3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200 PMPS 419 bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135

Helen, make sure you get some early tests today, I think this is the lowest you have shot Rosy.

tortie58 said:
And may I know how do you control with the prick so that the needle doesn't go through the ear? I've just found out that my pricking is a pierce :oops: on Rosy's ear!

Don't worry about it, I go all the way through sometimes too and it doesn't seem to make any difference to how Vyktor feels about it. I have thought about putting an earing in in him when I do that :lol: Are you using a lancing device or freehand? If you are using a lancing device and you find that you have plenty of excess blood when you prick you can turn it down a bit. They usually have adjustable numbers which refers to the depth of the prick.
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135

If this is the first time you'e shot this low, please make sure to get a +2 and +3, and probably a +4, too, depending on where she's at.

I put the rice-filled sock behind Atticus's ear when I test him, but every now and then the lancet still goes all the way through. He doesn't seem to mind it, though.
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135

i think we've all pierced our little one's ears. you're trying to poke at the edge and it's so thin there. a couple of times i've had no blood show up, but saw it on the other side and thought "hey, i'll just flip over his ear for the sample!" :lol:

yes, please test and repost your tests in the subject line. we'll be watching for you. this is great, we just want to keep rosy safe.
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135

Great number for Rosy!! About poking the ears... if you aim for a 45 degree angle towards the inside of the ear, that can help with not poking all the way through the ear (I free-hand the lancet). If you do pierce the ear, though, it's OK - the important thing is that you get a sample! Rosy will adapt!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135

very nice start for Rosy this morning. What nice shade of blue! I agree too with what has been said about the ear pokes. it\'s all good. I hope Rosy had a good cycle today.
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135

Lovely AMPS!

Yeah, I'm sure we've all pierced our kitty's ears. In fact, last fall, I pierced my own ear (yet again) in honor of Trix's tolerance for all the ear pokes. As I said then, we are Pokie Sisters forever!

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135

Monica and Atticus said:
If this is the first time you'e shot this low, please make sure to get a +2 and +3, and probably a +4, too, depending on where she's at.

I put the rice-filled sock behind Atticus's ear when I test him, but every now and then the lancet still goes all the way through. He doesn't seem to mind it, though.

Michelle and Mannie said:
very nice start for Rosy this morning. What nice shade of blue! I agree too with what has been said about the ear pokes. it\'s all good. I hope Rosy had a good cycle today.

Melissa and Bailey said:
Great number for Rosy!! About poking the ears... if you aim for a 45 degree angle towards the inside of the ear, that can help with not poking all the way through the ear (I free-hand the lancet). If you do pierce the ear, though, it's OK - the important thing is that you get a sample! Rosy will adapt!! cat_pet_icon

julie & punkin said:
i think we've all pierced our little one's ears. you're trying to poke at the edge and it's so thin there. a couple of times i've had no blood show up, but saw it on the other side and thought "hey, i'll just flip over his ear for the sample!" :lol:

yes, please test and repost your tests in the subject line. we'll be watching for you. this is great, we just want to keep rosy safe.

Vyktors Mum said:
Helen, make sure you get some early tests today, I think this is the lowest you have shot Rosy.

tortie58 said:
And may I know how do you control with the prick so that the needle doesn't go through the ear? I've just found out that my pricking is a pierce :oops: on Rosy's ear!

Don't worry about it, I go all the way through sometimes too and it doesn't seem to make any difference to how Vyktor feels about it. I have thought about putting an earing in in him when I do that :lol: Are you using a lancing device or freehand? If you are using a lancing device and you find that you have plenty of excess blood when you prick you can turn it down a bit. They usually have adjustable numbers which refers to the depth of the prick.


I am doing the prick by freehand as I find it easier to control the "punch", using a 21G needle. The info on aiming the 45degree angle in helped a lot.
Thankyou!
I hope someday there will be a new devise which dont need blood for the bg test :lol:
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

like one of those thermometers that you just aim at the forehead and don't even touch. that'd work for me! what a great idea!
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

+3.5 200 Rosy walked from the blue to the yellow zone.

Question:
Anybody know if the Wiskas 400g can Chicken with Salmon Loaf style is a low carb? How can I find out the carb? Most canned food sold in HK are mostly the tiny gourmet Japanese ones with unknow properties (written in Japanese).

