3/12/19 | Ben: AMPS=145, +2=90, +5=95, PMPS=145 - update on things.

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
Condo

One number that's outside of normal range doesn't (necessarily) mean you don't reduce. In the last week, Ben has had only one reading at 120.


The above is from the Tilly's Diabetes Homepage which is where TR originated. Most people forget that this is an option.

@Wendy&Neko
Ah, thanks for that @Sienne and Gabby (GA) - I was looking for this! (I totally missed your reply!)

That being said, not sure what is going on the last couple of cycles with Ben. He has been a bit constipated, I think, and I am wondering if that's why he's gone up a bit. He just had a good BM, finally, so hopefully that'll make him feel better. He was looking SO much better on the TID Bupe!

Our house is a conundrum right now anyway. After that weird incident with Darwin recently (here), he's been fine, BUT then he went and acted the same way this weekend! We had a friend here later into the evening, and he seemed okay, but later was growling and hissed/swatted at his other mom when she went to pet him. Apparently, Darwin doesn't like company anymore. It's just so WEIRD because he has never been like this. I've been racking my brain wondering if he has ever been like this with "strangers", but he never has! He used to be a bit shy at first, but then always came out for petting and attention. No idea what's changed/is changing. It just seems so out of character. The next day, and since, Darwin has been his usual, overly-affectionate self.

We have Feliways plugged in all the time now, and I have contacted my friend who is a feline behviorist - might have to get her out for a consult. Mainly because we're moving, and I'm afraid, despite our efforts to make everything super smooth, he's going to FREAK out on us :blackeye:o_O:eek::eek:

Anyway, hope everyone is well, and all the kitties are staying safe! :cat:
 
Have you tried Rescue Remedy for pets? Not repeatable behaviours are the worst!
Ooh, you know what, I haven't! I have used it for my dog before - I wonder if Darwin would take it easily in food? I may have to try that out - it is just such a shock to see him like that.

PMPS=145. Oh Ben, I don't know what is going on. Going to recheck his urinalysis tomorrow, and maybe take him to work for an x-ray, just to make sure nothing is brewing. :blackeye:
 
The only blue on Ben's SS is his pre-shot numbers. Those are typically the last to fall into place.

How stressed are you about moving? And, have you started putting things in boxes? With moving, has your routine become disrupted? Cats are such creatures of habit that anything that's out of place, different, etc. can have an effect on their behavior.
 
How stressed are you about moving? And, have you started putting things in boxes? With moving, has your routine become disrupted? Cats are such creatures of habit that anything that's out of place, different, etc. can have an effect on their behavior.
Well, we are buying a house, but he typically doesn't feed off stress like that. However, I was wondering if it was the boxes. Thing is, when he first did this, we hadn't moved or changed anything yet - or packed anything.

I'm hoping it's just the changes that are going on right now, and not that he's decided he doesn't like people other than us. I am going to try the rescue remedy, though. It can't really hurt.
 
Back
Top