3/11 larry AMPS 411 PMPS 365

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/11 larry AMPS 411

Take him up to 2.5

Seriously if he doesn't start showing better numbers on this next increase. If he was mine I'd be thinking about another insulin change. He reminds me of two other cats Scratchie and Deb's Lucian both of which shooting Lantus was like shooting water.

Besides his numbers there's a couple other facts that makes me think either Levemir or PZI might be a better fit for Larry. If he is nadiring at +2-3 then he's not getting enough duration with the Lantus so Levemir might fix that since it has a later onset and a later nadir. Also the reaction to the shots..both Levemir and PZI are neutral base thus it doesn't sting like Lantus.

Or third choice if he doesn't start showing better numbers is to use a bolus to yank his numbers down to where the Lantus can get a bite and maintain them. But with him already being a pita about shots adding another one of a bolus insulin might make him even worse although the bolus would be a neutral base insulin.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/11 larry AMPS 411

A bolus is a fast acting secondary insulin given in addition to the long lasting one to quickly bring down the numbers before the long lasting one onsets. With Lantus you'd be using Humulin R because it would be out of his system in 2-4 hours. With my Autumn I use Humulin N because she's on Levemir and her onset isn't until +5 so the N is waning by +6-8.

Its tricky to use a bolus insulin and usually used as a last resort to gain control. Especially R because it hits so hard and fast

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/11 larry AMPS 411

oh ok. too bad its not N, i still have some. not sure if its still good. it worked beautifully for 8 hrs a day. he stayed in blue once i found the dose. he was playful and adorable. now hes better in other ways. he gets on the bed, looks out the window some. walks pretty well! mostly sleeps during his nadir :) hes more mellow/blah now tho. not sure which behavior is better, if one could choose.
 
Re: 3/11 larry AMPS 411

You can try using the N as a bolus but I would seriously reduce the Lantus dose because he'll have both working at the same time. And I would try it out during the day when you're around to monitor him closely.

If you want to give it a go tomorrow. I will make sure I'm around to watch over you. Just post before you shoot so I can guide you.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/11 larry AMPS 411

How it would work is you'd give a teeny tiny dose of N followed by his regular Lantus. SEPERATE SYRINGES..

And only use the N if he's sky high. Like this morning if this was Autumn I'd give a fat zero of N on one side of her neck and her .1 on the other side then test her every couple hours so if she starts free falling I could steer her with food.

With Larry I would start him with a fat zero of N (plunger resting on top of the zero line) and follow it with 1u of Lantus.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/11 larry AMPS 411

Well I only use a bolus to control big bounces with Autumn but IF you try it with Larry you're going to want to do it during the day when you can be with him all day to test.

Personally I'd try raising the dose first. If that doesn't help then changing insulins second and using a bolus as a last resort. Even with my multiple years of treating diabetic cats its my last trick to use and I still end up with sleepless nights making sure she doesn't tank. And the only reason I'm using it at all is because I'm working on changing her insulin again and its a stop gap. It is a very advanced technique.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top