3/11 Max AMPS 330, gave shot late, questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mindy & Max

Member Since 2010
So...I'm hoping to at least find a temporary home for Max until things get evened out or he's OTJ...I'm just not able to give him the care he needs right now. Little kids and sick kitties just don't mix, especially when Mom is sleep deprived.

Anyway...he's been on Lantus for 5 days. Nothing has changed in his glucose numbers. They seem to be slightly less eratic (maybe), but they're still in the 300s. Do I hold with the dose (2 units), increase, or decrease?

And while I tested and fed him on time this morning, I failed to give him his shot (this is where sleep deprivation comes into play). My husband at least had a 2-hr delay this morning (he's a teacher), so he was able to give it to him, but it was 2 hours late. What do I do for tonight's dose? Do I give it at the normal time, but don't give the whole dose?
 
Anyway...he's been on Lantus for 5 days. Nothing has changed in his glucose numbers. They seem to be slightly less eratic (maybe), but they're still in the 300s. Do I hold with the dose (2 units), increase, or decrease?

Hi Mindy

the one thing that stands out for me, is the limited spotchecks for Max, understandably, busy household and humans need sleep, however, you're not seeing much because the spotchecks are not there to see what Max is doing with his numbers. Preshot numbers alone won't give you a clear picture.

A few options for spotchecks:
an "out the door" test in the morning, if you have to leave for the day.
an "in the door" test once you get in
a "before bedtime" test

other times when you are home, you'll want to fill in the blanks at +3 and +6

please refer to the curve chart from this link NEW TO THE GROUP
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

This chart is an example of whats going on in any given cycle with Lantus. It does not mean test every hour, so don't stress about that.
Just to give you some examples of key times to do a spotcheck, when you can.

Others will be along to offer more feedback, hang in there ok?
 
Thanks Ronnie...but about the only time I can do spot checks is on weekends, and that's if we're home. There is no extra time in the morning schedule...as it is with adding in the PS test in the am, I've been late to work every day this week. I have two small kids, and I work full time with a 40min commute each way. And Max is NOT liking the testing at all. I'm getting better with it, figuring out where to do it so I can hold him down better, but he's still not happy about it. I'm trying not to stress him out--I can already tell he feels awful. The look on his face last night made me want to cry. And at this point, the sleep situations have been bad this week...I'm extremely lucky I haven't stabbed myself or my toddler with the lancets--I am very tired and getting clumsier by the minute it seems.
 
Mindy:

You do not shoot a reduced dose. You would shoot 12 hours from the time you shot this morning. However, if Max's numbers are still in the pinks (or reds), you could shoot at what would be your new +11 (i.e., you could shoot one hour earlier). What I would suggest is to post at around +10.5, if you are home, and ask people to look at Max's numbers in order to determine if shooting an hour early is OK.

Will that work?

ETA: If you are really looking for someone to foster Max, put a note here and on the Community boards. There are members who have taken on a foster kitty.
 
Thank you Sienne.

I can't post at +10.5 as we don't have internet at home. We live in the middle of nowhere and have limited internet options...most of which are not worth the cost.

If I shoot a regular dose at the +12, then when do I do tomorrow's am dose? +12 at that time is when I'm already at work. Should I shoot an hour early tonight, then an hour "early" tomorrow am, which would be the normal shot time?

I did post on the main FD forum for a new home for Max, but not getting many replies (other than it'll get better in a few weeks...but if I can't manage to get him on a 12/12 schedule I don't see him getting regulated any time soon). The latest was the suggestion for a temporary home, which I'm open to if it looks like we can get him OTJ. Long-term I can't afford the insulin and supplies. I will put up a post for him here.
 
If I shoot a regular dose at the +12, then when do I do tomorrow's am dose? +12 at that time is when I'm already at work. Should I shoot an hour early tonight, then an hour "early" tomorrow am, which would be the normal shot time?

If it were me, I would do what Sienna suggested:

...if Max's numbers are still in the pinks (or reds), you could shoot at what would be your new +11 (i.e., you could shoot one hour earlier).

Therefore, move up an hour tonight and an hour in the morning and that puts you back on schedule. If he's not in the pinks or higher at +11, try again at +11.5.

I don't follow the Lantus board but I am trying to follow you and Max. I am the coordinator for Diabetic Cats in Need. I plan to answer you on your Health thread today, but I've got a couple of things to do first.

Please, breathe....deeply...a couple times. And get your shoulders down off your ears.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top