3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56;+13.5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Today
3/11/2012 Zener
+11.5 175
AMPS 170, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/16t miralax
+1 118, 1PP, 3 mg zobaline, 1 treat, 0.85oz 11%

Zener is doing OK this morning. Apparently he had another little pukus last night about +5. Appy remains iffy but he is eating, it just takes a little persistence on our part. Anne is definitely the tank when it comes to getting Zener to eat. Me, not so much. What would we do without fortiflora? He had quite a drop at +1 so I gave him a pill pocket spiked with zobaline and a treat (SeaFlex Sea Cucumber with honey, he quivers when he hears the bag :lol: ). Now he is napping in the office chair, helping with his condo. Meanwhile, I'm downloading TurboTax - ugh! :evil:

Big congrats to Atticus and Monica on being OTJ! Thinking of Rosalie, Pip and Rupert, and others who are ailing. Is it my imagination or are BGs a little lower than usual this morning? Maybe the full moon party is wearing off? Happy Sunday LL!
Liz

ETA: +2 79, 3 treats, eating some 11%...
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79

Morning! Look at Zener go. Looks like a busy morning for you and Zener. Love the green! :mrgreen:

have fun with Turbo Tax.... done it already. So so glad it is over with for this year. Good luck!

have a great day. :-D
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79

Oh Mr. Z! Just LOOK at those numbers you're throwing around! Just BOOTIFUL!!!

Oh Liz - I feel for you - YUCK on taxes - haven't done mine either.

BIG HUG to ALL of you!
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73

Today
3/11/2012 Zener
+11.5 175
AMPS 170, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/16t miralax
+1 118, 1PP, 3 mg zobaline, 1 treat, 0.85oz 11%
+2 79, 3 treats, 0.35oz 11%
+3 73, 0.65oz 10%

I gave him some of Tillie's food at +3 which he seemed to like pretty well. I think he's just tired of his regular food so we are trying to mix it up a bit. Hopefully, he's put on his board shorts and going for a ride. :-D

Michelle: TurboTax is downloaded. That might be my big accomplishment for the day. :lol:
Lyresa: Zener is quite proud of himself this morning but still being a sweet Dr. Jekyll kitty.

We are loving this green! And Anne is still asleep... can you believe she can sleep through this excitement?
Liz
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73

Awww i'm sorry to hear Zener's appy is still off, you've gotta eat your fuds Z-man! I hope the zantac and odon-whatever-its-called works its magic and Zener becomes an eating machine, maybe i should send Leo over to show Zener how its done?

Yuck on the turbo-tax, i just prefer to stash away all my income tax stuff and forget about it :lol:

Have a wonderful day and feel better Zener!

Dude!! You get to eat 11% fuds??? My bean says its probably FF elegant medleys that you're eating and i'm sooooo jealous, better eat it up or else i can come over and finish up your leftovers :-D
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73

I'm glad Zener is doing so well, but hope he gets back on the good appy train.

Liz, you must be getting used to green if you can be quiet enough for Anne to sleep through one. When I see a 73, Anne will know it!
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73

Hi Liz, sending some vines for Zener to get his appy back! Mags sure would love some of your 11%. Zener, if you want to share. :-D It looks like a busy day there with his +3! Have a nice day, Liz and hope you're feeling better.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73

I feel for you trying to feed a picky eater. I hope something clicks soon. From our point of view variety is the Spice of Life, but form a cats point of view sSame Old, Same Old seems to be just as valid.

