3/12 Felix +11 204, +11.75 183 Dose Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenner & Felix

Member Since 2011
Felixes +11 was 91 this morning. He also received a few peices of chicken treats to help cut his hunger so that he doesn't gorge himself when we feed him after his AM shot. :mrgreen: We are on track for a 8:15 preshot blood test, 1.75 unit shot, and breakfast. "Provided his number stay where they are now. :sad: This is alot less stressful than yesterday morning.

Thank you for everyone who offered assistance yesterday. It was greatly appreciated.


Hubby

PS this thing needs a spell check." :-|
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91 & Protein Treat;

It sounds like you are both getting more comfortable with lower numbers. That's great!! (Especially since Felix isn't giving you a choice!!)

BTW, if you use Firefox as your browser, there is spellcheck.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 1.75 unit & Breakfast

Good morning guys .. these are some nice looking numbers this morning .. I hope they continue throughout the day for you guys .. And I'm also glad this is getting less stressful each day .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98

Hi Jenner Felix & Hubby,
Lookin' good so far. Keep a close eye on Felix this morning. You're doing great!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71

Hi again, I see that Felix is down to 71 at +2. Be sure to keep testing him for the next few hours. If Felix gets to and goes under 50, post and ask for help in your subject line (edit the subject line in your first post of the day). Do you know Sienne's post on how to handle low numbers? Here is the link:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33862

Print this out and keep it for future reference.
Go down to the section on "If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post". There are specific steps to follow.

All of this is just precaution. Felix's numbers are not in dangerous territory, but you need to be ready to act if need be. Onset of the insulin will begin soon, so you want to keep close tabs. Do you still have plenty of test strips and HC food or Karo? If you need to go out for more supplies, now would be a good time to do it.

Ella
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45 +3.5 75

The Bogerts numbers have dropped on us to 45. We are giving him HC with gravey to help bring him up. Not paniced yet but we are ready to at any moment. :shock:

Hubby
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71

I would suggest that you use just the gravy from your HC food to boost his numbers. Generally speaking, solid food takes longer to absorb, although it helps hold the numbers up longer. You guys are doing great!
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45

Please retest in 20-30 minutes. Breathe.....you're doing fine. :smile: Use the gravy, and if he continues to drop, add a few drops of karo to the gravy. Keep updating us.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45

The other reason to give just the gravy is so that Felix doesn't get too full of food if you have to keep on feeding the low numbers. You can get the gravy out of the can more easily by using the lid to press down on the food so the gravy rises to the top; then put it into another container.
Test again in 20 minutes. Follow the guidelines in Sienne's post that I sent you and asked you to print out.

You're doing fine. Don't panic!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45 +3.5 75

OK his numbers are back up to 75 so we won't panic.

Thanks for the link. Jenner has read that link but we are printing it out diguring we'll want to refer to it with Felix playing with us like this.

With his numbers dropping below 50 again does this earn him a reduction to 1.5 tonight? He just reduced last night to 1.75.

Thanks for the quick response and help again.

Hubby
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +11 91, AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45 +3.5 75

Hi again, You're doing great. Keep testing every 1/2 hour and give gravy or a little food, as appropriate, if he drops again. He is likely to bobble about when the effect of the gravy wears off, and you want to prevent that. Also, you have not yet reached nadir (the point at which the insulin is having its most effect; that usually occurs somewhere around +6, but could be earlier or later). You want to make sure he is safely in rising numbers before you let down your guard.
I am not experienced enough in dosing to be able to advise you whether or not to take another reduction this evening. There are a few things to consider. You may, for example, be experiencing "shed action" from his former dose. When the former shed gets reduced in size, the drops in bg may even out (the size of the shed depends on the size of the dose). Also, it is not always good to move down the dose ladder too quickly. Please wait until +11 and then post for dosing help. Sienne, Laurie, Libby, Jill always give good dosing advice. In the meantime, keep testing and posting his numbers until you are in safe territory and have two rising numbers.

Keep up the good work!

Ella
 
Re: 3/12 Felix AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45 +3.5 75 +4 84

Bummer. I missed out on the action!! Look what happens when I decide to shower!

Here's what I'm thinking and I'm going to see if I can have a few other folks take a look at Felix's SS, as well. I think you should take the reduction tonight. I might sit on the fence if you didn't have to shoot a little earlier because of the Daylight Savings Time shot time adjustment.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45 +3.5 75 +4 84 +5~1

As you saw the other night, Jenner, he might still come back down. His SS is looking awesome and you all are doing a great job! Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45 +3.5 75 +4 84 +5~1

yes, but remember...healing range goes all the way up to 130!

nice job...and had to drop off this pic...

celi & binks

Frolicked---boggart.jpg
 
Re: 3/12 Felix AMPS 107 +1 98 +2 71 +3 45 +3.5 75 +4 84 +5~1

I agree with Sienne, I would decrease the dose. Felix is looking good!

