3/11 Hugo AMPS 299, +3 193 - booked a visit at new vet

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well he couldn't hold the green. The 2% LC Sheba I gave really raised his BG that much. :eek: From 5.1 to 7 mmol/l in one hour. He hasn't gone again to the litter box and is sleeping now. But it was that bad I had to wash his backside. That's Friday night for me!

Now that his BG is on the rise I think we'll call it a night and get some rest. We'll see what challenges tomorrow brings. Hopefully no big bounce from his short visit in the green. And shoo this nasty diarrhea.:facepalm: Good night from us!
 
Yay for green Hugo :D

I wanted to add my tips on dealing with the new vet for what it's worth - I find it best to leave them with the illusion that you think they are the experts. On that basis I wouldn't talk too much about getting advice from the Internet - they hate that! My approach would be to take in the TR protocol to show them and 'ask their advice' eg I have been changing his dose myself because I have been following this vet study, is it not good? Have I not been doing it right? I just want to do what's best for Hugo and this vet protocol seems like it's the best. Do you not think so? Why? Do you think I don't test enough to keep him safe? All very worried parent style. Let them see that you're committed, that you've done your research but also that you value their opinion highly (even when you don't). Hopefully that gets you to a place where they're on board with your chosen treatment. If not be sure to make them explain why (all confused parent style not at all questioning their judgement, just confused) and then if they still won't budge, as others have suggested nod politely and do what you want anyway.

In their defence on the dental there are a lot of vets that don't want to operate while numbers are too high, especially when you're not dealing with a specialist. Vyktor's was one of them. After a little while it became clear to them that we had to jump in and get it done so we did and a few weeks later Vyktor was racing down the dosing to OTJ - check out his old spreadsheet at the bottom of my signature.

I wouldn't push too hard on getting the dental done quickly on this first visit. You can't blame them for not jumping in to something they aren't comfortable with. Ask the vet where he wants Hugo to be at before they are comfortable doing the dental - defer to them for now and then, if we have trouble getting Hugo to where they want him within a few weeks once they know you both a little better you can pull more of the worried parent stuff and bring out the evidence of how much a dental can help and gently push them along with your worry.

I think you'll have much better results in a long term relationship with this sort of approach and, particularly if your choices in vet are limited, this is really important.

Fructosamine test is unnecessary but since they probably aren't used to people home testing and Hugo will be a new patient I would go ahead and have it done this once to give them some comfort. If they want another down the track you could question it then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top