3/10 Shadow ambg 115 +3.75~142 +7~82 +10~108

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
yesterday's condo


Hello.
Shadow's bg was back at 100 this a.m. which made me feel better but I still took her to the vet late today.

Vet thinks the lump under her chin is very likely just another cyst but it is deeper and bigger than the others she had and said it could be surgically removed if I wanted
but it was definitely free floating in there, not attached to anything. Thinks it will go away in time since I'm now using little dishes inside her auto feeder plastic trays.
So we'll watch that.

Also said her anal glands were very full and expressed those to Shadow's great displeasure. Her eyes got so-o-o big :shock:
Shadow has only had that done once before many years ago. Lots of preening going on in that department now...

She also felt her right paw but didn't get a response but she did get a response when she pushed on Shadow's elbows and thinks maybe Shadow is having some arthritis
which would make sense for the limp and her moodiness. So I have a syringe here to give on Sunday but I'm confused.
It says on the tag to "give injection once every week for 3 weeks then once monthly if it helps for arthritis pain. I have a syringe with 25mg in it.
At the office she gave it to me and said to try this ( as in the whole syringe ) and then call back if it helps and she'd give me a vial. (cheaper that way)

I'll have to call tomorrow to get clarification.
I am supposed to wait and give it to her on sunday or monday....
we wanted to see if Shadow acted better tomorrow after she gets over her anal gland ordeal. That way we know if it was the glands making her feel bad, or the arthritis
or both.

Everything else got a "looks good" report. She was right under 14 lbs.


Anyone have issues on the amount of Adequan to start with or whether or not it's a good idea. I've seen that many others have it in their medication list.

She told me to give it subcutaneously like the insulin? I see references mention intramuscular.
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

Hi Rhiannon,
I don't have any experience with Adequan, but I think that Roni (Moonie) used it. Maybe send her a P.M., since she doesn't check the board every day.
Glad to hear that the vet was able to address your concerns and that all seems OK. Good luck with the arthritis issue. I hope that you will get some answers about Adequan dosage. Perhaps post on Health?

Have a good weekend. Thanks for visiting us,

Hugs & scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

I used Adequan with my GA civvie Mario, for his last 2 years. It was an absolute miracle for him. We gave him what sounds like the same dosage you've been instructed to give (he weighed about 13lbs), but we followed a very different protocol. One thing about Adequan is that one dose doesn't work; it has to build up. So we followed the following protocol:

One shot twice a week for 4 weeks
One shot once a week for 4 weeks
One shot every other week for 4 weeks

After that, we were supposed to go with one shot every month for the rest of his life, but Mario wasn't ready for that. He would start getting gimpy after about 3 weeks, so at that point, we shot when he needed it. He eventually did build up to one shot a month.

Also, buying Adequan at the vetty is way expensive. I used to order it from Drs Foster and Smith for about 1/3 of the price my vet was charging.

We did give his shots as SubQs, as opposed to IM (as per our vet's instructions) and it worked just fine for him. I can't imagine doing an IM injection at home.

My only other note is that Mario was not diabetic. However, I know Patty of Patty and Champ gives it to Champ, and she's had great results. You may want to PM her, too.

I hope this helps!!
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

Oh, poor Shadow! I'm glad she brought her numbers back down, but man o man! The anal glad expression is never an easy experience! I hope she gets over it quickly and the adequan helps her little joints. I think she deserves some extra shrimpy treats tonight!!
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

We also used it for Gus but his arthritis is congenital and it didn't help. We gave one shot once a week for four weeks and then once a month.
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

Amy's right...I use Adequan for Champ. Works really well. I followed the same schedule as Amy with Mario. Champ didn't do well on one injection a month so I give him one every other week. He's a big boy so each of his shots are 36 units (he weighs close to 18 pounds). I just bought syringes that hold 50 units vs. 30 and it works great. Amy is the one who told me about Drs. Foster and Smith. BEST THING EVER price-wise. They charge a little less for the equine Adequan, though vets usually prescribe the canine Adequan. THEY ARE THE EXACT SAME MEDICATION....SAME SIZE VIALS, SAME MEDICATION. My vet actually told me this and prescribed for the equine. One vial of canine Adequan is $49.99 and one vial of equine Adequan is $42.99. Not a huge difference in price, but I usually order two vials at one time so it's a savings of $14. I give him his insulin shot and Adequan shot at the same time. When he's hunkered down eating his first meal of the day, I give him his insulin in one side near the shoulder and his Adequan in the other side. Even though the Adequan is 36 units, he doesn't even look up from eating. There's no burn or anything to make it uncomfortable. Good luck with it....it really has helped Champ be able to continue his cat-like ways!!
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

