Chubba (GA)
Very Active Member
Yesterday
Yesterday afternoon, we took Daisy (civvie) for another adequin injection. They are really helping her.
She goes once more to the vet next week and then we start giving them at home. But while we were there for her shot, the vet came out into the waiting room and discussed her bloodwork and Gizmo’s blood work. Daisy’s blood work looks really great. A few values were low, but she said most likely due to stress. Gizmo’s protein in his urine is within the normal range. I can’t remember the number and she didn’t have a copy at the time. So she isn’t worried about meds for kidney failure at this time ... just keep an eye on it. She wants to contact a specialist to discuss Gizmo before we move forward. The IGF-1 test came back. She couldn’t remember the exact number, but it was still high (in the 300s).
We are concerned about hyperthyroidism again and the possibility of pancreatitis. She did prescribe Cerenia for Gizmo to help with his appetite. I mentioned to her that I was thinking about skipping Gizmo’s shot last night due to him continuely dropping to low and us both needing some breathing room. She agreed that was probably a good idea and also said to skip if under 200 this morning and give insulin if over 200. Then call her this morning with an update so she had the info to talk over with the specialist.
So last night preshot came and Gizmo was 193. Knowing we were going to have a house full of people for my kids birthday parties, we decided that skipping was not a good idea. I went with 1.5 units and it was an uneventful night (nadir at 91). This morning he absolutely refused to eat anything and was 182 at preshot. Since he wouldn’t eat and I didn’t want to be stuck at home all day monitoring him, we went with a no shot this morning and I gave him the Cerenia. I spoke with the vet this morning and our plan is to continue with 1.5 units tonight as long as his appetite picks up. He was very willing to eat at +3 ... so that is a promising sign.
@carfurby - My husband did get in touch with the manufacturer of the insulin on Friday. They immediately asked for the patient name and doctor. So they knew it was for a cat and said nothing they could do about it. My husband basically told them that was ridiculous because they didn’t have a problem taking our money and giving us a damaged product. He asked to talk to a manager and was told no. Then the guy decided that he would see what he could do. He is contacting quality control and supposed to get back to us next week. I’m hopeful, but it’s not looking good.
ETA - still haven’t had a chance to add blood work - hopefully later today
Yesterday afternoon, we took Daisy (civvie) for another adequin injection. They are really helping her.


So last night preshot came and Gizmo was 193. Knowing we were going to have a house full of people for my kids birthday parties, we decided that skipping was not a good idea. I went with 1.5 units and it was an uneventful night (nadir at 91). This morning he absolutely refused to eat anything and was 182 at preshot. Since he wouldn’t eat and I didn’t want to be stuck at home all day monitoring him, we went with a no shot this morning and I gave him the Cerenia. I spoke with the vet this morning and our plan is to continue with 1.5 units tonight as long as his appetite picks up. He was very willing to eat at +3 ... so that is a promising sign.
@carfurby - My husband did get in touch with the manufacturer of the insulin on Friday. They immediately asked for the patient name and doctor. So they knew it was for a cat and said nothing they could do about it. My husband basically told them that was ridiculous because they didn’t have a problem taking our money and giving us a damaged product. He asked to talk to a manager and was told no. Then the guy decided that he would see what he could do. He is contacting quality control and supposed to get back to us next week. I’m hopeful, but it’s not looking good.
ETA - still haven’t had a chance to add blood work - hopefully later today