3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379 +10=406 PMPS=412 +3=363

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Working through the DST change by 30 minute increments, one today and one tomorrow. Star is as perky as he gets and has a good appetite. :-D Really got him in a good bleeder spot during the +5 test today and had to work to stop the flow. I'm thinking of inventing a cat collar with a needle and an attached meter that takes a blood sample at specified intervals during the day (and night) and sends the results wirelessly to a receiver. That way I never have to stick my fur baby, and I can easily get BG levels whenever I need them without bothering Star. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379

Maybe you hit a vein?

I love that idea of the collar with a needle - I would buy it for sure!!! Maybe it would have to fit over one ear though. And maybe it can have a tube to the mouth to dispense HC when they drop too low? and send the results to update the SS automatically?

by the way I can see a dose increase in your future. You might want to pose the question tonite to the forum.
 
Re: 3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379 +10=406 PMPS=412

Yes, probably hit a vein or capillary. Definitely the mother lode. :o Wendy suggested that I ask about a dose increase. My vet had suggested cutting Star's original dose of 3 units in half, so maybe I need to go to 1.5? I need the voice of experience and knowledge to chime in here. Thanks!
 
Re: 3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379 +10=406 PMPS=412

Put a question ? in your subject line and maybe add "dose increase?"
 
Re: 3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379 +10=406 PMPS=412

I was just hoping for a scanner... that told us bg by waving it over them. (bonus if it tells us everything else that's going on too)
kinda like the scanner from Star Trek.
Vulcan.gif
 
Re: 3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379 +10=406 PMPS=412

yeah that works but it still means you would have to get up at 3am to give them HC. Maybe some form of implant that dispenses insulin or HC as required on a signal from the device?
 
Re: 3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379 +10=406 PMPS=412

If we are really lucky, maybe they'll come up with a cure from that research they did in Barcelona where they think they cured some dogs..
 
?? Time for dose increase?? Re: 3/10 Newbie Star

Star's numbers are staying in the 300's and 400's. When I spoke to my vet last week, she told me to cut his dose to 1.5 units twice a day. Experts here estimated 1.25 instead, based on his ideal weight of 12 pounds. I don't know how long it should take Star to get down below the 400's consistently, but he has been on a high protein/low carb diet for a week and has been at 1.25 units for four days. It's possible, even likely, that he is somewhat insulin resistant, but I don't believe he was full-blown diabetic until the week before his diagnosis, given his symptoms (or absence of symptoms until then). What's the protocol in his situation--raise the dose a bit, or be patient and wait for some weight loss from the new diet? Having only been treating Star for 9 days, I lack perspective on this. Thanks for any advice you can give! I will test him again at 10:00 p.m. and post his BG number then.
 
Re: 3/10 Newbie Star AMPS=306 +5=379 +10=406 PMPS=412

It depends on what you mean by "insulin resistant." The way we use that term implies that a cat has insulin auto-antibodies which necessitates a high dose. I suspect you mean glucose toxicity.
I think you can raise Star's dose. Given that his nadirs are above 300, you can increase by 0.5u so your new dose would be 1.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top