again later.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +3 144 +4 97 +5 80 +6 60 +7 151

Nice job getting his numbers up. It sure looks like Felix is on a fast track to lower doses!
Beautiful SS lately.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +3 144 +4 97 +5 80 +6 60 +7 151

+9 is 261 Got his numbers up there now. I gues the last syrup and gravy was a good one.

Good night

hubby
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 204- Dose Advice Needed

Hubby's sleeping, I'm pinch hitter this a.m.

I was instructed to get a +11, post, get an AMPS and post for dose help- whether to skip or reduce.

Hubby fed him a LC mm @ +9; Syrup & gravy @ +7 is wearing off....
 
I'm going to suggest you shoot 1.0u. I'm hoping this will get you ahead of Felix's shed. Please get a +1 and +2 today so we know where he's taking us.
 
Hi Jenner, Hubby, and Felix,
Just checking in. I followed your saga for quite a while last night, but didn't want to get in the way. You guys did a great job with Felix. I hope you all will get some much needed sleep today and that Felix will like his new dose. Your adventure with Felix last night made me reflect again on how lucky we are here on FDMB to have such dedicated and experienced people like Sienne, Libby, Jill, and Laurie to help us out.

Good luck with your schedule. Write down the times and check them off so you don't get confused!!

See you later,
Ella & Rusty

p.s. After you get your AMPS and give the shot, you should open a new condo for today (and link this present condo to it).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top