3/10 - Xander | Update: All good. +10 <40, 116 @ 8:46 - Stalling PM dose

Looks like hes headed in the right direction Go Xander!! :)
Some blues AND greens (surprise! surprise!) today! Three days running with blues and greens. Good job Xander!
I spy a green!! :D:D

Definitely saw green and even some lime!

Never had the Libre go under 40 before (at which point it just says "LO.") I gave him 2 tsp total of food that I thought was ~14% but was apparently 12%. Waited about 15 minutes after the second tsp and it wouldn't move above LO. Gave him 1 tsp of 15% at 6:41 and hit 50 at 6:50. He's at 52 now.

Not sure how I'm gonna feel about his PM dose at 8:30 (an hour and a half from now). :nailbiting:
 
Whoa, Xander! What do you do (about decreasing) when he's that low on the Libre?? Do you count that as "the" number? I know they say to try to get a hand meter reading, but that doesn't work with him, does it? I'm glad he's heading back up.
 
Whoa, Xander! What do you do (about decreasing) when he's that low on the Libre?? Do you count that as "the" number? I know they say to try to get a hand meter reading, but that doesn't work with him, does it? I'm glad he's heading back up.

Yup, it makes it awfully difficult! lol :( I know the Libre usually reads low on the low end, so he's probably not quite as low as it says. The one time I was able to directly compare a green number the Libre was 10 lower than the handheld. But since I can't actually be sure, I figured I'd reduce when he goes under 50 anyway just to be safe. Since the Libre thinks he went under 40 today then I guess he definitely earned a reduction with TR even ruling out the variance! Does that make sense?

He was going back up but now he's gone back down to 45. Nervewracking. He seems totally fine though. Think he's just excited about getting the yummier food. lol
 
Yup, it makes it awfully difficult! lol :(I know the Libre usually reads low on the low end, so he's probably not quite as low as it says. The one time I was able to directly compare a green number the Libre was 10 lower than the handheld. But since I can't actually be sure, I figured I'd reduce when he goes under 50 anyway just to be safe. Since the Libre thinks he went under 40 today then I guess he definitely earned a reduction with TR even ruling out the variance! Does that make sense?

He was going back up but now he's gone back down to 45. Nervewracking. He seems totally fine though. Think he's just excited about getting the yummier food. lol
why don't you throw your "?" up in the title and ask for some advice--what you're saying makes perfect sense to me, but I'd ask an expert
 
why don't you throw your "?" up in the title and ask for some advice--what you're saying makes perfect sense to me, but I'd ask an expert

Will do! Also updated my title to reflect the new low. I'm pretty sure it was @tiffmaxee who recommended that I just take decreases under 50 on the Libre since I can't be sure about it, and that he'd be safe as long as I did that.

Really uncomfortable about having his PMPS coming up in like 40 minutes and his dose half an hour later while he's still hanging around the 50 mark. :nailbiting: He does like to do this right at the end of cycles.
 
How long to shot time from when you fed that 15%? And can you shoot late tonight and still be OK shooting that same amount late tomorrow morning? You do want a couple hours after HC before shooting when he's this low.
 
How long to shot time from when you fed that 15%? And can you shoot late tonight and still be OK shooting that same amount late tomorrow morning? You do want a couple hours after HC before shooting when he's this low.

The last 15% I fed was an hour and 6 minutes before his next shot time. I could shoot a couple of hours late and do the same tomorrow morning.

I'm not sure at what point it should be considered safe, since he seems to go up a little and then go right back down. So far I'm still just fighting to keep him above 50.
 
OK, let's just see what he does with that last 15% in the next little while. Often late in the cycle you can give lower carb food and still bump them up, as the insulin effect is starting to fade. Paws crossed he gets the message.
 
OK, let's just see what he does with that last 15% in the next little while. Often late in the cycle you can give lower carb food and still bump them up, as the insulin effect is starting to fade. Paws crossed he gets the message.

Okay. It's been 15 minutes and he hasn't gone back below 50 yet. If he dips again, should I switch back to his regular 3% food? He would normally be getting his dinner in about 25 minutes from now.
 
HC can wear off after two hours, and have the numbers come down again. You don't want to shoot a food influenced number. Try waiting 20-30 minutes and see what happens. If he starts zooming up from here then you could shoot earlier.
 
Nah, I'm up (its only 10:30 here)--making sure Jude's nadir doesn't go too low.
I'm so glad Xander is going up. It's a bummer when they are in the pinks and yellows for so long, but THESE low experiences are :nailbiting:

I still appreciate it! :) I hope Jude stays safe tonight too. Strangely, I was less stressed today by these lows than I have been in the past with higher numbers.
 
That's much better. Have you fed anything yet? If not, I think you can shoot (new reduced dose) and feed dinner. He might be trending down without dinner.
 
Another update... Libre did fall off. :rolleyes::facepalm: Just replaced it, but no super reliable readings for 12 hours. We also put his new Thundershirt on. He hates it and will more than likely get out of it before morning. I feel bad, but it was the last thing we could really try that he might not be able to get out of like he can with everything else. Wish he'd just stop biting them so it wouldn't be necessary.
 
Back
Top