3/12 "4" AMPS 127.8 +2 205 +5 283 +7 286 PMPS 335

Status
Not open for further replies.

meand4

Member Since 2011
My vet told me not to shoot if he is under 180 and his 127.8 and now I dont know what to do? Please help.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

hi there, just trying to get caught up from your previous condo, here is the link:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38699



are you home to monitor this cycle?

one option for you is to stall if you can afford to do that with your shot schedule...stall, dont feed yet, and retest in about 30 minutes.
if the next number is on the rise, it would be ok to shoot and if you are home to catch a few spotchecks to build up your data, even better.

by the way, I noticed Sienne asked about 4's diet - are you feeding dry food or canned?
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

I really think you need to reduce the dose so you can shoot consistently at AM and PM shot times. Laurie and I suggested lowering the dose to 0.75u. If you want to drop the dose back to 0.5u, that's fine too.

Before you shoot, though, do you have lots of extra strips and high carb food at home?
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

I feed him PC Finicky Cat Turkey - CANNED. I have honey in case of hypo. BUt only 6 strips and I cant get out to get more until later today. I work from home and have a deadline today.

I am very reluctant to shoot him when he is so low. I am very nervous to have him go Hypo when im not looking. :(

ETA: I just fed him before reading your reply.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

With only 4 strips I would be very hesitant to advise you to shoot. FWIW, I am never without at least 50 strips on hand.

The eventual goal with Lantus is to shoot low. Initially, we suggest not shooting if numbers are below 150. As you build data, you will be able to understand how 4 reacts to Lantus and can begin to shoot lower. It you take a look at the numbers in the subject lines on the board, you'll see people are shooting even lower than your AMPS -- but, they have the data to do so.

The issue now is that you are skipping shots on a regular basis. You get a good number, skip, and then the next shot time numbers are high so you shoot, numbers come down and the process starts all over again. It's important to find a dose that will allow you to shoot twice a day and in a range where you are comfortable shooting. It's important for two reasons. First, for your cat, 4's numbers are bouncing up and down. This has got to feel awful. From the standpoint of Lantus use, you are not allowing a depot (or "shed") to fully form. The lack of a consistent level of Lantus in the shed will only add to wonky numbers.

So, if you are going to skip this AM, I would strongly encourage you to shoot 0.75u tonight. Also, please remember you will need to adjust your shot times for Daylight Savings Time. You will be able to move your shot time an hour early tonight since you are skipping and then be on schedule for the AM shot time.

As for going hypo when you are not looking, as long as you test, your cat will not have an acute hypoglycemic episode. Many of our cats experience low numbers and are completely asymptomatic. You will get more comfortable with lower numbers and have a better grasp of how to manage them as time goes on. Having a healthy respect for low numbers is good. We'll help you develop the confidence to handle them.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

okay my bf can get the strips and be here to test him every hour while i work. so should I shoot him the .75units now??

Im also 30 mins behind schedule to shoot. does that matter??
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

Good morning guys .. I don't think I have posted in your condo before .. I know you are nervous with these lower numbers, but you are getting a lot of good advice here and everyone here just wants the best for your kitty .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

If you are comfortable shooting, then yes. If you are more comfortable, you can shoot 0.5u (vs. 0.75u). Whichever dose, it will help if you can stick with it (unless numbers dictate otherwise).

Please read my note above. I want to make sure you are aware of the time shift for DST.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

you dont have to test every hour, unless numbers are goin down,
a bit more monitoring is needed.. but do at least get a +2, +3 or +4, and +5 or +6 in there.

typically we do a curve, about every 2 hours, or a mini curve about every 3 hours.
Have a look at the New to the Group sticky for an example of a 12 hour cycle. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=18139
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

i am going to give him 0.5units

i am now shooting him almost 45 mins behind schedule. I dont understand when to shoot tonight. say im shooting him at 9am then when would i shoot tonight?
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

General info about shot times: If you stall, oversleep, etc., whatever time you give a shot, your next shot should be 12 hours later. Do your best to stick to a 12/12 schedule. So, if you shoot at 9:00 AM this morning, your shot time tonight is 12 hours later -- 9:00 PM.

For Daylight Savings Time adjustment -- here's the post explaining the shift. Basically, unless 4's numbers are unusually low, you can move the PM shot time 30 min. early to start the shift for DST. You will need to further move the time Sunday evening for the remaining 30 min. However, if 4's numbers are running high at +10 today, please post. You may be able to move the shot time by more than 30 min.

