3/11 Logan AMPS 331, +6 312, PMPS 372

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Member Since 2009
Last condo (Tuesday):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8564

No change in Logan's numbers/eating/behavior/etc. Still fussy and still on the appy stimulant. We increased him to 6 units last night. We also started a new pen this morning - we weren't at 28 days yet but it was getting low so we figured we would go ahead and open a new one to be safe.

I'm trying to get Logan in to see a different internist. My regular vet said she'd see if that was possible. She agreed that I should get a second opinion since Logan is not doing all that well right now. His internist doesn't seem to want to try anything else right now. She wants to do everything she normally does with her IBD kitties. I don't think the pred is really working. Logan still seems to be nauseous and he's very fussy about his food. Something is causing him to be very resistant to the insulin - maybe it's the pred or the inflammation. Who knows?!

I also spoke to my regular vet about the acro and IAA testing. She said she's never submitted the tests before but would be happy to do so for us. I'll probably have the tests done in the next few weeks. She mentioned that she had a cat with severe IBD and nothing worked for it - she finally transferred him to an internist that works out the specialty vet's office (not the internist we're seeing) and he ended up trying a non-steroid with a couple other things and it worked. She said it might be worth talking to him about it to see if we could try it with Logan. If there is a non-steroidal treatment why wouldn't we try that first since he's diabetic?! I definitely want to try something other than pred...maybe budesonide since it's supposed to have fewer side effects and not cause as much insulin resistance.

I also ordered some samples of the feline's pride (raw) to see if Logan will eat raw. I have some reservations about the raw, esp since he's on steroids and is already recovering from a bacterial infection. Does anyone have any experience with raw/IBD/pred?

ETA: Logan got into the dog food this morning! He hasn't done that in ages. Unfortunately, Niam lets him eat out of his bowl. I don't think he had more than a few pieces, but I'm not sure.
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331

Good luck with the increase Kelly.
That is some positive news from the vet that they are willing to consider the acro/IAA testing as so many others just poopoo us away.
It also sounds worthwhile to check out that new internist. New eyes for Logan might
do the trick.
Hope he didn't eat too much doggie food.
I guess when that apy stimulant kicks in, he will eat almost anything.
Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331

I think it's definitely worthwhile talking to the internist. I wonder if the non-steroid treatment they are talking about is a chemo therapy/immune suppressing drug like Leukeran?

I would have some reservations about the raw as well. I know that it is highly praised as a treatment for IBD, but in a kitty who has already been taking steroids and may be immune suppressed (and especially with Logan's recent infection) I would use extreme caution. My vet didn't want Bear on raw at the same time as steroids. I am sure I have seen the same comments made here on the Board, but I can't put my finger on the link, unfortunately.
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331, +6 312

Linda and Bear Man said:
I think it's definitely worthwhile talking to the internist. I wonder if the non-steroid treatment they are talking about is a chemo therapy/immune suppressing drug like Leukeran?

I would have some reservations about the raw as well. I know that it is highly praised as a treatment for IBD, but in a kitty who has already been taking steroids and may be immune suppressed (and especially with Logan's recent infection) I would use extreme caution. My vet didn't want Bear on raw at the same time as steroids. I am sure I have seen the same comments made here on the Board, but I can't put my finger on the link, unfortunately.

It wasn't a chemo drug. It was Atopica. I haven't had time to look into this drug, though. She was just throwing it out as a suggestion since Logan is so insulin resistant.

I don't plan on giving him the raw while he's on pred. I just ordered some samples. I may see if he shows any interest in a spoonful, but don't plan on feeding it to him just yet. I ordered some ziwipeak (lamb and venison flavors) - I doubt he'll go for either flavor, but it's worth a shot. He'll eat a little of the natural balance venison and green pea food. He won't consistently eat it, though.

DH2B said Logan ate pretty well at lunch. He came down a little at +6...better than going up!
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331, +6 312

Ah, there's my second favorite grey kitty! Sorry Logan, but you come in 2nd, right behind Shadoe!

I hope you get some answers or somethings new to try with a fresh set of experienced eyes on Logan. And as for the IAA and IGF-1 tests, I am glad I had them done, even if they had both been negative, it's good to rule out a couple big things that could be contributing to the insulin resistance.

Going down at +6 is definitely way better than going up! But sorry that he pushed Niam aside to grab himself some of the dog food. I know it's bad, but it made me smile. I think if Logan were in a really bad way, he would not feel up to pilfering the kitty crack.

When will you be able to see the new persons with Logan?
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331, +6 312

Kelly & Logan said:
It wasn't a chemo drug. It was Atopica. I haven't had time to look into this drug, though. She was just throwing it out as a suggestion since Logan is so insulin resistant.

Interesting! That's the first I have heard of this drug. I have been Googling it, and it does look like it would be worthwhile considering it. I will be interested to hear what you decide.

Are you using anything for nausea, such as Ondansetron?
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331, +6 312

Linda and Bear Man said:
Kelly & Logan said:
It wasn't a chemo drug. It was Atopica. I haven't had time to look into this drug, though. She was just throwing it out as a suggestion since Logan is so insulin resistant.

Interesting! That's the first I have heard of this drug. I have been Googling it, and it does look like it would be worthwhile considering it. I will be interested to hear what you decide.

Are you using anything for nausea, such as Ondansetron?

I'm willing to try anything if they think it might be better for him. I just don't understand why she was so adamant we start with pred knowing it's one of the worst options for a diabetic. I have metoclopramide (sp??) but it doesn't seem to do anything. He also gets pepcid. I just sent the reg vet an email to see if she's found out anything yet!