Don't worry about overdoing the carbs, you did fine. You're still learning how Felix reacts to carbs...just make notes on your SS of what you used, how much, etc. so you can look back and see what you did and how it worked. Ella gave you great info and help!
 
Re: 3/12 Felix AMPS 107 +5 103; +11 97

Hi guys- Jenner here..I have +11 duty & hubby has the PS & dose duty- he's off in the kitchen again :razz: (and might get night shift if Felix drops again tonight)

Celi- what exactly is that a picture of???? I love a good laugh...but I don't get it. A lantus-land funny? :?:

Sienne or Laurie- this morning was our first 30 min time reduction...could Felix's numbers have dropped into the 40's cuz of that? Could we possibly expect to see that again tomorrow morning when we move his shot back 30 mins again? If so...wahoooooo :roll:
 
Re: 3/12 Felix AMPS 107 +5 103; +11 97

BTW- hubby finally added our avatar pic as you all can see. Felix is on the left, and brother Jasper is on the right. Cuddling and content- pre-FD. Looking forward to the time when that will happen again-Jasper seems to give space to his bro now adays.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix AMPS 107 +5 103; +11 97

Moving the time back may have contributed to the 45. Some kitties are more sensitive to schedule changes than others. You might want to consider moving back by 15 minutes per shot instead of 30 minutes once per day. If you decide to do that, I would start tomorrow morning, not tonight.

I love the avatar picture, thank hubby for doing that...what handsome kitties they both are! I hope Jasper and Felix will start cuddling more again soon. It's wonderful that you can share the FD duties with hubby, I'm fortunate that my hubby also helps out.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12 76

??? we're due to shoot a reduced dose tonight...1.5u- but now that his +12 is decreasing, and we're already 1 hour behind from our last stall, I'm thinking we should shoot 1.5 tonight and not reduce further...
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12 76

Ok we gave him his shot. It was 5 min late. So he's getting a MC meal for dinner and we will be monitoring him +1 +2 +3 for sure.

Hubby
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12 76

Hi Jenner,
I'm not quite sure I understand your question. But 76 might actually be too low for you to shoot tonight (or, if you do shoot, perhaps a token dose would be the thing to do, say .50 of a unit)??. Please wait for one of the dosing experts to respond before you do anything. If you skip the shot you can start tomorrow morning at any time you pick and therefore make up for the time change as well as for your earlier stall. Please put "dose advice needed" or "shoot?" in you subject line.

Ella

Whoops, I guess this is too late!!! You've already given the shot, so yes, monitor Felix carefully!! And the avatar is very nice.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10 76 +1 37

Felix! too low, young man!
(pic is a bogert or boggart -pixies/irish devils)

love the avatar!
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10 76 +1 37

You might want to try 2-3 drops of honey if the one drop doesn't do much. I generally will add syrup to about a scant teaspoon of LC food. The HC bumps up the #s and the LC keeps the numbers surfing so there's not a "splat" when the HC wears off.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10 76 +1 37

Hi again,
Take deep breaths, test every 20 minutes or so, and keep feeding HC gravy and karo. Felix will be fine. You have everything you need to stay on top of this. Basically you need to do what you did this morning. I'm very sorry that I didn't see your +12 earlier. I hope that Laurie or Sienne or Libby will be along shortly to give you advice about what to shoot tomorrow morning (and when to shoot). Please put "need dose advice" or "need experienced eyes" in your subject line so that people will know that you need help.

Post your next number and we'll see where we go from there.

Hang in!!

Ella

Oh, I see that both Libby and Sienne are here. Very good!!!
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10 76 +1 37 +1.25 62

Jenner: Nice recovery and good eye on that. Could you pls put your PMPS in your subject line....is it the 76 at +12.10? Great work tonight!!
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10 76 +1 37 +1.25 62

that's better.

Maybe I'm being overcautious, but I recommend that you go ahead and abort this cycle. There's a long way to go, and Felix has nothing left to prove in this cycle. How about giving him another couple of tsp of gravy with syrup mixed in, to try to get his numbers up quite a bit. It's normal for numbers to wobble up and down as the carbs wear off, and if you don't bump him up significantly you could be fighting this all night. There's no reason to take the risk of keeping him low.

So please gravy/syrup him and test in another 20 minutes.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10 76 +1 37 +1.25 62

Jenner:

Given how early it is in the cycle, I want to suggest you give a solid amount of HC -- a good several drops of honey, some gravy and a little bit of LC. (Felix is getting a buffet!) Basically, I'm suggesting you intervene in the cycle to bring the numbers up higher than the 62. I'd like to see them in the 80s or 90s. It's early enough that I don't want to see Felix slide back into the 30s and I'd like to hope you and DH can get some sleep tonight.

