3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180 +1 260 +2 270

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/11 Eleanor +12 180 HELP

Julie....B-R-E-A-T-H-E

Did you feed her yet in the last two hours?

If not, I'd like to see you shoot this number and then get a +1 and +2 okay? You can do this. Regular dose. You've been working towards this.

If you don't have enough supplies, can't monitor, or just don't want to do it, your other options are:

1. stall and retest in 30 mins to see if she's coming up and then shoot full dose

2. shoot a reduced dose now but keep in mind the shed and cumulative nature of lantus will probably still have her doing the same thing she'd do if you shot a full dose

3. skip

What do you think?
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor +12 180 HELP

Hi Julie!

Yep, these numbers are what you want to see.....but they sure can be scary the first time you see them. I'm with Marj....I would shoot this and get some early cycle tests in. Then the next time you see a lower number you will be more confident about shooting it.. We have all been there....it is scary!!! Hang in there.
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor +12 180 HELP

Ok...two votes to shoot full dose....and since you haven't fed yet than you can do it as long as you have supplies and can monitor. Please let me know when you shoot and I'll check back at +1 and +2 okay? Yayayayayayayaa!!
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor +12 180 HELP

Julie - you CAN do it! This is a good number for Eleanor but still higher than where you want her to be - this shot will help bring her down a little more into even better numbers. I KNOW it's SCARY!!! nailbite_smile But celebrate the GOOD that's happening!!!

Breathe and SMILE! ...and test of course.... ;-)

BIG HUG!!!!
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor +12 180 HELP

Great decision!! I will be around this afternoon for another hour or so.....if you have any questions, just ask!
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor +12 180 HELP

So you have a few of us watching...we'll be here for you. If you have any questions or get worried, just let us know.

Great job!

ETA: once you shoot and change it to her AMPS, could you please also take down the "help". We're watching you but you can always put it back up if something worries you. :-D
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180

Gotta love the roller coaster ride :-D

You can do this! Mark this day and a few weeks from now when you are shooting a 100 BG reading think about what a pro you are versus the first day you were stressing about it. :lol:
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180

dancing_cat

WAY TO GO JULIE!!!!

just remind yourself that shooting low numbers is an entirely different game than higher numbers. this isn't exactly low, but the curve flattens out as the preshot numbers get lower.

great job!
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180

Well done! This is the best possible time to shoot your lowest number yet, daytime, Sunday, people around to help, you have the supplies. Eleanor will be fine as long as you test.
Liz
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180 +1 260

+1 260?? WHAT?? This is not the direction I thought this would go! What happened? I'm very upset now.
She ate 9-Lives Super Supper, but in the past it has not raised her bg more than 10 points.
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180 +1 260

Julie

It is totally possible she went lower last night and she's now on her way up ...bounce. Let's have you go ahead and get a +2 and that will tell us whether this is a food spike or not, ok. See you in another hour.
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180 +1 260

I doubt the Lantus has kicked in yet at +1 so this is possibly just a continuation of the PM cycle. It could be that Mr. Liver showed up and she's going to bounce. Whichever one happens, her body got a taste of a low number again. It's not ANYTHING you did or didn't do! After all, she IS a cat...
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180 +1 260

Okay. will get the +2.
I did have a really bad night, failed to wake up at +9 to feed her, she actually woke me up for food, which I did give her and she ate, I wasn't fully awake and part of my mind was thinking I should test her, as I fell back asleep. It was very unusual for her to be begging for food so I'm thinking maybe she did drop way down from her +5 of 239.

Thanks Lyresa, you know I'm blaming myself!
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180 +1 260

we've ALL done stuff like that. there's no way to know what happened during the night, so let it go. this is what cats do.

you're doing just fine. eleanor is looking very good, in fact.

if she's bouncing her numbers might continue going up through the rest of the day. if they do, they will also come down. no worries.
 
Re: 3/11 Eleanor AMPS 180 +1 260

+2 270. Bah!
Should I get a +3? Or wait til +4? How often should I test? El is getting mad about the testing, poor thing I jabbed her three times preshot to be sure that 180 wasn't a mistake!
I'm supposed to go to a cookout at the neighbors, I was going to cancel, but now I think I will go, it's just across the alley so I can go back and forth.
 
Go ahead and go have fun. You can get a +4 or even a +5.

Julie...you are not to blame for her numbers going up. When I said she may have gone lower last night, I don't think she went low enough that you would have needed to do anything even if you had been awake. I just meant she went lower than what her liver is used to...even if she went to 140, her liver would probably cause her to bounce. You did fine!

So give her a break and go have a nice time and test her in a couple hours :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top