? 3/11 Max AMPS 356--Complete fur shot? Help!

Giomax

Member Since 2018
I just gave Max his morning dose. Or at least...I tried to. He was being fussy and squirmy about it (even with food) and I ended up giving him what I think was a COMPLETE fur shot. I don't think I got any in him at all but it's early and I didn't have my glasses on so I can't be 100% sure. If I totally missed the shot, he's going to skyrocket today.

Guys, what should I do?? Shoot half a dose and monitor every hour to make sure he isn't plummeting?? Help!
 
It's best to not give another shot. You can't be sure how much insulin got in. I know it's frustrating, but it's better for him to maybe go high today than go too low. He'll get back on track. :bighug::bighug:
 
It's best to not give another shot. You can't be sure how much insulin got in. I know it's frustrating, but it's better for him to maybe go high today than go too low. He'll get back on track. :bighug::bighug:
Agree with Carla. Not worth the risk. We have all done it (furshot). He'll come back down.

Sorry for the fur shot :bighug:. What a way to start the week.
 
Alright...thanks guys. :(

What a bummer! His pre-shot number isn't a nice one at all, so I'm really worried. But you're right. Ugh. He's gonna puke later, I know it. He always does when his sugar goes high. Should I dose him with Cerenia now so I'm prepared for it?
 
Furshots stink! I was an expert at them for a while not too long ago. Did you smell his fur after the shot? That is how I usually knew I did a FS . The others are right though, you just never know how much did get in and if you shoot again, you could overdose accidently. Better too high for a day than too low for a minute.
 
Furshots stink! I was an expert at them for a while not too long ago. Did you smell his fur after the shot? That is how I usually knew I did a FS . The others are right though, you just never know how much did get in and if you shoot again, you could overdose accidently. Better too high for a day than too low for a minute.
Oh yes. Very strong insulin smell. Unmistakable. :arghh:
 
I absolutely feel your pain!! I've been giving furshots more frequently recently (just had one Saturday night after a beautiful day of surfing :banghead:), and I have no clue why. It's definitely one of the worst, helpless feelings. I always think about giving him more insulin, but I know better than to follow through. :oops: Boo to furshots! I hope Max doesn't go too crazy high for you and comes back down quickly! Many hugs!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm being "mean" today and feeding him plain chicken and broth until his shot this evening. Trying to keep the carb count as low as possible. Look at this face trying to convince me to give him my NOODLES. Smh...
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    56.1 KB · Views: 148
I'm being "mean" today and feeding him plain chicken and broth until his shot this evening. Trying to keep the carb count as low as possible. Look at this face trying to convince me to give him my NOODLES. Smh...
How could you not give into that adorable smoochable face???
 
Back
Top