Please feed and test and update us in 20 min.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10/pmps 76; +1 37; +1.25 62; +1.75 69

no wisdom, just wanna say how cute felix is! i had a felix that could've been his twin - gone for 3 years now. your pic reminded me of him and made me smile.

hoping you get some sleep tonight. you're looking like pros!
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.25 62; +1.75 69

feeding mini meal 8% + tsp gravy + 1-2 drops karo

thanks guys for all the input-wild ride Felix has us on!

Could these drops mean he's not getting enough food througout the day? Maybe I need to add a 4th mm...

testing & posting in 15
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10 76 +1 37 +1.25 62

Libby and Lucy said:
that's better.

Maybe I'm being overcautious, but I recommend that you go ahead and abort this cycle. There's a long way to go, and Felix has nothing left to prove in this cycle. How about giving him another couple of tsp of gravy with syrup mixed in, to try to get his numbers up quite a bit. It's normal for numbers to wobble up and down as the carbs wear off, and if you don't bump him up significantly you could be fighting this all night. There's no reason to take the risk of keeping him low.

So please gravy/syrup him and test in another 20 minutes.
hello jenner! we haven't met yet, but wanted to stop by to agree with libby. felix has nothing to prove tonight. abort the cycle. gravy and karo him up and we'll see you in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10/pmps 76; +1 37; +1.25 62; +1.75 69

if the gravy plus 1-2 drops of karo only brought him up 7 points, I would add several more drops of karo. The insulin hasn't even kicked in yet. Let's get him up higher than that.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10/pmps 76; +1 37; +1.25 62; +1.75 69

Jenner --

I'd stick with gravy and Karo for a bit. There's a long way to go with the cycle tonight. You don't want Felix to get too full and refuse food should his numbers begin to drop again. Remember, Lantus doesn't kick in until around +2 or +3.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix +12.10/pmps 76; +1 37; +1.25 62; +1.75 69

hubby feeding another tsp 8% + tsp HC food + 6 drops karo- in testing now-will update subject line

Good to hear from everyone....sorry we need it, though... :-|
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73

I think Sienne's suggestion was to skip the 8% food right now and just give gravy and karo. We don't want Felix to get too full when there is this much left of the cycle. It would be bad if you need to get food into him at +6 and he is stuffed, or if he eats too much and vomits.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73

feeding the previously mentioned food mix now- post +2 report...will re-test in 30 min for +2.5
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73

Jenner & Felix said:
feeding the previously mentioned food mix now- post +2 report...will re-test in 30 min for +2.5
jenner, please feed a small amount of hc. we need to abort the cycle and we don't want to fill felix up with food that is not hc.
make sense?

ETA: gravy and syrup works, too.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73

JENNER

Please read what Jill, Libby and I are suggesting.... SKIP THE 8%. FEED HC AND/OR GRAVY + KARO.

Sorry to shout but it doesn't seem like you're reading our posts.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73

Giving gravy + karo only (now) he finished a mm that was Jaspers (with no karo in it). +2.5 may not show karo spike yet...
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73

jenner, i don't want to scare you, but we need to know...
how long would it take you to get felix to an ER if he gets ahead of us?
not saying he'll need one (he's looking good now), but it's better to know this than not know.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104

ahhh, +2.5 104. the karo finally showed up! hooray!
now, just have to keep the numbers up. the karo will wear off. numbers may bobble up and down for the next few hours. what we'll want to do is stay ahead of felix by catching him before a big drop. i'd get a +3.

do you have a good supply of test strips?
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73 +2.5 104

We just took his 2.5 and he's up to 104. The mix up with the food vs. Syrup and gravy was my fault. He received syrup and gravy after he had a small amout of food with syrup and gravy. I have a nother helping of HC, LC, Gravy, and Syrup waiting for him should he need it. How high do we want to see his numbers get tonight to take him out of the danger zone? I plan to stay up an monitor him tonight as Jenner has the past couple of nights.

You'll have to be a little forgiving on the lag time we have to deal with here. We don't have access to high speed internet here so we don't get the updates as fast as you may.

The ER would be about 20 min.

If we are in the same situation that we were tonight. What actions would you recommend that we take? I would like to be better prepared next time. I didn't feel we should wait to long for a reply not knowing who may be on. I tried to make my choice tonight based on the information you have given us so far.

Hubby

We just picked up 10 more strips tonight.
 
Re: 3/12 Felix pmps 76; +1 37; +1.75 69; +2 73

Jill & Alex said:
jenner, i don't want to scare you, but we need to know...
how long would it take you to get felix to an ER if he gets ahead of us?
not saying he'll need one (he's looking good now), but it's better to know this than not know.
bringing this down in case you didn't see it...


nevermind. we posted at the same time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top