3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC Mix

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

I am still assist feeding her. I am syringing water into her too. She actually acts like she may be slightly better, she is up and around a little more, peeing & pooing, tho her poo is little piles of pudding poo, but that's a manifestation of what she's being syringe fed.

I was really worried about leaving her and going to work today, I set my alarms for 5 so I would have plenty of time to assist feed her slowly and do whatever else she needed, I woke up 2 hrs late at nearly 7, have to leave at 7:45 to make it to work on time. I syringe fed her (was late to work) about 15-20mls, jumped in the shower at 7:30, gave her her insulin at almost 8, and had to leave. She doesn't want to be shut up in "her" room so I left her resting on my bed. I considered coming home at noon to check on her, but I don't get 2-1/2 hours for lunch, I only get an hr, so I didn't. Truthfully I was scared to. Of course then I was more scared when I flew out the door at 5 and came straight home. & couldn't find her. not on the bed, not downstairs by the water bowl, not upstairs by any of the 3 water bowls, not in her basket, not in her box. I was frantic. & then I realized that b/c I had left the kibble feeding room door downstairs open, which is the room where the kitty door to the outside is, she must have gone off into the woods. OMG I went outside & around & around the house calling her & then back inside calling for her & then back outside calling her & then back in & just when me & Smokey (dog) were getting ready to head for the woods I found her, out by the side of the house, standing over this big clay muddy-red puddle of water, drinking. Now I realize that drinking that water is not my first choice, but at least she was there. & drinking. There are 4 dishes of clean, fresh water in the house & she was outside drinking out of a mud puddle.

I brought her in, tested her, gave her 10mg of pepsid, fed her, and now I'm off to the barn to feed the horses. And the door to the kibble room is closed.

My co-worker/friend lives 5 minutes away from work (& is an animal lover) & said I can drop Tawny off in the mornings there, she can stay in the tiled floor hall bathroom & I can go check on her & assist feed her on my lunch break. I told her she's probably going to pee on the floor and she said "i don't care, it's tile." She mops up pee when she goes home every day she told me once after one of her older dogs. She is the type of person who if she says this, she means it, so Tawny & I have a good plan for the work week feedings now.

Desi
 
Re: 3/10 amps 256; +10/71; +11.25/70 Tawny Still Assist Feed

That's great about what your friend offered for you. I would take her up on it, starting tomorrow. What a good friend.

I know how scared you were looking for Tawny. I'm glad you found her.
I hope you can set alarms to syringe feed and are able to get at least a little good sleep tonight.
 
Re: 3/10 amps 256; +10/71; +11.25/70 Tawny Still Assist Feed

I remember one time when Stu disappeared outside. We looked all over for him, including in the woods. Several hours later he sauntered out from inside a dense bush, 10 feet from the house! I'm so glad Tawny is ok. Cats often like to drink from puddles! It's good that she felt a bit better today. We are sending vines for continued improvement. Your friend is a friend indeed.

Have a restful night,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty

Tawny, I am sending you the most beautiful bouquet of healing vines. Get better soon, OK?
Rusty
 
Re: 3/10 amps 256; +10/71; +11.25/70 Tawny Still Assist Feed

What a wonderful friend!! Sounds like the best solution for you for now anyway.

That's so scary when we can't find them! Especially when they're not feeling well and have a way to get outside. (and of course they prefer puddle water...it has all those extra vitamins and minerals in it...LOL)

Sounds like you have a great plan going forward, and both you and Tawny have a very special friend.

Hope you have a peaceful night
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 SHOOT? Still Assist Feeding

Rusty, thanks so much for the healing vines. They help a lot. ~ Tawny

OK here's the problem: pmps 70. Do I shoot? Skipping shots is a really bad thing for her. Shooting a 70 when she's not eating could be a really bad thing for her.

& this is not a true # b/c she was syringe fed 1.5-2 hrs ago.

Saturday when she did this I syringed liquidated HC into her & was able to control the drop some. I skipped that night's shot & you can see what that did from her SS. I guess I'll mix some HC in w/her liquidated LC and shoot. I can set my alarms every couple of hrs & feed & test (not that I'll wake up), & I am going to take my friend up on her offer.

