3/10 Merlin AMPS 211 /+1 159/ +2 121 /+3 115/+4 137/ +6 208/ +10 325/ PMPS 338 Dose Increase

Steve & Merlin

Member Since 2019
I decided not to raise his dose this morning given his AMPS being more of a nadir. I want to see how this unexpected event plays out on his current dose. After his numbers of the past few days, I did not expect the slow decline over the last 12 hours to the AMPS. Is he still sorting himself out from that big bounce or is he setting himself up for a new run in the greens and a new on with this shot? I will be watching him closely today.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-319-another-quiet-night-3-300-6-331.211713/
 
Last edited:
Since we know he reacts badly to real low numbers hitting fast. Would it be a good idea to moderate a drop by using small amounts of FF HC food? I would prefer to see him in low blues rather than greens with another nasty bounce. This current drop started weird and doesn't seem to be a stable type progression leading to an earned dose reduction. I was planning on raising it before this occurred. It seems to me it might be more of a stressing activity. Comments?
 
I think the dropping BG is affecting him like it did the other two times. He gets crabby and I don't think feels good. He is certainly crabby now. He didn't want be messing with his ear for the +1.
 
I think they feel different And don't know why because it's not a normal thing yet. But that's just me and how Olive acts.
 
Well I hope he gets comfortable feeling good in the blues. I just took his +2 (121) and surprisingly the rate of descent has slowed. He is pretty reliable on having the shot kicking in at +2. I'm going to track him pretty close to catch any sudden drop into the stressful zone of bright green.
 
The link to your orevious post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-319-another-quiet-night-3-300-6-331.211713/

Once Merlin spends enough time in blues, then greens, he will feel more comfortable there. Think of it like coffee, without their caffeine (high numbers), they feel crummy.

Preshot as a nadir can indicate a bounce breaking cycle, so good job holding the dose for now. Note, some cats also just nadir late normally, like my girl did,
 
Since we know he reacts badly to real low numbers hitting fast. Would it be a good idea to moderate a drop by using small amounts of FF HC food?
Manipulating the curve with food is a great idea. But, I would not use HC food, I would use LC food unless the number is under 50. Or if the number is heading towards 50 early in the cycle say at +3, then I would bring out some MC food to slow him down.

This is a nice slow decent cycle today and hopefully that will help him not bounce as high or long.

When Bubba was new to green numbers, he acting strange also. Once he gets used to being in better numbers, he'll feel so much better.

Did anyone present you with the Balls of Steel on March 5th for shooting your first green??
 
Nobody really commented on shooting that green. From what I have read on this site it is allowable for TR and I knew I would be able to intervene if things really went South. I also needed to see how he handled it. I sure got a lot of experience. Especially with his subsequent high 5s.

Thanks for the comment regarding using food to manage low numbers. I haven't seen much on the forum about this except for emergency recovery from <40 numbers. LC food doesn't seem to affect his numbers much. Using FF gravy in teaspoon or less quantities seems to work well. It kind of wears off predictably over a 3 hour period. He also loves the stuff so I know he will eat it quickly when needed. So far, I'm comfortable with how the numbers are progressing even if he isn't. His +3 is 115 so the rate of decrease is slowing, so far. He's taking a nap right now after the trauma of subq fluids. His poopies are kind of hard and dry and he feels dehydrated skin-wise. So I just gave him 100ml. He hates getting subq fluids and it's a real fight. I wish his appetite was better. He has been losing weight and is rather thin now. His appetite is the best in low 300s and high 200s, which gets back to his body getting used to being more normal. But when he is in the 300s and above he doesn't metabolize the food as well and doesn't gain weight really even if he is eating more. It's very frustrating. Makes me want to go out and buy him either a Big Mac or a Big Mouse and let him have at it.
 
Here is coveted Balls of Steel (BOS) late, but you know what they say, better late than never. It's a big deal shooting the first green as most peeps are very nervous doing it.

upload_2019-3-10_14-36-6.png


Here is a link for you to read about feeding the curve . It is in the New to the Group Stickie under Where Can I find? Scroll down to # 15 where Jill describes when to use and how to.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/
 
Thanks for the info on Feeding The Curve! It answered all my questions.

I now have a different one that refers to my drama on 3/5 (see SS). I know Merlin will have a nasty high 5 bounce if he goes too low too fast. If that happens, can I try and stomp on the high 5s BG by ADDING extra insulin to his normal dose? I would only consider this if his BG PS was 500+ with the expectation it will continue to rise before the dose kicks in and with the assumption that the normal dose will be insufficient to clamp down the high 5s and Merlin will be stressed with possible ketone issues. I would then return to the regular dose if the next PS was < 500. I would like to reduce the stress of the bounces as it really hits him hard.

I could tell his +6 was going to be in the Yellow range when I went to him for the +6 test. He was grooming himself happily in the sun and when he saw me he indicated he was hungry. Sure enough, it was 208.
 
Thanks for the info on Feeding The Curve! It answered all my questions.

I now have a different one that refers to my drama on 3/5 (see SS). I know Merlin will have a nasty high 5 bounce if he goes too low too fast. If that happens, can I try and stomp on the high 5s BG by ADDING extra insulin to his normal dose? I would only consider this if his BG PS was 500+ with the expectation it will continue to rise before the dose kicks in and with the assumption that the normal dose will be insufficient to clamp down the high 5s and Merlin will be stressed with possible ketone issues. I would then return to the regular dose if the next PS was < 500. I would like to reduce the stress of the bounces as it really hits him hard.

I could tell his +6 was going to be in the Yellow range when I went to him for the +6 test. He was grooming himself happily in the sun and when he saw me he indicated he was hungry. Sure enough, it was 208.
No, you don't want to start switching the dose around. Lantus needs consistent dosing or the depot gets confused and you won't know what the dose is really doing for him. It would be better to feed the curve when you see that he is dropping fast as described in the link I posted.

It's been 9 cycles since he made his way back into a green ( thought today he was going to but he had other ideas. ) For TR we give it 6 cycles or 3 days to clear the bounce and make their way back to a green. If you can monitor tonight, I would give the increase of .25 unit making his new dose 1.5 It's not uncommon for a kitty to dance between a dose a few times. What was too much before might be just right now.
 
Back
Top