It depends. If your objective is OTJ, and as soon as possible, then yes, green nadirs are what you'd like. Lowering preshots with green nadirs and then lowering doses should eventually get you there. But if you can't monitor, and possibly bring him up if he drops lower than 50, then absolutely be more conservative. Or if you want to have a slower but possibly less stressful joourney, then be more conservative, with the goal of being under that renal threshold of 250. If you are hunting for regulation, then you want those double digits nadirs, but above 50.
It is up to you. But let us know, so we can guide you with better advice.
Good luck with the vet visit. I hope she will see the value of more frequent testing.