WOOT, Zenner!! Pre-party in the Green Lagoon! We've taken over the beach cabana for the food prep! -- Tess
 
Re: 3/11 Zener +11.5 175; AMPS 170;118;+2 79;+3 73;+4 73;+5


Today
3/11/2012 Zener
+11.5 175
AMPS 170, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/16t miralax
+1 118, 1PP, 3 mg zobaline, 1 treat, 0.85oz 11%
+2 79, 3 treats, 0.35oz 11%
+3 73, 0.65oz 10%
+4 73, 0.3oz 10%
+5 87, 0.6oz 6%
+7 48, 0.3oz 10%

Anne taking over for Liz now. She and Zener are having a nap together. I-)

@Tracy - yes, please send Leo to give Zener some dining lessons! We are thinking about stopping the ondanseton this evening. He doesn't really seem nauseated and the vomitus last night was more of a scarf and barf. Poo patrol has been successful so motility is happening. You are right on the FF elegant medleys, the 11% he eats is purina pro plan urinary formula - not because he needs that but it's the one food he seems to like the best. We usually mix it with a lover carb FF like chunky chicken to get down to 8%. Solving the fuds issue with Zener is an ongoing quest. :roll:

@Linda - when all is green in Wezer world I won't mind you waking me up! :lol:

@Ann & Maggie - gosh, we wish Zener was more food focused and sharing his fuds would cause a hissy fit. Liz and I are both feeling better and grateful it is spring break!

@Ann & Tess - we've been hoping something would click for almost a year! ;-) We've been using a variety of foods the past couple of days because he seems tired of his old standard. There are runs here and there when we don't care about the carbs as much and are more concerned with getting him to eat something, anything! :roll:

Well, well, the mighty Z seems to be telling us he wants that last earned reduction when we skipped his shot a few nights ago. We decided to keep shooting the 2.0u because he went to redland and we thought his diminished appy that night may have been the cause rather than Mr P. His appy is still diminshed but better. Will have to see what his numbers do the rest of this cycle, but a dose shave may be in order. :cool:
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73;+5 87;+7 48;+8 63

Looks like the treats did their magic.
Today
3/11/2012 Zener
+11.5 175
AMPS 170, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/16t miralax
+1 118, 1PP, 3 mg zobaline, 1 treat, 0.85oz 11%
+2 79, 3 treats, 0.35oz 11%
+3 73, 0.65oz 10%
+4 73, 0.3oz 10%
+5 87, 0.6oz 6%
+7 48, 0.3oz 10%
~7.5 48, 2 treats, 0.3oz 11%
+8 63, would not eat even a tiny bit of higher carb gravy, so gave 1/2PP

Will test again in 30 minutes. He does not usually eat this late in the cycle, so having trouble getting him to eat anything but treats. We are grateful he's not doing this at the end of his cycle as has been his latest pattern, so paws crossed he comes up before PMPS. We sure don't want to skip another shot. nailbite_smile Definitely looks like dosecrease is in order this time! If appy remains suspect, we may take the full 0.25u for this one.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73;+5 87;+7 48;+8 63

i would like to say that i read your last post, but my mind kept screaming "Sea Cucumber? Sea Cucumber? has zener lost his mind? isn't that a v-e-g-e-t-a-b-l-e?" where is that boy's dignity? that's like, girlie food or something! ;-) :lol:

i'm just teasing, of course. well sorta! :lol: what is a sea cucumber anyway? and perhaps it agrees very nicely with zener, because what a fabulous string of BG he's got going. surf baby surf! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73;+5 87;+7 48;+8 63

oh, now i read your last post. don't worry - a 63 is a great number and he's late enough in the cycle that he's probably not going to go further down, at least not very far. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73;+5 87;+7 48;+8 63

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: julie! It's the honey in the treats he really likes. A previous vet suggested these as a daily treat for him because of the glucomsamine and we used to give him 5 daily before his FD diagnosis. Sheez. I wish I could be confident his numbers will stay here or go up since it is later in his cycle. This crazy cat has no pattern! :o
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73;+5 87;+7 48;+8 63

:mrgreen:

i agree - zener does like to mess with you guys! he's very lucky to have you!

i'm glad you laughed, because after i read your last post i thought what a jerk i was to be joking when you were scared and worried. if you get skeered, you can always rub a little karo on his gums, you know.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;+1 118;+2 79;+3 73;+5 87;+7 48;+8 63

Ah, no worries julie - laughter is very powerful medicine and we can use a big helping around here! :YMHUG: We used karo on his gums once early after his FD diagnosis when he was still on humulin and I wasn't yet home testing. He was limp as a wet noodle, more so than his usual CH muscle tone, and we put karo on his gums and he came around right away. We were never sure if he was hypo or just deep asleep since we were not home testing yet. Thank goodness we made it through those days, pre-FDMB, without killing the poor guy!

