3/12 Chyna PMPS 177 +2 204 +5 136 Vet/Labs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hello, LL :-D ! Another surprising AMPS! We did have subqs last night, and the bean isn't sure if it was 50 or 100ml, I was so tierd I forgot to mark it on the bag ohmygod_smile ...I'm wondering if it was 100! I was sure it was only 50 in my brain...mostly. Anyhow, I did a BCS shot of 2u this morning since she is so weird lately and we are going to the vet so I don't want to worry about her dropping while we are driving etc. I really thought the reduced shot last night would have kept her mid blue even with subqs.

Thanks for visiting last night, Wendy and Rebekah! You're right Wendy, the bean was thinking of using some RR for herself :lol: . Yesterday: Chyna 3/11

Chyna is shedding up a storm which must mean spring? She's indoor only but seems to shed with the seasons :o . Another brushing is planned today. I have the RR and the nanner all ready to go, and am thinking of bringing the thundershirt along but after her growling and complaining in it last night I think it does more irritation to her than anything. She does hate to be squished so I wasn't sure if it would be the right product. If we had more time to adjust maybe? She's happy and purring this morning, and CPC on breffis and mostly on second breffis :razz: ...I think happy kitty may be leaving soon because:

We're leaving for the vet in less than an hour, so I'd better get ready! Wish us luck :shock:
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96

Hi guys .. what a nice start chyna! I sure hope the car ride and the vet visit go well for you .. and I hope when you get back her numbers don't get all crazy! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96

Sending tons of good vetty vines for you and Chyna! She's got a gorgeous surf going so far today!! I'll be watching for updates....
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96

Just quickly stopping by to send you tons of good vetty visit vines.
And extra strong calming vines for Chyna.
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96

Hi Rachel,

Sending more good vetty vines! Hope the RR helps keep Chyna calmer, along with her nanner :-D
Chyna's SS is a beautiful thing~
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96

Could Ms. P be waking up? Great numbers. :mrgreen: I hope all goes well at the vetty. Calming vines for Chyna and you, Rachel.
Liz
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96

Sending calming vetty vines for Chyna today. i hope the RR helps. I'm catching up and noticed the "over did it on the drop of syrup' note. We use honey sticks. Just clip the corner and it is really easy to get just a drop out and no mess! the honey doesn't go bad if left open or you can use a paperclip to seal the end. One stick lasts a long time.
honey_sticks.jpg
.
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96

Hi guys, thanks for all the visits! :-D We are back from the vet, with an angry Chyna who hasn't quite forgiven me and told me so when she got out of the carrier :roll: :shock: .

Before we left, I put her towel that she'd been sleeping on into the carrier with a few drops of RR on it and the walls of the carrier since I didn't have a spray bottle to mix it with water. I rubbed some drops of RR in her ears and a drop on her forehead. She was of course quiet on the trip there till we got in the room (of course, the vet was running late). She was good until the vet tried to touch her, then she growled and meowled so all we got was a discussion of her and my questions and an eye exam that was done from not touching, with the lights on and then off. She said her eyes look clear and to just keep them clean with the warm water/washcloth is fine but without sedation there was no way to see her teeth :o . On a different day, I may try take pictures at home. She did want to sedate for bloodwork but I said I couldn't afford it and was hoping for trying without, so the techs tried and actually had a co-operative (if really noisy) Chyna. They put a towel over her head to do it but both girls were pleasantly surprised and I am glad, maybe the RR and maybe the nanner sitting there helped! I just wish she could have been examined closer...still had the u no touch me look. Picture from the vet office attached :? .

http://i1363.photobucket.com/albums/r705/raeifo/IMG_01501_zps47860cdc.jpg

They did only charge me for a recheck, so $20 for a consult and eye exam is awesome. I guess the RR worked somewhat...maybe if I had the pet one she could injest it would have been better? I may just buy Felliway next time too. I think I should just return the thunder shirt :? I asked about Miralax and was told we could try Laculose instead as it doesn't use up her water inside? Is that good? They have it waiting if I want to pick it up. She said we could try anti-nausea if we see more throwing up but for now the SEB seems to be helping with the lick licking and she's still eating most of her fuds. And she didn't recommend the bupe for pain in her arthritis but said that cartrophen is similar to Adequan so she wasn't sure if that would make a difference, but instead of pepcid AC we could use zantac and it has some properties in it that helps mobility or something. Maybe I misunderstood that part. They're good about you calling later to ask. She did want Epakitin instead of ALOH to be used, but I told her Chyna wouldn't eat her food with it.

And they just called with the bloodwork results, that was crazy fast but they were slow today for bloodwork so ran it right away :-D . The vet said she was pleased and that even glucose was normal range, and the kidney and blood levels only had slight changes and that the only thing she would recommend (other than Epakitin) is doing 50ml subqs every day instead of every second day which I'd asked about doing. I'll go pick up the results later today, along with laculose. Phew! Sorry for the huge condo! I'll post later with the results.

(PS thanks Ann, I will look at finding those honey sticks! and Liz, oh, I hope so, Ms P can awaken all she wants! :razz: )
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 Home from vet!

PHEW....I am sure you are both glad that is over, and awesome about the BW results. That is FAST!!! Poor little girl, I am sure she'll forgive you in no time. I'm glad you were able to avoid sedation - good girl, Chyna!

I hope you two can enjoy a relaxing afternoon now!
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 Home from vet!

What a good report! Great news on her BW :-D Hope you are forgiven soon :lol:
Glad they didn't have to sedate Chyna!
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 Home from vet!

Sounds like a good visit, even though Chyna didn't want to be there AT ALL (the picture says it all!). I'm glad that the bloodwork turned out to be fine. Now you and Chyna can have a nice evening.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 Home from vet!

