3/12 Bonk PMPS 493

Status
Not open for further replies.

CanisLupus

Member Since 2014
Hi all, here is yesterdays condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115248

His reading was off the scale again this morning. I just don't get it. Why are his numbers now so high, what could he be getting into. He was doing so well a couple days ago, but not eating enough. Now he has a great appetite, but his numbers are though the roof, and he is back to being lathargic.

I did one change, I made sure Faolan's dry food was off the floor before I went to bed, and for the first time in a long while, Bonk started waking people up early for breakfast. I'm not sure if that is such a good thing either though, as it probably means his high numbers are making him more hungry than he should be. I think he might have gotten into it again while my back was turned though, which isn't helping. I need to adjust my own behavior with him too.

I guess I should be careful what I wish for, Bonk's appetite is now too good!

To respond to a couple things from yesterday:

Chris, I would love to be able to take him with me, but I really don't think it would work. He isn't exactly an outgoing cat. He is pretty independent, doesn't crave attention like some cats, and doesn't like strangers. I think he would be terrified during the whole trip. But there is a local pet sitter, who has been around for several years. he gets good reviews, people have commented that cats that are normally shy of strangers come up to him, and he had over 20 years of experience as a vet tech. Once I get Bonk stabilized, I might talk to him. It's about my only option at this point I think.

Kim, leash training would be interesting. Bonk is pretty set in his ways though. That would be a funny sight watching someone waking 9 cats on leashes. :-D

Thanks Tricia, I'm learning fast that the transition to canned won't be easy. I'm actually thinking of asking the local cat society if they might have a need for an open bag of prescription cat food. That way I can get the transition done faster, and not feel bad about throwing away an expensive bag of otherwise perfectly good food.
 
Re: 3/12 Bonk AMPS "Hi" again!

Hi guys .. I'm not sure if I've been to bonk's condo or not, so welcome from us! I don't have any advice on why bonk's numbers are so high, but I'm sure it won't be long and someone will be around to help figure things out for you .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/12 Bonk AMPS "Hi" again!

Brian..on the dry "prescription" food...Most of that stuff is guaranteed, and if you return it, you should be able to get your money back. Just say the cat won't eat it.
That will fix the problem of Bonk possibly getting into it!

As long as there's a possibility of Bonk getting into the dry food, it makes it very hard to say if the reason for his high numbers is because he needs more insulin, or because of the food.

If Faolan is a hard core dry addict, there are lots of things you can try to get him off the dry. Here are some Tips on transitioning. Hopefully Faolan will find his "inner carnivore" and realize that canned food IS edible, and you're not trying to poison him....LOL

How are you feeding Bonk? Only at shot times or broken up over the day? If you're only feeding at shot times, you should try feeding more often, but smaller meals. Feeding smaller meals is actually better for his pancreas anyway since it doesn't have to work so hard to deal with a huge meal twice a day.

Hang in there! We know it's frustrating to see those high numbers but we want to make sure we don't raise his dose too fast, too soon...especially not knowing if he's getting into the dry or not.

That being said, I think it'd probably be fine for you to go ahead and increase Bonk to 2.25 tonight. Just make sure you can test so IF it's the dry food and that's removed from the picture he doesn't come down too far.

Hopefully you'll hear some more opinions as the day goes on too.
 
Re: 3/12 Bonk AMPS "Hi" again!

Hi Brian,
I agree with Chris. Just take the bag of dry food back and say that the cat won't eat it. All cat food cans and bags say on them to return them if you are not satisfied.

Good luck with the dose increase. And don't forget that you haven't been at this very long and that you have introduced a lot of new things into Bonk's life. It takes a while for everything to settle down. People here are fond of saying that feline diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint.

Hang in there,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/12 Bonk AMPS "Hi" again!

I think getting the dry food out of the house is a good idea too. If they are used to getting some canned food, it shouldn't be hard to transition them both over. it's early day in Bonk's treatment (Love the name btw. ;-) ) I know it's hard to believe now, but you will start to see how Bonk reacts and anticipate the cycles.
 
Re: 3/12 Bonk AMPS "Hi" again!

It is frustrating because we want to see results now and we expect the changes to stay that way from that point on. Furball would go up and down and up and down on me for the longest time and then one day she started consistently having good numbers. Every now and then she still bounces up and I don't really know why. Hang in there. You're doing your best for Bonk. I agree that getting rid of the dry food would be great if you can manage it.
 
Re: 3/12 Bonk AMPS "Hi" again!

Do you have 9 cats - is that what you mean about walking 9 cats?

Linda had 13 cats and fed Scooter canned food, but the rest got dry. She was pretty sure that Scooter wasn't eating any of the dry. Here's Scooter's ss. Her comment section says 2/18 "first day the whole house is off of kibble." look at Scooter's numbers from 2/18 on. His last shot was the morning of 2/19. He'd been getting 5.5u.

i'd donate it to the shelter and take a tax deduction. It's a powerful addiction and if it's in the house the kitties will find a way to it.

good luck on the transition!

btw, we traveled some with punkin, but didn't get any camping during that time. he wouldn't have liked it either. we did have a beach house we could rent and there are hotels that will allow cats. he did that a few times with us. I also have a son who had just graduated from college and lived with us that summer who took care of punkin for a week while we went camping. on evenings that we needed to be out of town we had a vet tech from our vet's office who would come test, feed and shoot punkin for $15-20 each time. Hopefully you can figure out something that works for you.
 
Re: 3/12 Bonk AMPS "Hi" again!

Julie, Brian just has the 2 I think

In yesterday's condo, he was talking about not being able to go camping anymore and we were all encouraging him to try to find options.

Kim & Twice said
We actually had a year round and the neighbors would bring their 2 cats and a rabbit. All three were leash trained and I would think 'who in their right mind takes cats and rabbits camping?' Now I think 'how the heck am I gonna get 9 cats leash trained by summer?' :lol:

That's where the idea of taking 9 cats on leash walks came from :lol:
 
Hello again all. Thanks for the great replies! Bonk is doing well tonight. Numbers are slightly lower, but not by much. Still eating great. A couple days ago, I was worried he wasn't eating enough. Now I'm worried he is eating too much. I just can't win! :lol:

I didn't get any mid-day tests as I planned, it's been an insanely busy day. I'm still adjusting to this new routine. I did up his dosage tonight though. I'll take a test before I go to bed, and try and get one during the night if I can get myself out of bed. The dry to wet food transition is going well.

Thanks for the welcome Peter!

Chris, Bonk is a nibbler, he likes to eat a little, then come back later and eat more. So I have been giving him his food in lots of small servings throughout the day. That works well for him, so fine for me too.

Thanks for the comments Ella, Ann, and Carla! We are working on getting the dry food out.

Julie, Chris got it right, just two cats, Bonk and Faolan. I couldn't picture having 9 cats in this small a space. And caring for two is about all my schedule allows for. Thanks for the comments, I'm sure I'll find something that will work, though I won't be able to be as spontaneous as I once was.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top