3/12 amps back in the black!

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
Just wondering if I am not doing something right? Otto eats mini meals throughout the day. Last one at 2 when I test - then feed at 6:30, mini meal before bed. I was thinking of getting a free feeder today and wondering if that could make a dif in his amps???? He doesn't appear to respond that well to insulin but maybe Im being impatient? I noticed today it is advised to keep the insulin in fridge and not the door (where it is). It was also not in the fridge originally as vet told me it didn't have to be. I think I can refill and start over. Am I being silly?
still no ketones!!
falls dead asleep after am meal
not much activity as he only has 3 legs and is aging a little.
 
Unfortunately if left out of the fridge it very well may have lost its potency. You might want to see about getting one pen to see if it makes a difference.
 
bought new lantus today, new syringes with half mark, auto feeder and my felines pride raw food came in today. There will be no problem transitioning to the raw food - scarfed it down already as treat. Not sure how to keep it safely. Im assuming just in the freezer till day before and he will easily eat the container within 2 days I think.
 
what I did was defrost it enough so I could scoop a couple of days worth into a tupperware dish and then refroze the rest

Great that he loves it but it's still important for you to transition slowly so you don't end up with stomach upset or diarrhea
 
Cats can go up as high as 7U twice a day before they are considered "high dose". Some have to go even higher if there are other diseases causing the elevated blood sugars. Keep increasing your dose per the protocol.

Also, if you continue to increase with no improvement, then look for infection (teeth, UTI) and maybe your vet can run some bloodwork for infection, pancreatitis, and other things that may contribute and cause a need for a high dose.

Per manufacturer instructions for humans, lantus does not -have- to be refrigerated if used within 28 days.

"Open (In-Use) Vial:

Vials must be discarded 28 days after being opened. If refrigeration is not possible, the open vial can be kept unrefrigerated for up to 28 days away from direct heat and light, as long as the temperature is not greater than 86°F (30°C)."
 
Last edited:
Otto isn't at a high dose yet. Just keep increasing per the protocol and you will get there. Your spreadsheet says possible fur shot the morning of the 10th. That restarts the counter on Counting Cycles. That would make tonight cycle 5. If you don't see blue by end of day tomorrow, you can increase to 2.5 units. From the protocol:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Since he's eating like a horse, I wouldn't worry about pancreatitis at the moment. Other things that can make it harder to regulate are hyperthyroid and infection. Has Otto had a dental lately? And was his T4 tested at his last bloodwork? He could be fine with regard to those and just not have hit the right dose yet.

As far as mini meals, it's best to feed the majority of his food before nadir/mid cycle. Once the insulin starts wearing off in the last half of the cycle, feeding carbs can slam on the brakes for the insulin and mean higher preshots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top