3/11 Merlin AMPS 280 +7 45/ +10 104/ PMPS 154 Same Dose

Steve & Merlin

Member Since 2019
Thankfully, an uneventful night. Glad nothing dramatic happened with the dose increase. Merlin was very perky this morning and is in good spirits. He definitely seems to like yellow numbers.
 
Both of us appreciate it. Merlin looked rested this morning too. He is also continuing to look perky even though his +4 is 87. He was out of sorts the other day in the blues. I'm going to keep a close eye on how far down he goes. He kind of dropped fast the last 2 hours.
 
Merlin is starting to feel the effects of the low BG numbers. He's feeling a bit punk again. I hope he stays above the 30's on his own. I will check again in 15 minutes and if he is lower, I will intervene. While these numbers are great, I really really hope he doesn't bounce into the high 500s again. A 400s bounce would be ok.
 
He had a bit of food. Maybe a teaspoon. He got up to go to the bathroom and stopped by his dish. His +8 is now 89. I don't think that is all from the food. Too soon and not enough sugar in it. It was rising already on a half hour spot test. I let him eat as he is under weight and if he is hungry, he eats. Especially at lower BG numbers as he metabolizes the food better. Overall, I am happy with his response to the dose increase so far. Now if we can just get through it without a nasty bounce.
 
Good catch on the +7. That was a big drop through out the cycle so hope he doesn't bounce to high. Maybe he will surprise us.
 
I just gave him his new dose with the PMPS 154. I feel comfortable giving it to him as his BG was rising and I anticipate a bounce setting in and he will need the insulin to help clamp it. But if he decides to dive into the greens again, I have the coffee pot ready and will keep an eye on him. But he is adjusting to the lower numbers. When he was high green and in the blues he was getting into trouble and jumping around and eating. I'm still giving him subq fluids and that seems to be helping too. His afternoon poopy was nice and normal.
 
I sure wish we could achieve Bubba's rock solid numbers. You have one stable kitty now. You guys have achieved the perfect SS for successful TR management. What are the details of his diet?
 
After the 5 March bounce, Merlin was not acting right and he seemed dehydrated so we took him to the vet. He confirmed he was dehydrated and thought that he would feel better after he recovered from the trauma of the recent low and high BG. I was instructed to give him subq fluids as needed to keep him hydrated and to prevent constipation. Since his kidneys are working fine and he has no other medical conditions, the vet said if I gave him too much, he would just pee it away. I've given fluids to our house rabbits and other cats over the years so it was no big deal. I have been giving him 50 - 100ml/per day, as needed. If he is in the yellows or lower, he doesn't seem to need any. I think keeping him hydrated with the subq fluids has other benefits. He doesn't have to wake up and drink as much so he rests better and it lowers his BG by reducing the overall glucose concentration compared to being dehydrated.

He's feeling a lot better and ate a good dinner. He gets a bit off when he is in the greens. He used to be that way in the blues, but not lately.
 
Forgot to mention that the reason I gave him fluids today was I wanted him stocked up, as it were, if he did another bounce. He got really dehydrated during the last one as he felt so bad he didn't want to get up to drink.
 
Back
Top