3/12 Doogle PMPS 302+2 316+3.25 205+4.25 189+6 222+8 213

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
I havent posted in awhile because I didnt really need to. Doogle was doing really well and he is sort of. During the day for the most part his numbers look pretty good but at night (since Feb 21) his numbers have sucked. Now I know some are bounces but some arent. We had to reduce all the way down to 1.75u at one point because of dropping below 40. But we are back up to 2.25u (6 cycles now) and we will be going up to 2.5u tonight. But Doogle has been on Lantus now for almost 2 years (and had a DKA incident). He is eating normally and going to the bathroom and acting like normal but his numbers seem to be worse at night. Should I switch him to Levimer? I just bought these pens (from Canada) and it looks clear (hard to tell with that plastic around the glass) and we are doing it like you should (no air, in the fridge, second shelf, in a drawer). Am I just overreacting and be patient and just go up and see what happens or should I think about swtiching (and figuring out how to get the money for it....LOL). I really dont want another DKA incident (dont want to go through that again and cant afford it with no job still).

confused_cat confused_cat
 
Re: 3/12 Doogle AMPS 304+2 438 Should I switch to Levimer?

Hi Donna, good to hear from you. Pass on some scritches to Doogle from me. I think you are right that Doogle is doing some bouncing with those drops into the 30's. I made the switch to Levemir last year, because I was getting really tired of Neko's tendency to go low at night and bounce during the day. Sort of the opposite of what you have been seeing lately, but I had seen that trend from February to September. I had tried everything else I could think of to switch her up. So I thought I'd try Lev when I ran out of Lantus. Guess what - she still prefers bouncing during the day and going low at night. :roll:

However, I am seeing a bit more green during the day and she is a lot flatter so I think overall the switch was better for Neko. Not all cats go flatter on Lev. Examples of kitties SS you can look at are Gracie, Rusty, JD, Tess and Libby's KK.

Two things to consider in the switch to Lev are the change in onset/nadir and becoming a newbie again. I've seen variable onset/nadir's on Lev cats but generally they are later. I've seen it stated that the average onset is +4 (Neko's is around +5.5) and nadir around +8 (Neko's is from +8 to +15). That does mean more middle of the night testing for me. The other thing is that I've had to learn Neko's patterns all over again. I did spend the first month feeling like a newbie and had to do more testing until I got a feel for what cycles might look like.
 
Re: 3/12 Doogle AMPS 304+2 438+3 247+6 142+8 140

Well right now at least I am able to keep a close eye on him and I have a DH that has insomnia and he tests him regularly. Its just so weird. He had usually been the opposite of others that he tends to go low during the day and not at night. I am going to finish up this pen and see where we are. Also going to go up tonight. But retraining the DH will be a pain that is for sure (I have him pretty well trained now for the most part). I know the change in nadir will just confuse him and there will be some gnashing and gnarling of teeth.....LOL.


Thanks Wendy for your input!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/12 Doogle AMPS 304+2 438+3 247+6 142+8 140

hi donna! i don't have experience with Lev and Wendy's given you great advice on it. it does help flatten some cats, but not others.

One thing i'm thinking you could try - you could increase the dose to 2.5u combined with giving higher carbs starting at about +2/3 in the am cycle to prop up the nadirs while you try to bring down the highs of the pm cycle. Think of one hand holding up the low numbers while you give enough insulin to bring down the highs. You want to reduce the range to try to flatten out his cycles.

If you chose to do that, i'd do it every am cycle for at least a week to see if it's helpful. keeping good notes will let you reflect back in a few days and see what is helping. It's not the kind of thing that a person who isn't home to test can do, but you're obviously a "thorough tester" ;-) so you could probably give it a try.

anyway, it's the kind of thing that you could tinker with to see what works for Doogle. He's got such great day cycles, it'd be awesome if the pm cycle could get there too.
 
Re: 3/12 Doogle PMPS 302

Hey Jill....we did go ahead and go up to 2.5u. I have given a bit higher carbs (usually around 7%) if he drops around +2/+3. Now if he drops to quick, I mix in a MC with a LC and it helps. Lets see how this dose does and hope for better PM cycles. I will update tomorrow morning. :-D

Thanks to everyone that has helped!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As always, everyone is so great and I love you all!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 3/12 Doogle PMPS 302

I am sooooooooo sorry Julie!!!!!!!!!!! I guess I had that name on my mind after coming from FB to here....LOL.
 
Re: 3/12 Doogle PMPS 302

Hey Donna!

Glad to see you and Doogle.

I will echo Wendy's comments that lev won't keep them from bouncing and it does make some cats flatter. Even though Gracie does bounce, she has a lot more really nice, flat cycles than she ever had on Lantus. And even though she nadirs late and Mike and I usually have to get up once...and sometimes twice...a night to test her, it's not like Lantus where if she was green at night, we were testing all night. That rarely happens with lev.

But all cats will flip flop their cycles around. However, that isn't what I'm seeing on Doogles SS. He went from having nice blue/green cycles at night on 2.5u to not....without really having anything to bounce from that you can see. EXCEPT on cycles like 2/22, I wonder if he dropped lower early as he did on 2/26, 2/27, and 2/28. And those low numbers could have still been due to the depot from 2.5u.

I think it was a good idea for you to increase the dose and Julie has a good suggestion about feeding higher low carb early to flatten out the numbers.

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top