3/11/21 Haley - AMPS 270, +4.75 112,

Ty for replying. I tested her a third time at +5. She’s still at 67. Oh, 30 minutes after food. I’ll have to retest her in about 20 minutes. She’s sitting by her bowl. I think she wants more. I’ll test her first, in a bit.

I’ll have to look for those dosing protocols. Not sure until I see them.
 
Last edited:
Ty for replying. I tested her a third time at +5. She’s still at 67. Oh, 30 minutes after food. I’ll have to retest her in about 20 minutes.
How much of it did you feed her and when did you feed her the FF Gravy lovers? It takes 20-30 mins for the food to affect the numbers.
 
She earned a reduction. The new dose is 1.0 if high enough to shoot tonight. Have you decided if you will follow one of our dosing methods?
 
How high should be be? I haven’t found those dosing methods here yet. Would you be able to send me a screenshot of them, please? I’m still looking in the meantime.

After I test her again, can I give her more FF beef gravy lovers?

At +5.5 her number went up to 97 How often should I test her today? She’s gone into hiding at the moment.
 
After I test her again, can I give her more FF beef gravy lovers?
No need. You can feed her regular LC food now that she is well above 68.

At +5.5 her number went up to 97 How often should I test her today? She’s gone into hiding at the moment.
I think you can take a break from testing and test after a couple of hours to make sure she stays up after the high carb wears off.

Here's the link to our dosing methods:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
Ty so much. I just found the dosing info. Ty for sending it, also. It seems that we have been using the start low, go slow method. I’m comfortable with that since we made one adjustment and are tweaking it.

Just to be sure... what number should she be at before I give her another shot? Ty, ty, ty!
 
Just to be sure... what number should she be at before I give her another shot? Ty, ty, ty!
You go back down to 1U tonight. I think she will bounce from today's lows, but any number over 150 should be fine.

If you encounter a lower number than you are comfortable shooting, please post here and tag @tiffmaxee for help. Change the thread title to something like "Stalling! Please help with PM shot" or something like that.
 
I just tested her before I saw your last post, 1/2 hour after I fed her. She’s still at 90. The reflection of my phone has been shining on the wall and she’s been playing with it, even jumping high and running around so she sure seems like she’s OK.
 
Test BG is fine. A little lc and test in 30. On an AT meter if under 68 hc is needed. You want a BG close to 200 by pmps. You have shot 173 so around there.
 
OK that's good......test her again at PMPS time to see which way she's going.

If she still isn't above 150 at PMPS, continue stalling for another 20-30 and test again
 
Can you stall another 30 minutes? If she continues to drop, we may need to skip tonight or really need to change your shot schedule times
 
OK.....go ahead and feed her and test again in 2 hours....and your choices are to 1. skip and start with 1U tomorrow at 7:30, 2. if she's above 150 in 2 hours and you don't mind changing the shot schedule to 9:30 or 10, shoot the 1U then and work your way back to your 7:30 schedule
 
Ok. Will test in 2 hrs.

Will she be safe if I skip?

What are the chances she’ll be over 150 in 2 hours?

I don’t mind changing the shot schedule to 9:30. Can I leave it at 9:30?
 
I’m afraid to take the chance to skip since her numbers have declined.

It’s fine to give her shots later. I thought, before, that if I’m up late, she wouldn’t be alone so long. I know I’ll be up checking on her anyway
 
Well let's see where she's at at 10pm (since you stalled for 30 minutes from 7:30-8:00) two hours since food would be 10pm

If you shoot at 10 tonight, you can shoot at 9:30 tomorrow (if she's high enough), then 9:00 on Wednesday, etc. etc. if you want to go back to the earlier time
 
On second thought, I think it’s best if I stay at 7:30. That’s when all the kitties are used to eating and I don’t want to put her eating off any longer than I have to.

Would you mind helping me with the times that I need to back off to get her back to 730?
 
Hi. You can shoot 30 minutes early every 24 hours, either all at one time or 15 minutes each cycle to get back to the time you want.
 
How often should I test her today?

There's no pat answer other than "as often as possible, within reason and depending on your circumstances".

With her dropping into a low blue, I'd try to get a +6 and maybe a +9....unless the +6 has her a lot lower (in which case you'd need to test more often)

Just some housekeeping....We start a new thread every day here and each one usually starts with the subject line including Date/Cat's name, AMPS ### .....and then as you get more tests, you edit the subject line to keep it up to date. That way people who scan the forum can quickly see how each cat is doing and if they see something worrisome, they can start there.
 
There's no pat answer other than "as often as possible, within reason and depending on your circumstances".

With her dropping into a low blue, I'd try to get a +6 and maybe a +9....unless the +6 has her a lot lower (in which case you'd need to test more often)

Just some housekeeping....We start a new thread every day here and each one usually starts with the subject line including Date/Cat's name, AMPS ### .....and then as you get more tests, you edit the subject line to keep it up to date. That way people who scan the forum can quickly see how each cat is doing and if they see something worrisome, they can start there.
Ty, Chris. Sorry. I forgot about that.
 
She’s been dropping since her PMPS. She’s now at 130 at +4. Should I test at +6?
Yes, if you can that would be great. What is your feeding schedule like?

And can you please change this thread title to reflect today's numbers? Still says
STALLING! NEED HELP!
 
I feed her before her 7:30 shot. I don’t really have a feeding schedule. I have 3 kitties including one other sick one. I feed them when they follow me into the kitchen for food. Sometimes Haley comes and sometimes not. I offer her food wherever she is and she usually eats.
 
Her PMPS was 109. I didn’t give her her shot. I panicked and gave her some FF beef gravy.
Sorry, I am only just seeing this. 109 is within the normal BG range of a cat on an AT meter. You did not need to feed HC. Normal LC would do. Especially if you are not giving insulin.

I am wondering if you want to look at a lower dose that you can shoot consistently AM and PM. Her numbers are good after 2 skipped doses. Maybe 0.5U or 0.75U?
@tiffmaxee

Shirley, I have to again ask you to start a new thread each day. They become too long for us to read otherwise! Thank you. :-)
 
It’s ok. Chris was helping me too per FB messaging. She told me the same thing, afterwards. Her messages weren’t going through and I panicked.

I don’t know enough to decide on what dose she should have, to be honest.

Sorry. I didn’t mean to not do a new thread. I don’t see where to start a new one. I’m using my iPhone so I don’t know if that makes a difference in what I see. Since I didn’t see that, I thought changing the subject line was doing that. I’m still learning. I just saw it
 
Last edited:
Back
Top