3/12 CRYSTAL PMPS 290 - how long should I hold this dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Hi all in LL

Not much change from yesterday to report for Crystal, high flat yellow zone again. Currently on cycle no. 7, question, how long should I hold this dose for? Lu-Ann suggested last night a 2u increase after a few more cycles. I was intending to hold for a minimum of 8 cycles but will defer to experienced eyes as to when a dose increase is due. 45u seemed just a little too much, (she is currently at 42u) but at these high does, I don't suppose 1 or 2u either way is going to make much difference. what do you think? would be grateful for any advice.

Suki & Crystal
 
Good evening Suki. Increasing by 2 units after the 8th cycle makes sense to me. Part of the reason she went so low on 45 units could have been because she was breaking a bounce. She had that lovely stretch of blues on the 5th that probably caused a bounce. When they are bounce breaking, there can be extra downward momentum. So going up not quite to 45 units could work.

Of course, just because a dose looks good (or a bit too much) one time, doesn't mean it'll stay that way. The acro tumor can ebb and flow, changing insulin needs over time. And if Crystal has IAA, that can also play into changing insulin needs. That's just my long winded way of saying, don't get attached to any dose that's looking good. It's a contact act of fine tuning. On the up side, I've seen with some acrocats (including Neko) able to hang onto a dose getting good nadirs for quite a while.

The timing of 8 cycles also works. She had a stretch of blues on the 10th, and she could be bouncing from that. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to resolve and by the 8th cycle she should be over that and show you if she's going to come down anymore.
 
Hi Wendy, thank you for explaining, I still don't know how to exactly interpret her SS but once you explain it, I can see what you mean. I just don't have the experience yet to arrive at the right conclusion. I do however read a lot of condos for comments and then look at the relevant SS in the hope that I will eventually understand!

Crystal's 9th cycle would be her PM cycle tomorrow evening so, if there is no significant change, I'll increase then by 2u to 44 and she how she does on that. We have a fairly quiet few days planned so I will be able to keep a close watch on her. Just got a bedtime figure of 232 at +5 so continuing the yellow trend - but blue would be better.
 
Wendy and Suzanne are amazing. Their experience and ability to "read" spreadsheets got me and Polly through the past year.

Oh, and as for the flat yellow. My acro cat, Polly, has the appellation Flat Polly Yellow Polly for all the time she spent cruising that range. It seems to be where she settles when a dose needs tweaking.

Blue wishes.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hi Suzanne and Marilyn, thanks for looking in on our progress. I suppose I shouldn't mind too much about the yellows, after all, Crystal spent so long stuck in the stinky pinkies that I thought she would never leave them behind. Definitely off to bed now and she's at 185, blue, nice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top