3/11 Max AMPS 74, PMPS 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Member Since 2011
Starting the day playin' in the grass. Think Max must have had his snack within about 2 hours of AMPS as he seems to get his best #'s a couple hours after eating. I shot a little reduced dose, since I'll be gone at work, and asked my mom to keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 3/11 Max AMPS 74

He's looking good. Remember when we were afraid to shoot through lows!!! We've come a long way haven't we.
 
Re: 3/11 Max AMPS 74

Look at Maxie go!!! Now I know where Autumn got all the grass stains last night.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/11 Max AMPS 74

Looking great. How did you ever get used to shooting low numbers? Even getting down to under 100 after insulin scares me.

Elise
 
Re: 3/11 Max AMPS 74

It doesn't scare me. As a newbie - I was instructed not to shoot below 200 but I just could never skip his shot at that level. The first time I ever considered skipping was at 92. I guess you have to have a good sense of your sugarcat's cycle. My Alska has a pretty flat cycle.

However, that was just me. I do recommend newbies adhere to this rule in the beginning - at least until you have more information about your cat's cycle and nadir, and reactions to low numbers. I definitely understand the importance of this advice.
 
Re: 3/11 Max AMPS 74

I have been shooting under 200 but freaked when I had to shoot at 97. I stalled to get to that point. I belong to a yahoo group that bets me not to shoot under 200 ever. Even my vet has 100 as the cut off. I won't be posting on the yahoo group because they make me too scared. We have been dealing with diabetes since November but home testing since January. nailbite_smile

Elise
 
Re: 3/11 Max AMPS 74

I always think of it as "nerves of steel," but really it's experience and that takes time. It's been hard to be patient to even get the little bit o' experience I now have. ;-) I for sure didn't shoot a low number the first time I got one. I would wait and re-test or shoot a reduced dose and test, etc. Eventually, though I could see I was loosing ground when I did that (e.g. #'s ended up higher), so slowly, very slowly, I tried shooting a little bit lower each time and tested and watched Max like crazy. I would only do it when I knew I would be home to test. Then, as I gathered more info on how Max did that cycle, I would slowly move my "no shoot" number down. I'm still new enough though that I think of "nerves of steel" when it happens. Today, I wasn't going to be home, so I reduced the dose, fed a hearty breakfast, left lots of extra snacks, and had my mom watching him. That's so cool Elise your Max is starting to see some lower #'s. Yay!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top