3/11 4's BGS Need Dose Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

meand4

Member Since 2011
Hoping I got the subject line right...

Im curious about 4's BGS numbers. He seems all over the place to me but then again I dont know what I am doing. Would someone mind taking a look and let me know their thoughts?

Any and all help/advice is appreciated.

Thank you.
 
Re: 3/11 4's BGS are all over the place....

meand4 said:
Hoping I got the subject line right...

Im curious about 4's BGS numbers. He seems all over the place to me but then again I dont know what I am doing. Would someone mind taking a look and let me know their thoughts?

Any and all help/advice is appreciated.

Thank you.

The experts will come along, but consistency is extremely important with Lantus. Changing dosages and skipping shots will cause havoc. I can offer no recommendation on dose, but whenever I've had numbers all over the place, it's for two reasons. 1. Messing with dosages, and 2. Having a low unexpected number that causes the body to react and mess with the BG's. The experts will be along soon.

Good luck!
 
Re: 3/11 4's BGS are all over the place....

Put "need dose advise" in your header. I think the wise ones may advise you differently than your vet. Not too unusual as many vets do not have as much hands on experience as this collective board. Hopefully, a wise one will be by soon...
 
Re: 3/11 4's BGS are all over the place....

sehjak (Susan & Lanky) said:
Put "need dose advise" in your header. I think the wise ones may advise you differently than your vet. Not too unusual as many vets do not have as much hands on experience as this collective board. Hopefully, a wise one will be by soon...
Done thanks.
 
Hi, others will be by to suggest a good dose. As Jason said, you will need to find a dose that you are comfortable shooting AM & PM (12 hours apart) then it will take about 6 cycles (3 days) or so to see where 4 is at. This insulin is not an insulin you choose one day to shoot & the next night not.. or an insulin that you alter the dose daily. I understand from your spreadsheet your vet is advising not to shoot under a certain # & most likely that is the reason you are skipping shots, etc. the vet is your trusted medical expert so I understand you listening to her/him; however FDMB is much better at offering advice on dosing & I will only listen to the trusted advisors here. Someone will be by to give good advice on what dose to start at, most start at .5 or 1 unit, always better to start low & raise the dose if needed. Good luck & welcome!

**ETA you can look at your SS & see where you were giving 1 unit consistently for a few cycles, the PM #s began to get blue & that is good.. skipping the shot then caused the higher #s.
 
Re: 3/11 4's BGS are all over the place....

Hello, welcome to LL! I'm glad you found your way here! First of all, can you tell us your name if you don't mind? We're like a big family here...I like to know what to call people. :smile:

I see that you are shooting 1u, but the numbers are often too low for you to shoot comfortably so you are skipping a lot of shots. Lantus is a depot type of insulin, which means that it builds up in the system...this makes it important to try to shoot a consistent dose twice a day. When you skip shots like you have been, the shed (depot) gets depleted and the numbers go back up, then the next shot refills the shed and the numbers go down again...it's a constant roller coaster. I see that your vet recommended that you not shoot below 180...as Susan said, we shoot lower numbers than that here routinely....once you have the data to do so, which you don't have yet. What is often suggested here in situations like this is to reduce the dose a bit so that you can consistently shoot twice a day. That way, you can collect data and gradually get used to shooting lower numbers. I would suggest that you reduce to 0.75u.

There is a lot of info here to help you learn about Lantus and how we do things. I would suggest that you read all of the starred stickies at the top of the forum, starting with New to the Group and the Tight Regulation Protocol stickies. I know it's a lot to absorb, please feel free to ask any questions you might have. There are a lot of people here who are happy to help you along the way. I hope you will post often!
 
I am going to have to agree with Jason. Skipping shots can lead to erratic numbers.
I am wondering if you should lower the dose so you will be comfortable shooting twice a day but let's see what others think.

Edited: I just saw that Laurie posted to you.
 
Hi 4 and Me,
I'm not a dosing expert, but in looking at your SS I see that 4's numbers began to look pretty good after you started to give the 1 Unit dose. Then they jumped up drastically when you didn't give the evening shots. I know that this is what your vet recommended (no shot under bg 180), but it should be kept in mind that Lantus needs consistency in order to work properly. It takes a while to build the "shed" (deposit of Lantus under the skin). If you deplete the shed by skipping shots, most of the insulin given in the next shot will go into refilling the shed and very little will be used to regulate the blood glucose. My suggestion would be to pick a dose (1 unit looks to be the best one you've tried thus far, but I just see in Laurie's post that it might be better to go down to .75 of a unit) and stick with it for 5 or 6 cycles. Be sure to read the modified protocol that we use (in the "Stickies" at the top of the forum) and try to follow it. Some of our very knowledgeable people will be along soon to help you out with dosing. (Laurie has already given you lots of good advice; her post appeared while I was laboring over mine!!!)

Welcome to Lantus Land!

Ella & Rusty
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

We probably sound a bit like a broken record since I agree with most of the info you've been given. (At least we're consistent!!) I do think reducing your dose to 0.75u will, hopefully, allow you to shoot the same dose twice a day and get 4 off of the rollercoaster that Laurie described.

A quick question -- you noted that 4 is getting 3/4 to 1 cup of food per day. Is this dry or canned food? If it's dry, we will do our best to convert you to a low carbohydrate, canned food diet. If it's canned, do you know the carb count? PC is not a brand I'm familiar with and if it's President's Choice, I don't have it on a food list that has it's carb count noted.
 
I would be comfortable going to .75u and trying that for the 5-6 cycles....but what is 1 cycle? one shot?

Should I try that tonight? What number would you recommend is too low to shoot? I just dont want 4 to go HYPO.

Thanks for all the help.

Bast and 4 :)
 
Hi Bast,

A cycle is 12 hours. AMPS through +11 is the morning cycle. PMPS through +11 is the evening cycle.

Yes, the consensus is that you should shoot 0.75 of a unit this evening at PMPS. It is best not to skip shots. Get a bg reading at +11 this afternoon and post it if you think that the number is too low. That will give the experienced people here time enough to give you advice about what to do. In the meantime, read the "Stickies".

You are doing fine.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top