Any thoughts on whether or not I should shoot? I can stall a little while. I can give her her a.m. shot as late as 8:15 since I'm taking her w/me & still get to work on time, I take lunch at 11 so that would leave her alone about 3 hrs in the morning after shooting b4 I can check on her.

So, shoot or not? She gets 5u, I have actually shot that amt at even lower #s when she's eating & she's done fine. But now?
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 SHOOT? Still Assist Feeding

Desi --

What about a BCS shot? It's a matter of how much you want to reduce the dose.
 
Re: Sienne? 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 SHOOT? Still Assist Feeding

Sienne and Gabby said:
Desi --

What about a BCS shot? It's a matter of how much you want to reduce the dose.

I'm thinking a little over 1/2? 3u maybe? What do you think? I hate to not shoot at all--I am soooooooooooo scared of ketones, but she has no infection according to the vet.
 
Re: Sienne? 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 SHOOT? Still Assist Feeding

Desi --

There are no rules for a BCS shot. It's a "know your cat" thing. If numbers are heading up, that's another factor to consider. As long as you feel like you can steer the numbers, any amount is fine.
 
Re: Sienne? 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 SHOOT? Still Assist Feeding

2.5u would be half, I'm gonna go with 3u or a little more and "steer" the #s I think. The know your cat thing is so right, b/c 1/2 dose BCS's are usually not enough for her.

I'm gonna mix a little HC in w/her liquidated LC too.

She is 72 at am+12.25.

thanks...bbl ... gotta feed
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 SHOOT Gonna BCS - Still Assist Feedin

your friend sounds like a real treasure! I'm so glad you've got a plan to cover her during the day. i ran home to check punkin on a 30 min lunch break (all you get in a school) but we only live 3.5 miles away. it is a little crazy-making too.

hope she manages with the reduced dose. i think as long as she's so iffy on eating, and running low, it's probably a good idea to be cautious like that.

i can imagine the panic when you couldn't find her . . . glad she turned up fine. mud water is very natural & yummy, apparently! :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

Well I've been feeding her the LC/HC mix for an hour and only got 11-12mls into her. I am going to syringe feed her some straight HC now and get the Karo ready. Looks like I might have made the wrong decision. Gonna be a long night.
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

glad you got the +1. i'd go to HC too and try to stop the drop. you can add some karo to it if you want.
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

Desi --

Had you thought about getting some Max Cal? It may make for fewer feedings -- well, maybe not for tonight, but in general.
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

Sienne and Gabby said:
Desi --

Had you thought about getting some Max Cal? It may make for fewer feedings -- well, maybe not for tonight, but in general.

I just heard about this and I have some coming from a friend here. I will see about getting some locally tomorrow but I doubt it's available here in the backwoods boondocks.
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70; +2.5/49; +3/53 Syringed Karo/HCx

she kept dropping and I kept syringing HC mixed w/Karo into her, then straight Karo. She's coming up now thank God and has just gone downstairs to get a drink, even tho there's 3 water bowls up here, the one downstrs is the one she's used to. When I said I would shoot and steer the #s I meant in the 70s, like Saturday, not dipping into the 40s, like a while ago. Geeeeez...
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

I hope today is a better day for you and Tawny.
Keep that door closed so she can't escape and give you such a fright again ;-) .
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

You handled Tawney's numbers beautifully. I hope all works out well with Tawney visiting with your friend today.
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny 3/11 a.m. update

I set alarms for every 2 hrs but of course never woke up, but didn't fall asleep til almost 2am & was up shortly after 6 so I don't have to feel too guilty. She was at 51 @ pm+10.5. Needless to say there will be NO SHOT this a.m. I am taking her to friend's anyway so that I can feed her at lunch break. She is drinking water, out of both the downstairs & upstairs bowls, on her own. Acts a little more interested in food but will still not eat on her own...

I won't have time to open a new condo til after work tonight.
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

Sending mega appy vines for Tawny♥ Your friend is a treasure :smile: I can feel the panic when you cannot find one of your babies, hope today goes much better for you :smile:
 
Re: 3/10 Tawny pmps 70 BCS 3u; +1/59; Assist Feeding HC/LC M

I hope that your day will go OK and that Tawny will feel better and will want to eat. Hang in there, Desi! We'll check back with you this evening.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top