~8.5 68, 1/2PP post poke

Looks like he is hanging in the 60s now with only pill pocket treats, so time will tell what happens later. We never know really! Where is that dang LL crystal ball? We could sure use it!
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;1 118;2 79;3 73;5 87;7 48;+8 63;~8.5

Zener! Don't scare your mamas, sweetheart!

ewww on the sea cucumber
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;1 118;2 79;3 73;5 87;7 48;+8 63;~8.5

I had to look twice at Zener's condo to realize how green he is today. I hope the appy is better tonight and surf safely, Zener.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;1 118;2 79;3 73;5 87;7 48;+8 63;~8.5

Aw poor Zener and his appy. Hope it is better tonight. Nice green surf there buddy!!
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;3 73;5 87;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78 d

Just tested @+11.5 and he is in the 70s. We were planning on reducing tonight and hate to skip...again, which we have done a couple of times lately. Also, his appy isn't the greatest. Will test again in about 20 minutes. Looking for advice on shooting tonight. Any suggestions on a reduced dose to avoid having to skip a shot, if his numbers are still low?

Today
3/11/2012 Zener
+11.5 175
AMPS 170, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/16t miralax
+1 118, 1PP, 3 mg zobaline, 1 treat, 0.85oz 11%
+2 79, 3 treats, 0.35oz 11%
+3 73, 0.65oz 10%
+4 73, 0.3oz 10%
+5 87, 0.6oz 6%
+7 48, 0.3oz 10%
~7.5 48, 2 treats, 0.3oz 11%
+8 63, would not eat even a tiny bit of higher carb gravy, so gave 1/2PP
~8.5 68, 1/2PP
+9.5 69, 1/2PP
+10.5 82
+11.5 78

Thanks Linda, Randa, Lydia and Georgia for cheering on Zener's green surf today. Now, can you send us some good appy vines please? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;3 73;5 87;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78 d

We are thinking a 0.25u reduction rather than a shave. Any input?
Liz
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

Well good grief! Our new pattern, drop too low at PMPS to shoot. :o

Today
3/11/2012 Zener
+11.5 175
AMPS 170, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/16t miralax
+1 118, 1PP, 3 mg zobaline, 1 treat, 0.85oz 11%
+2 79, 3 treats, 0.35oz 11%
+3 73, 0.65oz 10%
+4 73, 0.3oz 10%
+5 87, 0.6oz 6%
+7 48, 0.3oz 10%
~7.5 48, 2 treats, 0.3oz 11%
+8 63, would not eat even a tiny bit of higher carb gravy, so gave 1/2PP
~8.5 68, 1/2PP
+9.5 69, 1/2PP
+10.5 82
+11.5 78
+12 63

Well arighty then, still trying to decide between a shave and a 0.25u reduction and then voila! We are not comfortable shooting a number this low that is dropping. Will stall for a bit and see if the number goes up, but we can only stall for about an hour. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

Sienne suggested a shave....see above :-D

I sure would hate to see him lose momentum which he has regained. At this point, I'd also vote for the shave.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Sienne suggested a shave....see above :-D

I sure would hate to see him lose momentum which he has regained. At this point, I'd also vote for the shave.

Thanks Marje, we were discussing our decision for tonight and then up pops a 63, and dropping since his +10.5. We are not comfortable shooting this low with his current appy issues and we don't want to skip either. We can stall for about an hour but no more. Any thoughts or advice is welcome!
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

I don't see this as a dropping number. This looks like a second dip to me. It is higher than his nadir. Trying to get a quick back channel discussion. Let's see what he does in the interim.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I don't see this as a dropping number. This looks like a second dip to me. It is higher than his nadir. Trying to get a quick back channel discussion. Let's see what he does in the interim.

He is telling us he does not like this stalling idea! And we're glad to see him mildly interested in food! Crazy cat!