An update on the transition for the rest of the 20 dry food junkies:
Instead of free feeding a buffet of dry food. The buffet table is removed. 3 meal of canned food served everyday at fixed hours + steamed chicken fed before bedtime. Occasional dry food fed to those hard core dry food fans in between. Very difficult to get them to change but I can see a progress. However the canned food consumed is not much everyday when compared to dry and mummy is exhausted already. So difficult for me to turn down those faces asking for their "usual" dry food.
I am still using the fish type canned although it is not a good choice but I need to bring in the change to chicken or other games slowly.


helen
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

so she might be bouncing.

just checking, though - because sometimes it's easy to miss what people post earlier. whenever you shoot insulin in a number that's lower than you've shot before, you always want to get a test 1 hour and 2 hours after the shot. sometimes a cat will have a drop in BG - and we don't want rosy to drop too low. even if that hasn't happened before, it can happen unexpectedly.

great job on getting the food transition - especially on the addicts! :lol:

i don't know about that food. in general, the ones that come out of the can in a solid chunk with just a little bit of broth around them are the lower carb ones. i'm not sure if that's true in all of them, but the ones i've seen are like that.
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

Hi Helen

I just want to follow up on Julies comments which are really important. A typical lantus curve should have a food spike at +1 and the +2 number should be about the same as the preshot. If it is lower, than you should be prepared for an active cycle. We recommend that you get a +2 for absolutely as many cycles as you can. Also, when you shoot one of your lowest numbers for the first few times, it's important to get a +1 and make sure kitty is getting a food spike. :-D
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

tortie58 said:
+3.5 200 Rosy walked from the blue to the yellow zone.

Only just!

[/quote]
Question:
Anybody know if the Wiskas 400g can Chicken with Salmon Loaf style is a low carb? How can I find out the carb? Most canned food sold in HK are mostly the tiny gourmet Japanese ones with unknow properties (written in Japanese). [/quote]

Not sure if it's on Binky's List which is here http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html maybe some of it will be useful. No good to me in Australia :sad: I have seen people saying that the whiskas loaf varieties are lob carb but do not know this for sure for myself. I have a can of the chicken and salmon in fornt of me now but it is made in australia so there is no guarantee that the can you have is exactly the same as mine. The only thing my can contains that could be questionable is gelling agents but it does have the contact details for the manufacturers in Australia and New Zealand. Is your can in English or Chinese? If you can't understand it can you get someone to translate it for you? Then you could just contact your manufacturers to ask what is the gelling agent, maybe list the ingredients here first so we can see if your can contains anything else that could be questionable that is not in my can.

[/quote] An update on the transition for the rest of the 20 dry food junkies:
Instead of free feeding a buffet of dry food. The buffet table is removed. 3 meal of canned food served everyday at fixed hours + steamed chicken fed before bedtime. Occasional dry food fed to those hard core dry food fans in between. Very difficult to get them to change but I can see a progress. However the canned food consumed is not much everyday when compared to dry and mummy is exhausted already. So difficult for me to turn down those faces asking for their "usual" dry food. [/quote]

I think I recall reading somewhere that cats will eat less wet food than dry. I think it's because the calories are higher in the wet food. Not 100% sure about that though. If you want to be confident that your clan is not losing weight perhaps you could keep an eye on the weights of a sample of them - maybe 4 or 5 of your cats could be weighed each week or each fortnight to make sure they are maintaining their weight - unless they're fatties ;-)
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

[quote="tortie58

An update on the transition for the rest of the 20 dry food junkies:
Instead of free feeding a buffet of dry food. The buffet table is removed. 3 meal of canned food served everyday at fixed hours + steamed chicken fed before bedtime. Occasional dry food fed to those hard core dry food fans in between. Very difficult to get them to change but I can see a progress. However the canned food consumed is not much everyday when compared to dry and mummy is exhausted already. So difficult for me to turn down those faces asking for their "usual" dry food.
I am still using the fish type canned although it is not a good choice but I need to bring in the change to chicken or other games slowly.
helen[/quote]