Moving shot times can be accomplished without too much of an effect on the shed in one of two ways. You can move times by 15 min. twice a day or 30 min. once a day. You'll need to keep shifting 4's time since you're already a bit off schedule. (I hope I haven't confused you too much with this!!)
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

Sorry, I had to go and work for a bit. Okay so here is the updated spreadsheet. So far we are doing well.

Thanks for helping me out this morning....I really am so afraid of shooting low numbers Especially when I cant watch him myself. KWIM? Now that I see the reaction it is reassuring.

YOU GUYS ARE AWESOME!
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

I don't think I have posted to you before, so hello and welcome!

From today's numbers, you can see that it was ok to shoot at this number. When you skipped shots before, he ended up very high by the next shot. Today his numbers (so far) are staying in a lower, but safe, range. You're doing a great job of getting data today. :smile:
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

Libby and Lucy said:
I don't think I have posted to you before, so hello and welcome!

From today's numbers, you can see that it was ok to shoot at this number. When you skipped shots before, he ended up very high by the next shot. Today his numbers (so far) are staying in a lower, but safe, range. You're doing a great job of getting data today. :smile:


Thanks, All the data collecting credit goes to my most amazing boyfriend. :)
 
Re: 3/12 4's PMPS 335 How much shoot? Dose Advice please!

So 4 is at 335 PMPS. Do you think I should go back to the .75units tonight or stick with the .50units? Your thoughts are appreciated. And Im guessing I should shout 30 mins earlier as suggested due to DLS?
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

Hi Bast, sorry I just saw this. I think you should pick a dose and stay with it. If you are more comfortable with 0.5u, then that's fine. I hate to see you shoot 0.75u tonight, then end up in the same situation tomorrow morning and go back to 0.5u, KWIM? Consistency will yield better results.

You can shoot 30 minutes early as Sienne explained.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

Maybe I shouldve done .75units this morning. People seemed to think when I was doing .5 it was too low. sigh. im so confused and just want to do the right thing.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

I would go with the 0.5u and stick with it for 4-6 cycles unless you start seeing crazy high numbers, then ask for advice here. The bounce off the low numbers is to be expected, so it shouldn't freak you out too much...when a cat starts experiencing lower numbers, the liver panics, thinks the numbers are too low (because it now interprets high as normal), and it dumps sugar and hormones into the system to bring the numbers up. 4 is in Liver Training School, and this will gradually get better. But for now, it can take 72 hours for the bounce to clear.... so hold the dose at 0.5u until then, unless the wise ones here see something that would suggest an increase was needed, or unless a decrease is earned.

I haven't been to 4's condo, so want to give you a welcome as well! :) You're doing great!
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

What range are crazy high numbers?

and thanks for the responses.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

(((Bast)))...it's ok; you'll get it and welcome to LL! We all look back and think we should have done something different at some point. So give yourself a break. This is a tough dance and we're here to support you. It's ok if you gave him .5u...I think Laurie and Sienne are just trying to urge consistency. It's ok to start low and move up according to the protocol (you don't want to increase too quickly or you might miss 4's best dose).

We all do one condo a day and in the morning, we post our AM tests and in the evening, the pm ones in the same subject line. So it would help if you could do the subject line to look like this now:

3/12 "4" PMPS 120 (or whatever it was)

As you get each test, go back to the VERY first post of the day, click on "edit" in the upper right corner, and then edit the subject line to add the new numbers;
3/12 "4" PMPS 120 +2 100 (as an example) and so on. After each time you edit the FIRST subject line of the day, click "submit". If you want to put something in the main text box, reopen your condo and click on "post reply". Tomorrow, start a new condo with the AM info and tomorrow night, use the same condo to do the PM tests.

You're doing fine..we're all here to help.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

Just so you know, you need to change the subject line in your first post of the day in order for it to appear on the Board. It's also helpful, once you've received the help you need to remove the request from your subject line. Most of us will ignore your subject line since it's from this morning. Unless you let us know that you have a new question, we may not open your condo (i.e., thread).

If you want to move your post up to the top of the Board, you need to add a new post -- even if it only says "bump."
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

Thanks for all the info. Ill stick with the .50units for now. And update my title.
 
Re: 3/12 4's BGS 127 Do I shoot? Dose Advice please!

As Marjorie said, the most important thing right now is consistency. Don't worry too much about getting the right dose, that will come with time. You want numbers that *you* feel comfortable shooting twice a day. Once you get comfortable with that, then you can increase the dose according to the protocol and move the numbers down. It's a process....you'll get there, don't worry! You just need to start somewhere and try to be consistent. You're doing fine! :smile:
 
Great job on doing your subject line!! Thank you very much!! This gives us alot of great info in a short amount of time! Have a good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top