gigiviolet
Member Since 2014
Hi! Tiger is having his dental today, "Mom" is freaking out a little bit 
I wanted to post yesterday to get your thoughts beforehand...I wish there were 3 or 4 of me
We definitely need a nanny. Along with my kitty cat circus, I have a "special needs" 14.5 yr old dog. I'm quite crazy, but utterly harmless.
Tiger's AMPS was 276. I gave him a tsp of food and 1/4 dose Lantus (vet said give 1/2 dose, but I chickened out!). I'm more concerned about low numbers during surgery than higher ones. Note: the couple of times that we had a partial fur shot - BG dropped into 90's. Depot adjusting? If so, might 1/4 dose cause lower numbers than 1/2 dose? Thanks Lantus
Tiger was dx'd diabetic Feb 6th (appointment for dental, but vet wouldn't do anesthesia with high BG) based on fasting BG of 373 and being somewhat "dehydrated". (Note: he's had a chronic abscessed tooth root since November!). The vet today (not the one who dx'd Tiger) said she would never dx a cat diabetic and start insulin based solely on in clinic BG. Any expert thoughts on this? She said Tiger should have been put on a "diabetic" diet. (Referring to "prescription" diet?) I told her he's eating Weruva (Paw Lickin Chicken)(3-4% carb) and I've started making Dr. Pierson's homemade diet. This meant nothing to her...she reiterated that he needed the "diabetic" diet (and possibly doesn't need insulin).
The vet said she would do pre-anesthesia screening and give me a call before proceeding today. I reminded her to check BG, especially around +3ish when Tiger seems to nadir.
Any thoughts you can share would be genuinely appreciated. Tiger & I are so lucky to have your support and kindness.
Have a wonderful day!!
I wanted to post yesterday to get your thoughts beforehand...I wish there were 3 or 4 of me
Tiger's AMPS was 276. I gave him a tsp of food and 1/4 dose Lantus (vet said give 1/2 dose, but I chickened out!). I'm more concerned about low numbers during surgery than higher ones. Note: the couple of times that we had a partial fur shot - BG dropped into 90's. Depot adjusting? If so, might 1/4 dose cause lower numbers than 1/2 dose? Thanks Lantus
Tiger was dx'd diabetic Feb 6th (appointment for dental, but vet wouldn't do anesthesia with high BG) based on fasting BG of 373 and being somewhat "dehydrated". (Note: he's had a chronic abscessed tooth root since November!). The vet today (not the one who dx'd Tiger) said she would never dx a cat diabetic and start insulin based solely on in clinic BG. Any expert thoughts on this? She said Tiger should have been put on a "diabetic" diet. (Referring to "prescription" diet?) I told her he's eating Weruva (Paw Lickin Chicken)(3-4% carb) and I've started making Dr. Pierson's homemade diet. This meant nothing to her...she reiterated that he needed the "diabetic" diet (and possibly doesn't need insulin).
The vet said she would do pre-anesthesia screening and give me a call before proceeding today. I reminded her to check BG, especially around +3ish when Tiger seems to nadir.
Any thoughts you can share would be genuinely appreciated. Tiger & I are so lucky to have your support and kindness.
Have a wonderful day!!