Hi Helen!
I so understand your dry food junkie comments ;-)
My kitties were on dry food all their lives, and then Kitty was diagnosed with diabetes in December. Both Kitty and Joey are big size wise, Kitty too fat actually and he has been loosing weight now.
So, conversion to wet food started some weeks ago. Joey had no problems whatsoever to start eating canned food - of course! Kitty, on the otherhand, stubbornly waited for dry food feeding. So frustrating!! :twisted:
After seeing that Kitty was slowly having more canned food last week, 4 days ago I just left all dry food out from their diets. I do think that Kitty eats less wet food than dry food, but I think his food intake has been increasing in the past few days. He is perhaps realizing that he is not getting any dry food any more. ;-) So, I have needed to increase the daily portions which now is 1 can of Gourmet Gold (= Fancy Feast) and half a can of Vom Feinsten (Joey is not great fan of Gourmet Gold) each morning and evening. Not sure what is the right amount, but this does not feel too much yet. So, we are still learning.

I now see HUGE change in Kitty's BG levels after going to wet food only. I even skipped 2 shots Fri/Sat because the pre-shots were so low. Now we're trying figure out what is the right Lantus dose going forward. Seeing the blues and greens is so encouraging!

Good luck with changing the diets!
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

worldtraveller said:

Not sure if it's on Binky's List which is here http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html maybe some of it will be useful. No good to me in Australia :sad: I have seen people saying that the whiskas loaf varieties are lob carb but do not know this for sure for myself. I have a can of the chicken and salmon in fornt of me now but it is made in australia so there is no guarantee that the can you have is exactly the same as mine. The only thing my can contains that could be questionable is gelling agents but it does have the contact details for the manufacturers in Australia and New Zealand. Is your can in English or Chinese? If you can't understand it can you get someone to translate it for you? Then you could just contact your manufacturers to ask what is the gelling agent, maybe list the ingredients here first so we can see if your can contains anything else that could be questionable that is not in my can.

[/quote] An update on the transition for the rest of the 20 dry food junkies:
Instead of free feeding a buffet of dry food. The buffet table is removed. 3 meal of canned food served everyday at fixed hours + steamed chicken fed before bedtime. Occasional dry food fed to those hard core dry food fans in between. Very difficult to get them to change but I can see a progress. However the canned food consumed is not much everyday when compared to dry and mummy is exhausted already. So difficult for me to turn down those faces asking for their "usual" dry food. [/quote]

I think I recall reading somewhere that cats will eat less wet food than dry. I think it's because the calories are higher in the wet food. Not 100% sure about that though. If you want to be confident that your clan is not losing weight perhaps you could keep an eye on the weights of a sample of them - maybe 4 or 5 of your cats could be weighed each week or each fortnight to make sure they are maintaining their weight - unless they're fatties ;-)[/quote]


Hi Serryn,

The Wiskas I fed them last night, the Chicken w Salmon lof style is an Australian made. Most probably like the one you are having. The can is in English but there is no indication on the carb content. Yes, there is jelling which probably , starch? Even if it is not a low carb but already much better than the dry food Rosy's used to have.
Is there a standard letter which we can use to email the manufacturer?
The Binky's listed is not found in HK. I'm thinking about preparing home cooked meal in addition to the standard canned for them.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Helen

I just want to follow up on Julies comments which are really important. A typical lantus curve should have a food spike at +1 and the +2 number should be about the same as the preshot. If it is lower, than you should be prepared for an active cycle. We recommend that you get a +2 for absolutely as many cycles as you can. Also, when you shoot one of your lowest numbers for the first few times, it's important to get a +1 and make sure kitty is getting a food spike. :-D

Yes, Marjorie and Gracie. Thankyou for the info.
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

Since the version you are feeding is made in Australia I will find out for you about the gelling agent. It may not be starch it might be plant based :smile:
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200

Vyktors Mum said:
Since the version you are feeding is made in Australia I will find out for you about the gelling agent. It may not be starch it might be plant based :smile:


Thankyou Serryn, Ive found a supplier here with Australian made Wiskas. I may have to stock up a bit more since the supply is not consistant.
Helen
 
Re: 3/11/12Rosy AMPS 135/ +3.5 200 PMPS 419

PMPS 419 stepped in the red zone.

Ive just got a new Bayer Breeze2 meter ( was using an old one borrowed from friend. Decided to take a comparison test between the old meter Vs the new meter from that same prick 419 Vs 401)
Tomorrow I'll be using the new meter. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top