A little more info for the back channel discussion. We know about the second dip but when he's done this lately it's stayed low for a long time, so we're not sure this is a second dip. Also, we've given him 6 treats today, full of honey, and 4 pill pockets (normally we only give him 1-2 a day) ,that almost always brings him up, so we've been using alot of carbs today.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

One thing I notice is that when you stall, because you aren't feeding, he just keeps going down. I have to wonder if you'd just be better off shooting and then working to get his food into him even if you have to syringe....I'm worried about the stall/skip scenarios which are not working in your favor. And if you shoot a reduced dose or BCS you still have to get him to eat.

Just my thoughts....will check back in as soon as we discuss it...hopefully soon :-D
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

We don't feel comfortable doing this because of his motility issues. In fact, last night we had a vomit episode and we can't be sure he will keep it down, even if we syringe. We also don't want to skip completely because this can't be good either, but we need to feel safe.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63 dose

I understand completely but because of the shed 's cumulative nature, you may not see any different action this cycle if you shave, reduce by .25u, or shoot a half dose. Having said that, I feel you both are aware enough of the options and what will make you feel most comfortable? If you look at the nights you've skipped, those cycles don't look much different than the nights you shot...it's just the next day....
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63;12.3

We don't feel comfortable shooting below 70 right now because of his appy issues, unless the number would be on the way up. Liz reminded me that it is spring break and we can stall for the full 2 hours if we need to, so that's what we are thinking at this moment. Oops, he's outside eating grass so we're off to fetch him inside!
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63;12.3

Anne and Liz

I guess what I'm trying to say is stalling hasn't worked. The input on the back channel discussion was for you all to look at what happens every time you've stalled and skipped. And he is surfing right now...he's not dropping but the longer you stall without food, then his pattern on 3/1 (where you just skipped a shootable number), 3/6 and 3/8 has been a continued drop to the point where you have to skip. And again, if you stall two hours and ETA: for some reason he doesn't drop,then shoot, you still have to get him to eat...his cycle is not going to be any different than shooting on time..

We primarily use stalling or shooting a BCS when someone is new so they can get over the fear of shooting low OR if the cat is below 50 because no one on lantus shoots below 50 ...ever. The best thing for the cat is to shoot on time and shoot the dose he is supposed to get; if he's earned a reduction, then give it to him like you would anyway. Look how awesome he is doing when you don't skip.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener AMPS 170;7 48;+8 63;~10 82;~11 78;+12 63;12.3

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Anne and Liz

I guess what I'm trying to say is stalling hasn't worked. The input on the back channel discussion was for you all to look at what happens every time you've stalled and skipped. And he is surfing right now...he's not dropping but the longer you stall without food, then his pattern on 3/1 (where you just skipped a shootable number), 3/6 and 3/8 has been a continued drop to the point where you have to skip. And again, if you stall two hours and ETA: for some reason he doesn't drop,then shoot, you still have to get him to eat...his cycle is not going to be any different than shooting on time..

Yes, we are looking at that on his SS and we agree the stalling isn't working. Is it possible his dose is too high also and that may be causing him to drop like this late in his cycle because we stop feeding him around +7 or +8? We just don't feel comfortable shooting this low when we can't count on him eating. We really don't want to syringe feed him unless it is absolutely necessary because he is vomiting every couple of days lately and we just can't be sure things are getting through as they should.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
We primarily use stalling or shooting a BCS when someone is new so they can get over the fear of shooting low OR if the cat is below 50 because no one on lantus shoots below 50 ...ever. The best thing for the cat is to shoot on time and shoot the dose he is supposed to get; if he's earned a reduction, then give it to him like you would anyway. Look how awesome he is doing when you don't skip.