I also found an all cats clinic in town (well, the opposite end of town!) and the vet there claims to be very experienced with both IBD and FD. I may ask for a consult with her (w/o Logan - no need to subject him to a long car ride until I know if she's worth it) if I don't get anywhere with the new internist.
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331, +6 312

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Ah, there's my second favorite grey kitty! Sorry Logan, but you come in 2nd, right behind Shadoe!

I hope you get some answers or somethings new to try with a fresh set of experienced eyes on Logan. And as for the IAA and IGF-1 tests, I am glad I had them done, even if they had both been negative, it's good to rule out a couple big things that could be contributing to the insulin resistance.

Going down at +6 is definitely way better than going up! But sorry that he pushed Niam aside to grab himself some of the dog food. I know it's bad, but it made me smile. I think if Logan were in a really bad way, he would not feel up to pilfering the kitty crack.

When will you be able to see the new persons with Logan?

No worries - I think Logan understands! :mrgreen: I feel the same way about the tests - I've asked several times - and I've asked ALL of the vets that we've seen! I just don't understand why they wouldn't run them to rule them out - they're much easier than ruling everything else out! :evil:

Not sure when I'll get in with the other vet...still waiting to hear back! We do think he's feeling better than he's felt in a while, Gayle. The dog food thing is definitely a good sign...just also a bad one! He's also back to trying to swat his salmon treats out of our hands before his test! He's a punk! :lol:
 
Re: 3/11 Logan AMPS 331, +6 312

Kelly,
Those are EXACTLY the signs that you need to carry you through those rough spots.
Logan may not be 100% back to his old self, but honestly, it has not been that long at all since all his past troubles! Logan's one tough fella, and no wonder the poor pup steps aside from his food :lol:

I had to push HARD and get more annoying than my usual annoying self, just to get the vet to start the process and run the tests. It is sad when I have to do the leg work, give the vet all the info about where to get the tests done, then harrass daily to see if the calls have been made.
Keep after them and don't take no for an answer. I also got tired of waiting for calls back, so I switched my tactic and just showed up in their office every single day after work. There is not a single employee who does not know Shadoe's bean's first name.
When they say they are gonna call, come right back with WHEN. And hold them to it. If I get told 3pm, I am on the phone at 3:01pm asking where is my call??

Scratches for Logan and a small finger shake for the pilfering ;-)
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
Kelly,
Those are EXACTLY the signs that you need to carry you through those rough spots.
Logan may not be 100% back to his old self, but honestly, it has not been that long at all since all his past troubles! Logan's one tough fella, and no wonder the poor pup steps aside from his food :lol:

I had to push HARD and get more annoying than my usual annoying self, just to get the vet to start the process and run the tests. It is sad when I have to do the leg work, give the vet all the info about where to get the tests done, then harrass daily to see if the calls have been made.
Keep after them and don't take no for an answer. I also got tired of waiting for calls back, so I switched my tactic and just showed up in their office every single day after work. There is not a single employee who does not know Shadoe's bean's first name.
When they say they are gonna call, come right back with WHEN. And hold them to it. If I get told 3pm, I am on the phone at 3:01pm asking where is my call??

Scratches for Logan and a small finger shake for the pilfering ;-)

It's ridiculous that we have to be so annoying and persistent. We already swear there's a flag in our file...after today, I think we'll have a few more flags! The reg vet spoke to the internist. She's (internist) going to consult with two other internists at the specialty vet's office. They're going to talk about a few other drug options. Something other than the pred that doesn't seem to be working too well. I got the feeling that she's not too happy with me, but hey, I'm not paying her to like me! She has no idea what I'm capable of...there are very few things in this world that I care this much about, but when I do, I will not stop! Whatever it takes to get Logan the care he needs and deserves.
 
Oh I like the idea of this other vet across town.
Might be worth a call and pay them a visit, without Logan.
It only takes the right one to set you on the right track.
Don't forget, I'm into 4 vets and not happy with any of them.
Hoping for some fresh new eyes at our Logan!
 
This sounds like possitive news that you will be getting some new eyes on the problem. I wish you the best of luck.
 
Kelly...we are all behind you ya know...I agree that you should try to figure out some other path for Logan. you certainly did give the pred enough time and it really isn't doing what you would hope it would. It is the definition of stupidity to keep doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different results....right? so NO ONE should question your or your motives in looking for another possibility for your boy.
We have to speak up for our kitties. Our vets go home to their own homes at night...WE are the ones who have to be the champions for our own babies. You are doing such a wonderful job ....and Logan is a lucky little guy to have you!
BTW, Raja is big boned....is that what you meant? Or was it Max that you were referring to..... :lol:

Max does take good care of Logan at these parties. He really tries to outwit Raja and Max but they are on to his act....they know to make him stop dancing and sit down for a rest. They both take their jobs seriously and don't let him get away with anything! Raja lectures him a lot too...so not to worry about him when he comes over.... :lol:
 
I hope the vet search will be successful. I think I sent you some names a while ago, if you need me to send them again let me know. My friend's cat had severe IBD and she LOVED his internist (and if the cat clinic you mentioned is the one I'm thinking of, that is TOTALLY where I would be taking my cats now if I still lived in Charlotte, at least from what I've heard).
 
Kelly:

I wondered where you've been!!

I can't speak to using raw in an immunosuppressed kitty. I did use the Feline's Pride and my guys liked it and the quality was good. I started grinding my own chicken and using a pre-mix for the add in nutrients. I felt like I had better control over the content and potential for contamination.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top