? 3/10 Phoebe sugar baby- 235

eva eva

Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...till-little-better-today.298969/#post-3251920

I will be taking Phoebe in today later. All kitties are eating their food. Much less waste. I put a lightly warm hand towel over Phoebe's ears to make sure they are warm for her finger sticks. She huffs and puffs knowing the check is coming. Most times I only have to stick once and wait for a few seconds for the blood to appear.

Sundays' will be weigh day.
 
All you need from the vet is a script for Insulin Glargine. You might find it cheaper to buy it at a pharmacy. @cecile & bella had posted about buying a Lantus pen a few months back from CVS at $20-21.

It's a good idea to do the labs and get Phoebe's teeth checked to see if there is anything that caused her to fall out of remission. Treating that will help get her BG regulated and paws crossed, into remission again.

We can help you with dosing once you get the insulin. What is her weight?

side bar---what does GA mean on the title?


Vet visit. blood work done. Phoebe chirped the whole time. She has a bad tooth. reddened inflamed, bad color, not just tartar. Scheduled surgery for April 4th. She didn't want to do the surgery too soon starting insulin. Phoebe weighs 10.2 lbs. I will call in a week after starting insulin and see if we can get in earlier. no antibiotics. Vet suggested 0.5 unit twice daily. I want to know from my support people is this too much? I am off to check her sugar right now. and feed. will check in a few bits to see if you agree with the dose.
pmbs - 299. not eating right now. should I give insulin?

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
side bar---what does GA mean on the title?
I got a mini heart attack seeing this prefix on your title! It means "Guardian Angel" - for cats that have crossed the rainbow bridge. Please take it off! :eek:


Vet visit. blood work done. Phoebe chirped the whole time. She has a bad tooth. reddened inflamed, bad color, not just tartar. Scheduled surgery for April 4th. She didn't want to do the surgery too soon starting insulin. Phoebe weighs 10.2 lbs. I will call in a week after starting insulin and see if we can get in earlier. no antibiotics. Vet suggested 0.5 unit twice daily. I want to know from my support people is this too much? I am off to check her sugar right now. and feed. will check in a few bits to see if you agree with the dose.
pmbs - 299. not eating right now. should I give insulin?
Why did the vet want to wait nearly a month for the surgery? A starting dose 0.5U doesn't seem like too much. I would suggest that you follow TR so that you can increase faster and get her to a good dose sooner.

Did you give insulin? Even if she doesn't eat at shot time, with Lantus, you have around 2 hours till onset to get food into her.
 
she said she wanted me to get her on the insulin first to make sure she would do ok with the surgery. I asked about antibiotics, and her sugar is up because of the inlflammation, she felt it would be ok to wait. I asked to be called for any cancelled surgeries.
I did not give her any insulin. She ate about a half hour ago. i just gave her a bit less than 0.5unit. i will read the TR method tonight.

@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
0.5 units sounds too low. At 10.2 lbs, TR would have her start at least at 1.0 units. 0.25 units per kg and she is over 4 kg. Her turnaround dose last time was more like 2.25 units. Cats often have to go back up around that if out of remission.
 
going to 3/11 for the reply also.
I gave Phoebe the 0.25 U last night about 2 hours after she nibbled on some food. This am sugar 327--hadn't read your note. gave her 0.5unit again. I will check her every 3 hours starting today to get her ?nadir? From what I read I go up .25 units in 5 days??? if she stays over 150? I need help on this one. Will continue post on todays forum. 3/11

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
0.5 units sounds too low. At 10.2 lbs, TR would have her start at least at 1.0 units. 0.25 units per kg and she is over 4 kg. Her turnaround dose last time was more like 2.25 units. Cats often have to go back up around that if out of remission.
I got a mini heart attack seeing this prefix on your title! It means "Guardian Angel" - for cats that have crossed the rainbow bridge. Please take it off! :eek:



Why did the vet want to wait nearly a month for the surgery? A starting dose 0.5U doesn't seem like too much. I would suggest that you follow TR so that you can increase faster and get her to a good dose sooner.

Did you give insulin? Even if she doesn't eat at shot time, with Lantus, you have around 2 hours till onset to get food into her.
I did take it off. so sorry to give you a heart attack. My stupid interpretation was Get Assistance.-----Lesson learned.
 
Back
Top