He is doing awesome and we hate to stop the momentum. But the past three days his appy has been decreased and he has vomited a couple of times, last night at +5 was the last one and he puked up the food I had just given him. We are frightened that could happen when we absolutely need it to stay in him because his numbers are getting too low. We hate to sound like BCS beans or that we don't appreciate all the expert advice. We are both just about at our max stress limit as it is right now.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

Just to reinforce Marje's point, you've shot an 82. If you factor in meter variance, that number is lower than a 70. How about a compromise? Can you start whittling down your "no shoot" number so it's progressively lower? While I can appreciate your concerns over Zener's appetite and motility issues, I think some of this is a matter of your confidence (or the BOS factor). You've got to do what you're comfortable with but it's also a matter of getting comfortable with shooting progressively lower numbers.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

I understand. We support you in your decision. You know him best.

Since you asked, I will say that he did earn a reduction and I understand why you didn't give it to him at the time....makes complete sense. Since he went down in the 40s again today, I do think you will have to give him the reduction sooner than later or you will just be continuing this cycle of skipping, then horrible bouncing which makes you want to shoot through it, and then clearing back down into the 40s and the whole thing repeats itself. I have also used the technique of shooting through the bounce until it clears and then reducing but the difference is between shooting with the new reduced dose and skipping ....thus starting the bounce.

Also, on 3/1...he was clearing a bounce and was dropping.....I'm assuming you fed the 80s number at +8.5 and then he popped up to 105, carbs wore off and he came back down.
On 3/6, 3/8, and tonight...those weren't dropping numbers.

I just wanted to give you some things to look at on your SS so you can see the trends we're seeing. Please let us know if you have questions or how you would like us to help.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just to reinforce Marje's point, you've shot an 82. If you factor in meter variance, that number is lower than a 70. How about a compromise? Can you start whittling down your "no shoot" number so it's progressively lower? While I can appreciate your concerns over Zener's appetite and motility issues, I think some of this is a matter of your confidence (or the BOS factor). You've got to do what you're comfortable with but it's also a matter of getting comfortable with shooting progressively lower numbers.

Thank you for your input Sienne, we just don't feel comfortable shooting this low right now with him not eating well and regularly vomiting. We are struggling so much with his appy lately that we just don't feel safe right now. I would say we do not have BOS at this point in time. If we can get him eating better and trust that he will eat when we need him to, then we would feel safe shooting a lower number. We could opt to use the cypro again to make him eat, but we don't like that option when he is vomiting. We feel pretty discouraged right now.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I understand. We support you in your decision. You know him best.
Thanks Marje, we are really struggling right now with his eating and vomiting. We have a visit to the vet on Tues and perhaps will have some insight into his appy issues. The vet has mentioned he may have some IBD so we will ask about that on Tuesday.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Since you asked, I will say that he did earn a reduction and I understand why you didn't give it to him at the time....makes complete sense. Since he went down in the 40s again today, I do think you will have to give him the reduction sooner than later or you will just be continuing this cycle of skipping, then horrible bouncing which makes you want to shoot through it, and then clearing back down into the 40s and the whole thing repeats itself. I have also used the technique of shooting through the bounce until it clears and then reducing but the difference is between shooting with the new reduced dose and skipping ....thus starting the bounce.
Yes, we understand about shooting through the bounce and this past time, he was still pretty high the 2nd cycle post start of the bounce, so we kept shooting the 2.0u. We weren't sure it was an earned reduction or just the effect of being in the 40s for a while when we were stalling. So, we may have kept this up too long and started this horrible cycle all over again. We will opt for shooting the reduced dose earlier and see if this helps.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Also, on 3/1...he was clearing a bounce and was dropping.....I'm assuming you fed the 80s number at +8.5 and then he popped up to 105, carbs wore off and he came back down.
On 3/6, 3/8, and tonight...those weren't dropping numbers.
Maybe we don't exactly understand what a dropping number is? We thought since he was going down lower at each test this was a dropping number. :?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I just wanted to give you some things to look at on your SS so you can see the trends we're seeing. Please let us know if you have questions or how you would like us to help.

