3/11 Frank AMPS 404, +9 333, PMPS 310. +3.5 352

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delma and Frank

Member Since 2009
It seems that Frank's BG is going the wrong way. It's like 2U is to little but 2.25U is too much. Has he earned a dose increase??

I would like to increase dose tomorrow AM to 2.25 and see where it goes. Hopefully increasing tomorrow AM will give me some ideas where we stand before I head back to work next Tuesday.

I need some help thinking this out.
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404- Question

I have a question, Are you shooting R? Just wondering because his numbers have hit high and low at +4, without much change in dose. Im jsut wondering what could explain such wonkiness? :dizcat
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404- Question

You need to hold your dose. These hideous numbers are a result of dose-hopping, dose settling, and potentially low overnight numbers. You can not respond to each number with a dose increase or dose decrease on Lantus or you will end up in chronic rebound and ultimately glucose toxicity. You have no spotchecks over several evening cycles, so you have no idea what is happening and can not respond to it. If he went low and you increase then you are courting hypo, so you see why increasing without the data could be dangerous.
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404- Question

I'm definitely no expert on dosing, but I agree with Carolyn. If it were me, I would hold the dose longer to wait for it to regulate. Looking at your SS, I'm not clear on how/why the doses have changed in the past week. Maybe I missed something?

It looks like Frank is rebounding. It takes some cats longer than others for the rebounds to clear. It used to take Magnolia anywhere from 3-7 days to fully clear a rebound. More spot checks will help.
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404- Question

Jen and Milo P. said:
I have a question, Are you shooting R? Just wondering because his numbers have hit high and low at +4, without much change in dose. Im jsut wondering what could explain such wonkiness? :dizcat
What is R?
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404- Question

Ok, glad you are not using R. R is a short acting insulin that can be very dangerous and should not be used without proper counsel from a senior member. Which i am not. ;-)
I agree with holding your dose. I am glad caorlyn got a chance to read Frank's ss. Please take into consideration the people's advice from this board over what is being told to you by your vet. Most vets have a habit of giving bad dosing advice. I am not bashing vets, I am just saying that Lantus will work properly when the protocal is followed. I would listen to Carolyn and hold your dose. :thumbup
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404- Question

Carolyn and Spot said:
You need to hold your dose. These hideous numbers are a result of dose-hopping, dose settling, and potentially low overnight numbers. You can not respond to each number with a dose increase or dose decrease on Lantus or you will end up in chronic rebound and ultimately glucose toxicity. You have no spotchecks over several evening cycles, so you have no idea what is happening and can not respond to it. If he went low and you increase then you are courting hypo, so you see why increasing without the data could be dangerous.

I would not have thought he'd go low overnight with numbers like he has had last few days. I suppose I am wrong. Ok, I'll hold the dose. I am off work next five days, I'll be able to test all day if an AM or PM BG is low, instead of shoot lower dosage which is what I have done on days I work...so I can be comfortable.
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404, +9 333, PMPS 310 Down?

nice. :smile:

Grab another test before bed. Last time he had a day like this, he ended up green at AMPS.
 
Re: 3/11 Frank AMPS 404, +9 333, PMPS 310 Down?

Libby and Lucy said:
nice. :smile: Grab another test before bed. Last time he had a day like this, he ended up green at AMPS.
Ohhh, I didn't see that. I always said 2 brains are better than 1.....

see you in the AM.
 
Also, it helps to keep in mind that there's a 10 - 20% variance in numbers due to measurement error in any meter. So, there really isn't a difference between you +9 and PMPS.
 

Attachments

  • louielove (2).jpg
    louielove (2).jpg
    53.7 KB · Views: 67
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top