3/11 KT AMPS 298 Experiment gone wrong...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning World! Yesterday

+11 - 328
AMPS 298

Boy I'm slooooow this morning - rainy, cold and time change makes a sleepy bean. Hopefully KT will show me some blue sky for a change! I'm tired of this yellow and pink! HEY KT - Listen --> I'm about to increase the dose a bit if we don't see better numbers quick!

After months of hounding DH to learn to test and shoot so I'll have a backup if ever needed, he finally agreed to try. He's as bad a needlephobic as I was when we got this 'dire beasties' diagnosis. I pull out the test kit and remembered I needed to show him how to load a lancet - pulled off top exposing the uncapped lancet - THUD, DH hit the ground behind me with a stress-induced paralysis attack. Luckily he just sat rather than going completely 'out', his legs paralyzed so didn't hurt more than his tailbone and his pride. So...now KT needs his shot AND DH needs quick potassium. I fix DH fizzy, give him first dose then, without thinking, pulled out the syringe to fill KT's insulin. When DH saw that, he DID go completely out bumping his head on the bookcase. Him testing or shooting just isn't going to happen but at least his brain TRIED - his body just won't cooperate. At this point, I guess KT will have to go everywhere I go if needed....as if I 'go' anywhere much anyway. :roll:

Thoughts and prayers as well as CELEBRATIONS today! Lots of babies have lower numbers today and Atticus/Monica are OTJ!!

BIG HUGS!
 
oh my. well so much for that hope, eh? i'm glad it wasn't worse.

one thing i've learned in all of this - i never realized punkin was quite so portable! i stick a spare litter box in the car and away we go. he hides under my seat of the car, but after making it all the way to colorado and back i know that he'll stop yowling and complaining before too long.

have a great day, lyresa!
 
I guess that's the thing about experiments, you don't know how they are going to turn out. So you definitely learned something from this one. :roll: I hope DH's noggin is ok. That's great that it's raining! :-D
Liz
 
Oh my gosh! Poor DH! Hope he's ok?

I tried to get my kids to at least learn how to give Cini an insulin injection and they both thought I was punishing them. I think it was their main motivation for living in the dorms for college. :lol:
 
Hi, Lyresa, I can't remember if I've visited your condo before! (I'm kind of new--only 2 months!) My goodness, what a morning you had! I hope that DH is recovering. You have a lot of people who depend on you and it sounds like you manage it all beautifully. I guess DH just isn't quite ready to shoot!

I am a dentist and I actually have fainted a lot when I give blood or have a painful procedure done on myself! I'm ok with giving shots to others (insert evil dentist laugh :lol: :lol: ). One time in school a professor used my arm to demonstrate how to start an IV. I fainted dead away. I think my fellow classmates got a lesson on IVs and on syncope!

Have a great day! :smile:
 
KT's just gonna wear his gold crown all day I guess....flat yellows....

I feel really bad about how the whole DH thing went because I've been hounding him badly and even gotten almost irate a few times. Now that makes him feel even worse about it....

At least his head's OK, that's rock hard... ;-)
 
I should have explained better above - one of the triggers for his 'rebel gene' periodic paralysis attacks is stress....(info in signature). His attacks usually happen very suddenly. :evil: :roll:
 
Practice makes perfect. When there is a will , there is a way.
Let your good hubby practice that skill on an orange for many times before doing it on the furry baby. Let him watch you do it every time if possible. Im sure one day, the good man will have an itchy hand & ask to do it himself.

If I can do all this sure nobody cannot! :mrgreen:
 
Oh, I'm so sorry about DH's attack. Yes, at least he tried. Maybe a little meditation before trying again?? I hope his head is feeling better!!
 
Hi Lyresa,
My DH is needle phobic too, and legally blind, so he can't give tests or shots either. But we do most of the tests together so that Rusty knows both his beans are there for him. And Edward knows what to do with regard to the tests and shots even if he can't do it, so in an emergency he could instruct someone else. If only Rusty could learn to test and shoot himself!!

Have a good evening and don't stress out your DH!!

Let's see some blue tomorrow, KT

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top