Thank you so very much for all your input and for getting the back channel discussion going. It helps immensely. We feel a little ungrateful to choose a different path and hope no one takes it that way. It's just tough right now with him not eating reliably and not keeping it down reliably either. We appreciate all your help and we'll see where we are tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

everyone understands that advice is only that - you have to do what you feel comfortable with! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

julie & punkin said:
everyone understands that advice is only that - you have to do what you feel comfortable with! :YMHUG:
Thanks julie, it has been a rough couple of days for us with Zener's appy not so good. Been trying some new fuds to see if we can find something else he might eat and not having very good luck so far. We also weighed today and he had lost weight from last week. :sad:

Today
3/11/2012 Zener
+11.5 175
AMPS 170, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/16t miralax
+1 118, 1PP, 3 mg zobaline, 1 treat, 0.85oz 11%
+2 79, 3 treats, 0.35oz 11%
+3 73, 0.65oz 10%
+4 73, 0.3oz 10%
+5 87, 0.6oz 6%
+7 48, 0.3oz 10%
~7.5 48, 2 treats, 0.3oz 11%
+8 63, would not eat even a tiny bit of higher carb gravy, so gave 1/2PP
~8.5 68, 1/2PP
+9.5 69, 1/2PP
+10.5 82
+11.5 78
PMBG 63
+12.3 60
+12.7 56, 1/3PP & 1/8 zantac, 0.75oz 11% & 1/16t miralax
~13.5 72, 0.35oz 11%
+14 not interested in his usual foods, tried the nature's variety lamb ~6%, ate 0.3oz

Another cycle of not wanting to eat. Will see if I can get him to eat a little more before bedtime. :YMSIGH:
 
Poor beans :sad: I know you guys are trying so hard. It's hard when they don't always want to eat. Does he hate it when you guys syringe feed him? I've only done it with Bailey one time but she took it pretty well.

Liz, you asked about the flu vaccine. I have gotten one the last 4 years or so. I can get it free at work and hospitals really push them for employees - it's not required but almost. I don't have much of a reaction to it, just a little soreness usually. I have only gotten the flu once since I started getting the shot, and I was really stressed out at the time! However, I usually didn't get the flu anyway back when I didn't get the shot... so who knows? It doesn't seem to hurt anything for me anyway... some people react to the shot enough that they might as well have the full-blown flu!! You guys both work at a university, right? Not quite as bad as a hospital, germ-wise... but close! :lol: :lol:
 
Could you possibly crush the treat he likes the best over his food to stir his appetite?
I know Moonie gets incentive to eat when I crush a temptation over her food..
Just a shot in the dark--Loving the green numbers, sorry for your anxiety, understand it very well!
Hope Zen gets his appy back so all this can even itself out!
You are GREAT GREAT Beans!! Hugs & Love from us!
 
So sorry you guys had such a hard day. You must be so exhausted. I think once you solve the apps problem, you'll solve the shooting low problem too. I hope the vet can find something to do for Zener's app. I can shoot low because I know Daphne will eat for me, even if she walks away, I walk behind her and put the dish in front of her or hold it for her, just to make sure she eats, even a tsp. every half hour if I shoot low, for like, two hours, so I know her numbers on going up. Maybe its just luck for me, I really don't know…being so new at this.

Good luck at the Vet on Tuesday!
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

Anne & Zener said:
Maybe we don't exactly understand what a dropping number is? We thought since he was going down lower at each test this was a dropping number.

A dropping number is one that starts higher at PS and then gradually decreases all the way to the next preshot; you might see this in a bounce clearing cycle such as the a.m. cycle on 2/28; he ended up surfing at the end of the cycle into PMPS but you can see ow he gradually descended all day.

What he did on 3/8 a.m. cycle was get a second dip. He came down to 95 at nadir, then came back up like a typical curve, and then went back down between +10-+12.

I'm just wondering if, by chance, feeding him about 15 mins before +10 would help hold him steady through his PMPS so you can shoot. If you are feeding him at +8, maybe you could move it to +10 but he'd have to be totally done eating and food withdrawn by +10 so there would not be a food spike at shot time. Do you think he would be hungry enough to eat at +10 and then again at PS?

And as Julie said, we are just giving you our thoughts. You are there with him, you are his caregiver....it is your decision and, as I said before, we support you.
 
