3/11 Felix PMPS 92, +6 90

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/11 Felix +13-53 Stalling HELP, very tired

oops forgot my message...still no shot...his numbers are fluxing so much...hubby testing now for +13.25-only given tblsp LC at +13...wanting numbers to hit 60 before shooting regular 2u dose....IS THIS RIGHT!!!??? HELP
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13-53 Stalling HELP, very tired

Please wait for a dosing helper-In view of the 40 number you got last night, that would indicate a dose reduction of 0.25U to 1.75U. But wait for verification..
Again, Please wait for dosing help, but as of now you have 3 choices:
If you will be home, you can shoot a BCS( reduced dose like 1.00U) and keep monitoring during the day.
If you will not be home, you can skip the shot, and call it a fur shot, see where the BG goes, and start over tonite.
The third choice is to stall which you have been doing--Looks to me like he is surfing in the 50's...
Looks like something is working well here!!
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13-53 Stalling HELP, very tired

+13.25 63 Just shot 2u dose 1 hour late-couldn't adjust for time change this morning due to funky numbers....earned dose reduction hitting 40 or was that just a variance in meters?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13-53 Stalling HELP, very tired

Is someone going to be home today to monitor if you shoot ?
Do you have med carb, high carb food, karo, and lots of strips?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

Good morning guys .. lots of excitement in felix'x condo! I unfortunately don't have the answers to your questions, but I know before to long someone on here will ... but gorgeous numbers felix! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

yup, hubby & I both home today (thankfully) to monitor...plenty of strips & karo...just not enough sleep between the two of us.

Because I stalled an hour....should I not have given his full dose? I didn't think stalling & reducing the dose was wise in the long run...

How will I EVER start getting him ready for time change if he wonks out on me everytime ARRGGGG! :-x
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

Good morning. I have not posted in your condo yet so welcome. :smile:

A number in the 40's is an automatic reduction so the dose would be 1.75u.
I see you already shot 2.0u so it is good that you have supplies and will be home to test. Please get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

A drop in BG below 50 for a newly diagnosed cat earns a dose reduction. You could have shot 1.75u this morning. Please review the Tight Regulation Protocol so you have the guidelines for dose reductions handy. Please post at +11 so we can give you a hand with dose this evening.

Also, we're going to need to figure out how to get Felix on a schedule for daylight savings time.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

I figured he had earned a dose reduction, but didn't think I could do it this morning-thought it had to be tonight. Stupid tired. Soo...I should have only given 1.75 this morning, right?

Can you help me put together a schedule for DST? Felix doesn't seem to be helping....
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

Hi! I think it was probably OK to give his regular dose, since you had 2 rising numbers after the 40. However, they were barely rising and this is a pretty low range; you really have to be around to monitor him today. Did you feed him anything while you were stalling? Generally we don't do this, but I have read that if you have numbers in the 40s you should feed a little. If you have a situation like this in the future, consider giving a reduced shot. His shed would carry him through, and it would not take as long to replenish the shed as it would if you were to skip the shot.
Don't forget that your PMPS will be an hour later tonight because of the hour stall. Don't worry about the Daylight Savings Time thing. You can make that up after the fact.

You are doing fine. Good luck and don't worry!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. If Sienne or Libby or Laurie or Jill should give you advice different from my tentative advice, follow theirs!!!
p.p.s. Sorry, my post crossed with all the good advice you got from Miriam and Sienne. I forgot that below 50 for a newly diagnosed cat is an automatic reduction. So monitor closely today and give 1.75 tonight! Sorry 'bout that.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

Hi Ella- thanks for the post- I appreciate any and all info being one of the newbies to FDMB :smile:
Nope, didn't feed Felix while stalling- hubby was dealing w/while I slept until he got worried & woke me. We did give him a tsp gravy 15 mins before his late AMPS of 63- so it might have been inflated...arghh... will test and post in 5 minutes for a +1.

Sienne- if Felix drops below 50 again today/this morning, is that another reduction beyond tonight's 1.75 new dose?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix +13.25-63 gave dose 1 hour late

Nope -- you don't give 2 reductions back-to-back, at least not under ordinary circumstances. Generally, if you do that, the dose reduction doesn't hold. If numbers drop again, it's probably due to a shed that's overflowing. It takes at least a cycle for the shed to catch up with a new dose.