Thanks Patty.
I guess we'll see if she needs more or not.
I don't think she's in too much pain so maybe when we get going, once a month will be good for her. Since I have RA, I can relate to having stiffness.

I just wish it weren't such a big needle. She's not going to like getting any injections again.
It was easier to distract her with food when she was so hungry. Now she'll be hard to distract. nailbite_smile
She's always keenly aware of what I'm doing to her. I can't even trim hair off her wookie like feet. I get the full claw slap for that.
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

Oh gosh Rhiannon. I pray the Adequan helps Shadow. I talked with my vet about it for Checkers pain relief, but he doesn't have arthritis in his joints. He has a bad disk in his spine, that won't be helped by arthritis meds. I have to give him bupe as needed.
I so hope it helps Shadow.
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

Hi Rhiannon, sorry to hear that Shadow may have arthritis, poor girl. I do hope the adequan will help! Sending healing vines.
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

I'm glad Shadow's BG came back down. I hope the Adequan helps her feel better and you don't have trouble giving her the shot.
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

Hey Rhiannon, sorry to hear that your girls has arthritis, I hope the Adequan works and relieves her pain. Good luck on the shots, I'm sure you'll figure out a way to distract her. Glad that she is doing so well other than that.

(((hugs)))

Jo
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

well ... just like old times....
Shadow growled while getting poked.
I gave her some raw shrimp ( cut up so very tiny since she has no teeth) to distract her and my DD held her just in case she moved on me.
nom nom growl growl

that's such a big stinkin' needle.... I was more afraid I'd inject into her spine or something since her skin isn't that loose.
But we got thru it.... and she immediately took to a deep nap just like she used to when on insulin. ( maybe she thinks she got insulin )


Paws crossed that it makes her feel better. She does act like an old lady and she's not that old.
 
Re: Shadow vet report Adequan questions?

I'm sorry Shadow was growling, but at least you were able to give her the shot. I hope it helps her feel better.
 
Re: 3/10 Shadow ambg 115 =3.75~142 not liking this

3/10 ambg 115
+3.75 142 checked twice....

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

i've read everywhere that adequan doesn't affect bg...
she had zero carb at breakfast ( supposedly - had half a fancy feast appetizer)
and she had raw shrimp at ambg.....
and now she had nature's variety rabbit.... which is probably 1 or 2% carb.



doesn't she know she doesn't like being on insulin? we are definitely living on the edge so I'm continuing to monitor....
she doesn't mind the testing.... she purrs thru that.
 
Re: 3/10 Shadow ambg 115 +3.75~142 not liking this

Hi Rhiannon, hopefully the higher numbers are situational. Maybe she isn't feeling well? Is it possible that the cyst in her chin is infected?
 
Re: 3/10 Shadow ambg 115 +3.75~142 not liking this

The vet didn't think so... it's not even open. It's deeper than the others. But it feels like it's moving towards the surface so I'm hoping it will do that so it can go away.

and she doesn't seem to feel any worse than any other day.... but she's not one to show signs....
 
Hi Shadow. Sad to hear about the arthritus and the not so fun vet appt. But hopefully you will be feeling better sooner than later. Good thing your mamabean is on top of things and is checking up on your BGs. Lets hope you stay in the greens and don't go up too high in the blues.

Hope you are doing well Rhiannon. Long time no chat. Life definitely has a way of keeping a person busy. I check out the board but have not been posting too much.

We still test Fur Ball about every 1-2 weeks and so far all is well. I am thinking of scheduling a vet appt for the end of the month. We want to find out how much he weighs and get a blood work up again. Its hard to believe that we've been OTJ for over 5 months. FB continues to do well. And we are so thankful for life at the falls.

Have a great week!
Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top