Thanks to all for your support. We were going great there for a bit, Zener was eating well and we thought we were turning a corner - must have jinxed ourselves. :roll:

@Melissa & Bailey - I'll have to let Liz reply to you on the flu vaccine discussion. ;-) We had to syringe feed him back in January after part of his post-dental recovery. It was difficult on us and he hated it, though we would do it if there was no other option. His stomach and intestinal motility had really decreased possibly due to the anesthesia and several weeks of bupe. He wasn't eating well and we used an appetite stimulant from our vet. He ate great for a day then puked it all up and stopped eating all together. We had to syringe feed him for a week, changed vets, she put him on cerenia for 5 days and he started eating again. These episodes of poor eating and vomiting have occurred since his FD diagnosis and it's possible he may have some IBD along with his FD.

@Roni - gosh, we've tried just about everything, freeze dried chicken powder on his food, crushed up freeze dried chicken, tuna juice, and I could go on. Fortiflora is about the only thing that works and there are times when he won't eat food with that on it. I think we've tried every brand and flavor of wet food in town too. We love the green numbers and hate to break the momentum but with his recent bout of poor appy and vomiting, we're just too nervous. We have paws crossed we can get him back on an even keel soon.

@Barb - thanks for your kind words. We are exhausted and worried. You are right, if we could get him eating consistently, shooting low would be much easier! We do the follow him around dance too, put the bowl in front of him, rub a little on his nose, then follow him again when he gets up and walks away. When he starts to cover the dish like he covers his poo, we know that's it.

We stopped the ondansetron tonight, he does not seem to be nauseated anymore. We have a vet appointment on Tues, so we will see what other options we may want to try if his appy has not picked by then.
 
Re: 3/11 Zener PMBG 63;+12.3 60;+12.7 56 skipping

I must have missed you while I was posting! :roll:

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Anne & Zener said:
Maybe we don't exactly understand what a dropping number is? We thought since he was going down lower at each test this was a dropping number.

A dropping number is one that starts higher at PS and then gradually decreases all the way to the next preshot; you might see this in a bounce clearing cycle such as the a.m. cycle on 2/28; he ended up surfing at the end of the cycle into PMPS but you can see ow he gradually descended all day.

What he did on 3/8 a.m. cycle was get a second dip. He came down to 95 at nadir, then came back up like a typical curve, and then went back down between +10-+12.

Ah, I was thinking a dropping number was one that was going down at PS like we had today. I see what you mean now. I'm still not sure we feel safe shooting below 70 right now though because we are having such a time getting him to eat again.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'm just wondering if, by chance, feeding him about 15 mins before +10 would help hold him steady through his PMPS so you can shoot. If you are feeding him at +8, maybe you could move it to +10 but he'd have to be totally done eating and food withdrawn by +10 so there would not be a food spike at shot time. Do you think he would be hungry enough to eat at +10 and then again at PS?
We've tried to not feed him after mid-cycle and but do feed after mid-cycle when he has not been eating very much. I'm not sure if he would eat at PS if give him some fuds at +10 but we often feed him a little FDCK @+10, so it's worth a try!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
And as Julie said, we are just giving you our thoughts. You are there with him, you are his caregiver....it is your decision and, as I said before, we support you.
Thanks, we so appreciate yours and others thoughts and thank you for all your help this evening. :YMHUG: We just feel extra stressed by his poor eating lately and nearing the end of the semester and recovering from colds, we are about out of gas. Thank goodness we have this week off to stay home, rest, recover and pet our kitties! cat_pet_icon
 
((((((((((Anne & Liz)))))))))) I know what you are feeling and going through. You need to feel confident in what you are doing for Zenner. You take such good care of your baby. Sending eat well vines for Zenner and sleep well vines for the beans tonight you need to rest and recuperate. Things will seema lot more manageable when you are feeling better too.
 
Seems Vyktor and Zener are a little bit confused about the surfing competition today and mistook if for a lets drop low at the end of the cycle competition. Looks like Zener may win on the lowest number at shot time but Vyktor has won hands down on depth of drop!

You probably have but just in case - have you tried chopping up some of that sea cucumber he loves so much into his food?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top