? 3/11 PMPS 310 - Cat barely ate PM meal - What to do?

Prikitiw

Member
Hi all,

Des had a low episode on Mar. 8 (32 mg/dl), and he seems to be in 'bouncing' mode.

At the same time, I also tried switching his food (from Weruva Chicken Checkmate, which he's not enthused about, to something else -- e.g., I gave him Wellness Complete Health Turkey pate this morning, which he didn't seem to mind).

This evening, his PMPS is 310, and he only ate a bit (~30g) of the Wellness Complete Health Turkey pate. He's not interested in his old food (Weruva Chicken Checkmate).

I gave him his insulin at 2.5 units while he was eating. I will continue to monitor him to see if he goes hypo, though I don't think he will because his blood glucose is so high. His ketone is also high on the blood ketone meter (0.6 mmol). I will check again in an hour.

What should I do? If he's not interested in eating diabetic-friendly foods, should I feed him something high in carbs just for tonight so that he gets some calories?

I'm planning on taking him to the vet tomorrow.

Thank you.
 
Get a +2 test. It'll give a hint whether he's going to go up, do a normal Lantus cycle with some downward motion, or go for a dive. Onset doesn't happen until 2-3 hours after the shot, so you have time to get food into him. I wouldn't feed HC just yet.

Here are some tips that might help to get him eating:
 
@Wendy&Neko - I checked just now and his blood sugar on Freestyle Lite meter is 19.1 !

I don't understand how is this possible when he barely ate and I gave him insulin :(

Should I try giving him food? Using the tips in the link you provided.

My fear is that it will drive his blood sugar up further.
 
Give him a little bit of food, not a lot. See how he does, and feed more if he eats it. Insulin does more than combat the carbs in food. I'm glad you gave him insulin tonight.

He could be bouncing from whatever numbers he saw today. There doesn't seem to have been any mid cycle tests today - a requirement of TR.
 
@Wendy&Neko I gave him IAMS Healthy Portion, which is also low-carb (3.5%), and he ate it enthusiastically!

I gave half a portion or around 18 grams. (Each portion is 37.5 grams)

Do I keep feeding him, or do I wait until tomorrow morning? I only have one more package of Healthy Portion.

+5 PM is 18.2 (down slightly from 19.1 earlier).
 
Your spreadsheet says you were taking to the vet this AM, I hope all goes well. :bighug:

To answer the above question, if he was eating, I would have given him his full amount of food. I'm glad you found something he likes.
 
Back
Top