We're trying to figure out what to do for DST. The way things are going, it may be that you'll have to skip a shot but let's not get ahead of things. Felix appears to be on a mission.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65

I am LOL!!! Felix on a mission...yup, I found another grey hair this morning-pretty hard for a blonde to do!

Thank you to everyone for the help lately-we've been pretty needy lately. Hopefully we'll be able to return favors in the future :razz:

Sienne- Ok, no additional dose reduction today; will post our +2 and ask for help tonight at the NEW +11 (which will now be 7:45 p.m. w/ shot due at 8:45 p.m. due to my stalling this morning) Reading those times, makes me feel like I didn't do right by Felix- but we made a decision and have to live w/it,right :?:
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65

Hi again, Jenner & Felix,
You can move the shots by 15 minutes twice in a 24-hour period, or by 30 minutes once in a 24-hour period. Here is a sample for you to get on track--and in Daylight time--by Tuesday morning (using the 30 minute scenario):

tonight: PMPS = 8:45 P.M.
Saturday: AMPS = 8:15 A.M.; PMPS = 8:15 P.M. (set your clocks AHEAD Sat. night when you go to bed, so think of 8:15 P.M. as really being 9:15 P.M. in Daylight time)
Sunday (Daylight Savings Time): AMPS = 8:45 A.M. ; PMPS= 8:45 P.M. (at this point you have made up the hour you had to stall)
Monday: AMPS = 8:15 A.M.; PMPS = 8:15 P.M.
Tuesday: AMPS = 7:45 A.M. Now you should be on your usual shot times in Daylight Savings Time.

Good luck with the dose decrease and with the time change(s)!!

Ella
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50

Thanks Ella for taking the time to put a schedule together - I'll talk to Felix and explain to him that he needs to raise his numbers a bit by tonight so that his Bean doesn't go grey in a day. I'm a little cautious on using a 30 min schedule instead of a 15 min giving Felix's fluxing...but at this point, I don't think we have that option any more. Thanks bundles!
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50

Will do Laurie-testing in 15 mins-I'm having trouble getting blood from his ears- pretty poked over from yesterday. Haven't had to use a rice bag yet, usually rubbing does the trick. Felix is pretty disgruntled again this a.m.

He's due for another mini meal at 11:45 (due to the stall)- is it ok to continue w/ the feeding schedule? plus karo? or should I just feed him tsp HC w/gravy and no karo at his next mini meal?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50

Just FYI....that's a lot of karo, I generally use a drop or two and that gives a significant boost, about 1/8 tsp max. You may see a big zoom from that much karo...if so, it's ok, he will come back down. ;-)

I would not try to feed mini meals on schedule for now, as you are going to be feeding as necessary to manage his numbers. Keep posting each test, and we will make decisions on food based on where he's heading, ok?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50

so a karo-aholic is what I'll have on my hands, great!!! Thanks for the FYI- I thought I had been reading most use tsp karo when 40-50's..I'll do better next time. glad to have you on board for a bit..
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50

It's ok, don't worry about it! The first time I saw a 30 something, I plunked down a whole can of HC food :oops: ...we all learn as we go along. You're doing fine!

There's a few of us keeping a close eye on Felix, just keep posting updates as you get them and we'll help you. :smile:
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50, +2.5 58

I see the 58, nice. If you want to give him his regular mini meal, that's fine. Retest in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50, +2.5 58

Revising that.....I'm thinking add a tsp of gravy on top.

He may not spike from karo, or may spike later. I'd use gravy.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65, +2 50, +2.5 58

Ok you have had very good feedback from everyone--You did great today, and are holding it together..
The action of the insulin begins at +3, but as you are feeding these numbers, he will probably sail along today!-Kinda exciting!! Right??--He is in normal numbers, healing numbers today
Pretty great for a newbie!
As long as you have lc,mc & hc food, karo, strips & a meter, You are in control..
It is scary when you get low numbers sometimes, but You Did Great!
BTW Welcome to Lantus Land, in case I didnt say that- :lol: ;-)
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +2.5 58, +3.5 91

Laurie- didn't get your post in time to add gravy-fed mini meal w/no syrup. maybe add a tsp gravy when he finishes his meal.
BTW- why the gravy tsp? cuz he's in the 50's?

