Bobbi Kraham
Member Since 2022
Feeling worried. Three days ago I removed kibble from Dimi's diet and his BG came down so far that I couldn't give him his PM shot (PMPS 56). He was receiving 3 units of Lantus at the time. Since then I've decreased his dose to 1.5 units, and without the kibble, his BG continues to improve. The huge rises and dips in BG seem to have gone away, but oddly, now his nadir is unpredictable. Previously, it was consistently at +6. Now it is closer to shot time, or a couple hours post shot. Today his AMPS was 153. He ate well so I gave him his shot. Now I'm worried that I shouldn't have. At +4.5 it is 41. Just got him to eat some. He's not showing obvious signs of hypo, just resting peacefully. I'm keeping a close eye and hoping it continues to rise. Is there anything else I should do right now? A few questions...1) In the future, should I hold off on giving a shot if his BG is within a normal range? Is there a number below which I should not give him his shot? 2) What's going on with his nadir? 3) Should I decrease his dose further? Thanks for your thoughts.
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...e-2-hi-3-492-7-313-8-356.260484/#post-2923862
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...e-2-hi-3-492-7-313-8-356.260484/#post-2923862