I'm glad Chyna is back home and forgiven you (maybe?). It sounds like a productive vet visit.
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 Home from vet!

Good to hear that Chyna's home and that you both lived through it Rachel!

Poor girl sure does look miserable in the picture, but I'm sure you were thrilled to have them be able to get the blood without sedation! Sounds like a little progress to me!

Sounds like she's doing well, and now you just have to be in the doghouse until you're forgiven....lol

Come on Chyna...your mamabean loves you and really did do this for your own good. It takes a big cat to forgive when you've been "wronged" like that :lol:
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 Home from vet!

So glad to hear that vetty visit is over and done with and that the b/w results look pretty good! Good news on the eyes too.

I hope she has forgiven you by now. Chyna does look pretty sad in that picture, although I just want to wrap her up in my arms and hug her. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 +6 155 Lab results

Thanks again guys, I had to run out to shop for some groceries and stuff, and I picked up the lab results and laculose in case we use it. They're entered now into her spreadsheet on the lab tab. I wouldn't mind feedback...I am happy with most of the results considering but was hoping the ALOH had helped the phos. I'm trying really hard to find fuds that she isn't allergic to that are lower phos, even just to supplement, the raw is awesome but I haven't had the chance to add that back...I'm wondering about using more binder or a second one? She's 13lbs and 10oz or so. Her crea is still just barely under 300 so I'm also wondering if 50ml subqs every day like the vet mentioned may be done but she seems to feel better the days after we've had them...

Thanks for all the visits: Devon, Amy, Mariko, Jane, Liz, Ann, Ella, Sienne, Chris, and Wendy :-D . I wish that I would have remembered to ask for her heart to be listened to (if they could hear it over the growling :lol: ) and to mention her losing her hearing but there isn't much they can do about that. I think I'm forgiven now, I can pet her with out her meowing at me to tell me about how unhappy she is with me. And give her kisses. Wendy, I guarantee that even though she looks like she needs a hug, she didn't want one :lol: . But thanks for wanting to cuddle my sweetie :cool: . I wanted to give her one too but could only pet the forehead without growling involved and even then I got a few grunts. I should have video-ed it but I just barely remembered pics, bean gets stressed at the vet too! I'm off to put the rest of my purchases away, then hopefully visit some condos :razz:
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna AMPS 103 +2 96 +6 155 Lab results

Poor Chyna. She doesn't look happy in that picture. I hope she's forgiven you by now. That's great on the b/w results.
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna PMPS 177 Vet & Lab results

Hi Rachel,
Glad to hear that the vet visit is over, and the lab results were stable. :-D
Great news!!!

Poor Chyna,
It's easier to calm or steady a wiggly or scared anxious cat, but much harder with an ANGRY cat, I think.
It always makes me (secretly) a little happy whenever Lucy hisses and spits at the vet office, because it means that she's feeling fine.
When she was feeling really sick and had no energy, she didn't fight as much, and that made me very sad.
I think the vet should try to find a way to examine her even when Chyna's angry, well maybe not the teeth, but the other physical exams.
Lucy isn't so bad, but even then, it sometimes takes 3 of us (me and two nurse/techs) to hold Lucy so they can do stuff to her, while keeping everyone including Lucy safe.
Sometime one more person to distract her (head tap or something like that).
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna PMPS 177 +2 204 Vet/Labs?

Hooray for a successful vetty visit. I'm glad that the RR helped some. It wasn't too bad was it Chyna? Labs sound like they were good too. Have a great evening all!
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna PMPS 177 +2 204 Vet/Labs?

woo-hoo!!!!!!! Sounds like a very productive vetty visit and you already have results! But I gotta say, that picture is purrfect! I have seen that look a time or two on Shasta. I wish we could explain to them that if they'll just let the vet touch them and get it over with without all the dramatics...life would be so much easier! :roll: :lol: Before I got hooked up with FDMB, my old vet had Shasta on Lactulose. She is no longer on the Lactulose, but Miralax instead. Here's a thread from 2010 that addresses the use of Lactulose...maybe it will help your decision. Good luck and congrats on a successful vetty visit (no one died...that's success in Shasta's book!)
 
Re: 3/12 Chyna PMPS 177 +2 204 Vet/Labs?

Hi Carla, Deborah, Mariko, and Michelle! I can't believe it's almost bedtime already...thanks for visiting and your kind comments :-D . I went to take the towel out of the carrier and the poor girl had peed it :sad: . She does that every vet visit now it seems. So scared that she pees...ugh it makes me feel terrible. :YMSIGH: .

Mariko, I totally know what you're saying with the fighting vs sick. I do wish this new vet was a bit more aggressive that way...the locum one, for all that I didn't like about her, didn't care if the cat was upset at all. So one extreme to the other :roll: . I did offer to pick her up but she was worried about winding her up before the blood test. I wish I could examine her myself!

Deborah, thanks for the link, I'll look into it. I did buy the laculose but it was only seven bucks. I told the vet I had trouble with liquid so I'm not sure if I'll even try it especially with the mention of sugar. I just wasn't sure on the kidney cat factor with the miralax/restoralax. I can always ask again, it's not a huge problem for pooping, yet.
 
Gosh, I missed all the drama today! Sorry Chyna got so upset, but I'm glad they were able to get the blood sample and wow! Fast results! :-D Good news on the eyes, too.

Most of my cats have peed in the carrier at one time or another. I don't think it's all due to stress - after all, we can't tell them to go potty before we put them in the carrier, so who's to say they didn't just have to go and couldn't hold it? At least, that's what I tell myself so I don't feel like a big meanie! :lol:

Now that's over with and you and Chyna can get back to normal - whatever that is! Doesn't look like there's a PJ party in your future, so maybe you can both get a good night's sleep!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top