Roni & Mooni- it only feels controlled cuz the hubby's here to help- what a relief. The week gets long when he's not here to help through these "newbie moments". what a cliche, huh?! :-D
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +2.5 58, +3.5 91

BTW- need a reminder on lancet sizes again. we're using a 28 lancet for manual ear pokes...would it be easier with a different size? Smaller the number, bigger the needle? or other way around? thinking we need to incorp. a rice bag cuz I'm having diff. getting samples.

Throughout these past days, I've also noticed Felix shying away from his water bowl- he's been aspirating after drinking and i'm afraid he's asssoc. it with his bowl. I don't want him getting dehydrated, and haven't seen signs of it, but will continue drinking from maybe the tub or sink.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +2.5 58, +3.5 91

If you didn't give gravy, don't! It looks like the karo kicked in. How long ago did you feed?

The 50s are fine, I just wanted to see him a bit higher since it's so early in the cycle. This is the point when the insulin effect is strongest, so you often see bigger drops early. Does that makes sense?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +2.5 58, +3.5 91

Jenner & Felix said:
BTW- need a reminder on lancet sizes again. we're using a 28 lancet for manual ear pokes...would it be easier with a different size? Smaller the number, bigger the needle? or other way around? thinking we need to incorp. a rice bag cuz I'm having diff. getting samples.

Throughout these past days, I've also noticed Felix shying away from his water bowl- he's been aspirating after drinking and i'm afraid he's asssoc. it with his bowl. I don't want him getting dehydrated, and haven't seen signs of it, but will continue drinking from maybe the tub or sink.
I use 30 gauge lancets, they seem to work fine for us. Yes, the lower the number, the bigger the needle. The larger lancets are best when you are first starting out, but smaller seems less painful...at least to me. I would try the rice bag if you haven't.

As for aspirating water....have you talked to the vet about that? I would get that checked out. If you are worried about dehydration, add water to his food...I always do that anyway. Start with a little and experiment with how much he likes...some like it quite soupy, others not.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +2.5 58, +3.5 91

fed mm 3% w/ karo at 10:45 a.m.; 3rd mm 8% @ 11:45 a.m. w/no syrup

Am I fine to wait and test at +5 or +6?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +2.5 58, +3.5 91

I would test an hour after your last test....so +4.5. The karo generally doesn't last long, he may drop back down again.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +3.5 91 +4.5 96

His numbers are still up so I think we are going to give the beast a chance to nap and repreive on the ears till the +6.

Hubby
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +6 127

+6 127 hubby took over for a few hours...plan to post at +11 and start the new DST Ella suggested this morning
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +6 127

You did great today....so he dropped back down last night? Wow....he and Gracie should be great friends :lol: :lol: :lol:

One thing that might help the ears besides the smaller lancets (we also use 30g), is grab some of the Neosporin Pain Relief ointment. It really helps and it will
also bead the blood if you don't get all of it off. Don't get the cream...just the ointment.

Anxious to see what Felix has in store for tonight. Good luck on the dosecrease; and...I'm not sure if anyone answered your question this morning but say, for example, you had to stall but Felix had not dropped below 50. Then you are right..you probably would have wanted to shoot his regular dose because stalling is the same as a reduction. But since he did drop below, then he earned a reduction which you are giving tonight. Cool!!
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +1 65

Regarding the low preshot and stalling....I would really encourage you to post right away when you are confronted with a low number at PS time (or +11) and ask for help. That way, you have time to talk about options and figure out the best way to handle it. It's easier to have someone walk you through it the first few times, if someone is around to help. The sooner you post for help, the better the chance that someone will be able to help before you have to make a decision. We all needed help in the beginning, and we got it...so we are happy to pay it forward by helping others. :smile:

Marjorie and Gracie said:
...I'm not sure if anyone answered your question this morning but say, for example, you had to stall but Felix had not dropped below 50. Then you are right..you probably would have wanted to shoot his regular dose because stalling is the same as a reduction. But since he did drop below, then he earned a reduction which you are giving tonight. Cool!!

