3/11: Sammy - AMPS 70; +1.5 57; +7 87; +9 136; PMPS 143; +2 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning LL,

Not sure what today will bring, Sammy is already at 57 at +1.5, maybe he will earn a reduction today, I don't know.

Last night my mouth was sore after the nova cane wore off. The dentist makes you open your mouth so wide and since you can't really feel it you don't realize how much stress you put on your jaw. I ended up getting in bed early last night, but I was up every hour to make sure that the fluids didn't send Sammy too low last night. He did hit 55, but that was the lowest we saw him. On top of that, I eat something that didn't agree with me so my stomach wasn't entirely happy last night and that made me a bit uncomfortable so I didn't sleep well when I was sleeping. And because of that I am very tired today. It is going to take a lot of coffee this morning. I keep telling myself it will be worth it if we can get Sammy back to the falls. I will probably come home from work and take a nap this evening.

The next few weeks are going to be pretty busy for me. I am in full blown Knit Camp mode. I have to organize all the goodie bags and door prizes, not to mention all the things I need to knit before camp. We do a lot of charity knitting and I am way behind on what I had planned on knitting to donate at camp. I would like to knit at least two more adult or child hats, not to mention the dishcloth for the cabin, a couple of squares that will be put in to the charity blanket, and I need to whip up a few blocks on my knitting matching for snuggles. At least I can say that my stuffed animal is complete. So all in all I think we donate to 5 or 6 different charities. It is so awesome that almost everyone participates and donates something.

Hope everyone has a fantastic day.
 
Sammy is on a mission so far today...I hope he decides to settle in to a surf for yoU!

Knit camp sounds like a lot of work, but a lot of fun! We have local knitters who make blankets for kids with cancer - I think it's called "Project Linus". Cool stuff.

I hope you feel better and better as the day progresses!!
 
Sammy, are you and Rosa having a competition this morning? ;) Surf safe today - don't make your mamabean worry about you too much!

I hope you're feeling better soon Tina and you're able to get a nap later.
 
Knit camp sounds like a lot of work, but a lot of fun! We have local knitters who make blankets for kids with cancer - I think it's called "Project Linus". Cool stuff.

Yes, Knit Camp is a lot of work, but totally worth it. It is 12 days of relaxing in a cabin on the lake. It is a beautiful and relaxing setting.

We donate a lot to Project Linus.
 
That does sound wonderful!! I'm a beader myself...I have friends who go on beading cruises! They sound wonderful, but I have a fear of getting seasick...
 
That does sound wonderful!! I'm a beader myself...I have friends who go on beading cruises! They sound wonderful, but I have a fear of getting seasick...

I have always wanted to go on a cruise but I have the same fear. I get motion sick in the car and on airplanes.
 
I had a really bad experience on a smaller boat once....it was a night during post-storm waters, so it was the circumstances, but that was enough to keep me off ALL boats under ALL circumstances now!
 
So Sammy hit 57 at +1.5 and since then he has been on the rise. I am hoping that this is the rise before a big drop. It seems that he has done this the last couple of times before a reduction. He goes higher and then a cycle or two later he takes a big drop and then earns his reduction. I hope that is what we are seeing here today, but as always only time will tell.
 
Honestly, I have no idea what Sammy is up to today. At this rate of increase I am expecting that we will be around 150 or higher for PMPS tonight. The only thing that is different today is from +3 on all of Sammy's MM have been Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblet (5%) Before I had been giving 1 teaspoon each of the Friskies and 1 teaspoon of the Wellness Turkey (4%). The can of Friskies was opened this morning so I don't think it is a problem with old food, unless it is the food itself. I just don't know. Like I stated in the previous post I am wondering if this is a high before a low.

On 3/2, he spiked up to 150 at PS and then earned a decrease the following day. And on 3/5 the high was 136 at PS and then earned a reduction two days later. I don't know if this is unique to Sammy of if this is a thing.

At +9 I did open a can of Wellness Turkey for his afternoon snack.
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't worry about the 136. His spreadsheet has gone to almost all green - since you reduced his dose it still looks great. After 7 days at any dose if the cat is in all normal numbers, you can try reducing the dose. He's got 3 days already. I'd only place value on the 136 if there are more higher numbers too. If it's a single test - no worries. Remember the meters have a 20% variance rate.

By the way, I saw your comment about buying strips - I bought almost all my supplies for punkin for probably 2 years from ADW and never had a problem with their strips or anything else. I think Milo's Mommy had something unusual going on with the one container of bad strips. It's not the norm. Of course, even if you test the very same drop of blood with 2 different strips, you will get 2 different test results. That's the 20% variance. It really doesn't matter - i almost never retested. The important thing is if you can measure low numbers to keep a cat safe - the 20% variance is 40-60 when you're measuring a 50, so it's much smaller than when in high numbers. I just took the test at face value unless it was obviously very wrong.
 
As I suspected Sammy was a bit higher at PMPS, but I was happy that he wasn't as high as I thought he might be. The better news is that he is already under 120 at +2. If things go as they have in the past Sammy should have a nice slow drop over the next 10-11 hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top