3/11 Rocky PMPS 360 +2 346 +6 362 +11 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115209

Well, I had hoped that Rocky might come down from that +11 of 279, but instead his BG went up to 315 at AMPS.. Not sure when I should raise his dose again. We didn't see any blue or green yesterday, and only one hour of a yellow number.

Rocky's Recap of yesterday:

AMPS 379 +2 340 +4 324 +11 378
PMPS 417 +2 363 +4 340 +6 304 +11 279
 
Re: dosecrease? 3/11 Rocky AMPS 315 +2 395

Hi,

I'm not sure how far to look back to see if he is still considered in a bounce or not. I have not adjusted his shot time for DST yet. There is the possibility that I give him his shot 1/2 hr early tonight, so at 10:30pm DST instead of at 11pm and I guess that would be considered 'overlapping?'
 
Re: dosecrease? 3/11 Rocky AMPS 315 +2 395

Yes, he could still be in a bounce. You have to give it 3 days (6 cycles) after those low numbers for him to clear the bounce. It's only been 4 cycles.

Also, you say he only spent an hour in the yellows yesterday. The 304 is incredibly close to yellow...with meter variance, it could have been a below 300 reading. Rocky could have spent hours +9 through +11 under 300. Not as long as you'd like, but still not as bad as the yucky red and blacks.

If I were you, I'd give him two more cycles to break the bounce. He saw green numbers on 1.5units. Give his body time to break the bounce and see if he can hit the greens again.

I know, trust me, how bad those red and black numbers look and how crappy they make you feel! This is a roller coaster. You get so excited about the green numbers, and then feel like you've been punched in the gut when you see a high pink/red/black number. Am I right? It's okay. We've all been there! (little consolation, but the truth)
 
Re: dosecrease? 3/11 Rocky AMPS 315 +2 395

I agree with Suzanne. As annoying as the pinks can be, you have to look at the nadirs when determining the dose. Rocky has gotten down into the 70's with this dose, which is a pretty good nadir. Strap on the patience pants, give Rocky a pokie break, and do something for yourself today.
 
Re: dosecrease? Rocky's Weight, Increasing Food Intake

Ok.. you guys.. patience pants I'mma wearing now..

I will give Rocky a poky break for the rest of this afternoon, until what, maybe AMPS +11, or right up until PMPS? I will move his shot time to 10:30PM, so there will be some overlapping there.. it might cause him to go a little bit lower tonight, but I am able to be here and monitor him and see him through if for some reason his BG should dip below 50 while on this 1.50u dose.

He's happy, preening, purring, and always hungry. So, in very good shape right now, other than the modestly high BG.

So, I just weighed Rocky on a professional scale. I have one at my house, a Health O Meter, because I foster cats and kittens and I need to know when they are big enough for shots and surgery. (Although I go with a combo of weight/size/age to determine that). Rocky weighed 13.6 pounds. So, I've done very good at keeping him at the same weight that he was when he left the hospital.

With his bone structure and his age, I think he should weigh more like at least 15 pounds. That means increasing how much I am feeding him. I was feeding him strictly the canned Nature's Variety Instinct Venison because I think he should be on a strict rotation diet for at least 3 to 4 months. It's so darn expensive!! One can of it costs me $2.99 + tax.. Right now he is eating one can and a half a day.. (Thank goodness I gave up my Starbuck's habit a year ago. I still drink my mocha but I make it for myself at home now)

So... I think he WILL need a dosecrease once I start adding an extra ALMOST 3oz. of food to his diet every day. I will split the 5.5 oz can and give him half of that rather than buying the 3oz can size. (too expensive) One half of the can is 2.75 oz.

Do you have any guidance for me as to where in his cycle to feed him this extra amount of food?

Thank you!
 
Re: dosecrease? Rocky's Weight, Increasing Food Intake

are you still feeding him 3 times a day? if so, i would increase the number of feedings. i think it would be good for him to get something after his evening shot to hold him over til morning.

i think i've mentioned it before - take the total amount of food in a day and divide it into a minimum of 4 feedings, 6 is better, and then space out the feedings between preshot and +3 or +4.
 
Re: dosecrease? Rocky's Weight, Increasing Food Intake

Hi Julie,

I don't understand what you mean to space out the feedings between +3 and +4?

My plan right now is to increase Rocky's food intake to (2) cans per day. He has been eating one can plus one half.

About the dose increase, we are just going to wait and see how high his BG goes up after the food increase? Thank you!
 
Re: dosecrease? Rocky's Weight, Increasing Food Intake

Why do you think the food increase will mean a dose increase? Eating more often might actually help. It will put less strain on Rocky's pancreas.

Right now Cobb eats between 2 and 2.5 cans a day. Each "full feeding" is a half can at shot time, and then a quarter can twice during the first half of the cycle. He sometimes gets an extra quarter can wen my husband leaves for work, if it's been a particularly annoying night. Sometimes during the first half of the day cycle, he doesn't eat for hours because that is prime nap time. :lol:

You'll figure out what works. There are differing thoughts on how much you should feed. What we feed Cobb now pretty much maintains his weight. When (if) he's ever regulated, hopefully he won't be as hungry.
 
Re: dosecrease? Rocky's Weight, Increasing Food Intake

I think what Julie was trying to say was to divide up the amount of ounces per cycle into how many mini-meals you want to feed Rocky. I feed Gabby at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3. If you want to add more food, you can either feed more at each mini-meal or add another meal (e.g., a +4).
 
Re: 3/11 Rocky PMPS 360 +2 346

Thanks everyone!

I gave Rocky his insulin shot at 10:30pm DST tonight instead of at 11pm. I am trying to move it all the way back to 9pm.

Also, I fed Rocky in three mini-meals tonight instead of just two. I fed him 1/4 can of NVIV at pre-shot, +1, +2. He did get 2 cans of food today, but he got nearly 1/2 can at his first meal of the day.

Tomorrow I'll feed Rocky 4 mini-meals, 2x a day: Pre-shot, +1, +2 +3. Let's see what this does to his BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top