3/11 Minnie PMPS 333, +2.25 335, +4 363

Woohoo on Minnie playing today! She likes the blues. :cool: At one point I could tell when Neko was low pinks cause she'd go over and start playing with her toys. :rolleyes: I was so happy when that switched to the blues.

Just to see if Minnie is listening, I'd be tempted to increase when you can monitor closely. 16 cycles at this dose, and only two cycles with green. I'm greedy for more. With TR, we typical hold no longer than 10 cycles. Unless the overall numbers are pretty much regulated.
 
Just to see if Minnie is listening, I'd be tempted to increase when you can monitor closely. 16 cycles at this dose, and only two cycles with green. I'm greedy for more. With TR, we typical hold no longer than 10 cycles. Unless the overall numbers are pretty much regulated.

I hear you...to be honest I'm a bit chicken, though that can be overcome. Would we go back to 4.25u?

Can you explain why the 4.25u would work now when it sent her too low before (<68 on the AT meter at the time)? I'm guessing something to do with her body getting more used to the lower BG levels overall and not reacting quite so much this time? This is such an education.

I know it's the right thing to do, (especially with the Novamax readings being higher...yes, yes I really do know not to compare!) - just need to bite the bullet! I was so happy to see the ketone reading back down, and her playing this morning. If she cooperates, I'll increase with the next dose tomorrow morning.

thanks!
 
ETA @Bandit's Mom did you see how we were able to bring it forward 30min again today! I feel like your apprentice seeking approval :bighug:

Just saw the ETA. And I noticed the advancement in shot timing even before that. Well done! :cool:

Btw, how many hours after your current PMPS time do you go to bed? Wondering if you can get later tests in the PM cycle rather than (or in addition to) the +2. You know, mix it up a bit. Get +2 on some days, +3 or +4 on others. Though she's being a really nice kid and going low for you in the AM cycle rather than the PM one (anti-jinx!).
 
Just saw the ETA. And I noticed the advancement in shot timing even before that. Well done! :cool:

Btw, how many hours after your current PMPS time do you go to bed? Wondering if you can get later tests in the PM cycle rather than (or in addition to) the +2. You know, mix it up a bit. Get +2 on some days, +3 or +4 on others. Though she's being a really nice kid and going low for you in the AM cycle rather than the PM one (anti-jinx!).

I read your mind! Just got a +4 before bed. Sorry to see more pink but relieved to get a full night's sleep! I can definitely mix it up.

Can you help with my question above - is the next increase back to 4.25 again? I can increase in the morning and monitor. I would like to understand why the same dose would give a different result this time, though.

Night, have a good day!!
 
Can you help with my question above - is the next increase back to 4.25 again? I can increase in the morning and monitor. I would like to understand why the same dose would give a different result this time, though.

Because a cat's insulin needs change and we need to follow the numbers and change doses accordingly. That means both up and down. If Minnie is breaking a bounce tomorrow morning, you may want to hold the dose since there will be additional downward in that cycle. Don't need a dose increase adding to the mix!

Hopefully she will again respond to the dose increase threat. :-)
 
Yes to 4.25 units. We call the greens the healing numbers. They are where the fragile pancreatic cells get a break to rest and hopefully heal again. The more the cat sees those normal numbers, the more healing can happen. And also, the cat's body gets more used to normal numbers and stops bouncing so much. Also, spending too much time at a dose that gives mostly higher numbers can lead to glucose toxicity. It's really quite common to see quite a bit of up and down movements in doses. But since Minnie saw the 50's very recently, I'd be cautious and make sure you increase when you can monitor closely. Often the increase is only short term.

( and sometimes the dose increase threat is made to spark the cat into action - it happens a lot ).
 
Thank you both. She said, I hear you about the dose increase threat and I accept it because I want to spend more quality time with you in the middle of the night. :nailbiting: ;)
 
Back
Top