Each circumstance is different, there are a variety of factors to take into consideration, and there are a other options besides shooting the full dose after stalling. The fact of the matter is that in this case, *I* would NOT have suggested that you shoot the full dose after stalling if Felix had the same numbers but had not dropped below 50. You did not have the data to shoot a 63.

Please don't forget to reduce Felix's dose to 1.75u tonight.
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +6 127

Hi All! Had a cup of coffee and ran to the grocery to prepare for whatever Felix has in store for us tonight!

Will post our +11 in 30 minutes to get the ball rolling...hubby's in the kitchen making stir-fry for a late dinner...any takers? ;-)

Marjorie- yup, his numbers dropped again last night...i might have gone to bed too early. I'm not seasoned yet for this kind of night life. He's been in the yellows/pinks for the first three weeks that I got lax in worrying about whether I could safely go to bed at night. Life is always teaching us new things! We've also been using the Neosporin- but re-checked before heading to the grocery and saw it was expired. Bought new. Thanks for the tip.

Laurie- I am truly humbled by the way you (and others) have been able to pay the help forward these past days. I have no problem asking for help in an area I find truly overwhelming. But with help from the FDMB, my hubby, a hot shower, a good cry, and some ~O), things are starting to feel a little less stressful. (maybe .25 u less) :lol:
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +6 127, +11 115

"a posting we will go, a posting we will go"

testing at +11.5 and planning a 1.75u dose- right so far? based on numbers (FYI he had chicken jerky pieces as a treat 1.5 hours ago)
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +6 127, +11 115, +11.5 111

+11.5 111 what do you think? Are we on track for the earned reduction at 8:45?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix late AMPS 63, +6 127, +11 115, +11.5 111

111 is really the same number as 115, but wait for the go-ahead from Sienne or Laurie, OK?

Good luck! You have done very well today.

Ella
 
Re: 3/11 Felix PMPS 92

gave his NEW 1.75u dose at 8:45-even with 92. Plan to test/post at +1,2.

If we get two tests in a row with increasing numbers at 1,2, will we need to test into the early hours like last night?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix PMPS 92

Libby's suggestion in her "Dealing with Low Preshots" post is as follows:
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means "pay attention" over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

You fed him, correct? The evening shot of insulin won't begin to kick in until about +3, so it is important to have food on board. Post your +1 and +2 numbers and wait to see what the really knowledgeable people say. You may be up a little late tonight!

Ella
 
Re: 3/11 Felix PMPS 92, +1 107

Main Meal at PMPS, mini meal LC @ +1; plan to test at +2 and feed 2nd mm;

mini meals at 1,2,3 with protein snack at 6 except in p.m. cycles w/ +3 meal being a little larger...
 
Re: 3/11 Felix PMPS 92, +1 107

Each circumstance is different, there are a variety of factors to take into consideration, and there are a other options besides shooting the full dose after stalling. The fact of the matter is that in this case, *I* would NOT have suggested that you shoot the full dose after stalling if Felix had the same numbers but had not dropped below 50. You did not have the data to shoot a 63.

I agree with what Laurie said above and should have indicated in my response to you that I used the term "you" somewhat loosely and should have used "one" and "in general" as well as adding the caveat about having enough data. My apologies.....I shouldn't probably try to answer a question when I am dog tired after our marathon last night. I thought after these last months of doing these late nights, I'd be use to it but last night really whipped my patooty today! :lol: Nice shooting and nice food spike at +1...where will Felix go tonight?
 
Re: 3/11 Felix PMPS 92, +1 107 +2 100

I agree Marjorie- nice little food spike :smile: I think Felix may actually let us sleep tonight. I also appreciate your most recent post tonight. I know that there are some who offer support and some who offer dosing info. Its a big decision to help someone and then stick with them throughout the cycle. Everyone here at FDMB has been very supportive throughout our blunders and FD 101 school. :smile:

What do you think Laurie? Will Felix let us sleep tonight? We plan to spot check in the early a.m and post +11.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top