3/10 Max. So what does this mean?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale

Active Member
Max started Lantus (previously levemir) on Saturday night (3/6). Been in the 400's. Dose .5. This morning he was 258.
1. Is the shed full and I'll start seeing steady numbers?
2. Fluke?
3. Shed getting full?
4. Too soon to tell !

Zena Starting date and dose same as Max. Can go from low 400's down to 168 last night. 400's again this morning. On levemir he could go from 500's down to double digits on .5. But other times he can stay steady. No rhyme nor reason to his numbers and never have been on 2 other insulins.

Charles Ditto above. Giving 1 unit. Hasn't moved out of the 400's. Assuming he'll need a dose increase but waiting for the shed to fill up I guess.

I ran out of levemir; had the lantus so started it. I work so can't do a lot of testing until evenings and weekends. No computer at home so don't expect spreadsheets but can do a Word doc of numbers.

Thanks for insights.

Max's numbers:

3/7/10
+12 431 .5
+3 403
+6 355
+12 462 .5

3/8/10
+12 270 .5
+9 289
+12 303 .5

3/9/10
+12 471 .5
+10 475
+12 412 .5

3/10/10
+12 287 .5
 
Hi there

others will be by thru the day to offer feedback, but I would recommend you put something together with all the kitties recent BG readings.
Without a spreadsheet, it it hard to offer the advise, but it's understandable since you dont have a computer.
 
Another bit of info that could be helpful is to put together a profile for each kitty, then attach that info onto a signature for your postings.
The info would always be included in your postings and would be very helpful to those replying to your queries.
If you look at my profile at the bottom of my reply, you will see that sort of info to include.
It is just about impossible to reply well without knowing of the diet and feeding times, age, health issues past and present, etc. Also if there are any meds that the kitties have taken or are still taking, this info would greatly influence the BG numbers.

I, too, and many others are at work Monday to Friday, so are completely unable to test during those times. All of my tests and curves have to be done on the evenings and the weekends, just like you.

For the spreadsheets, if you created them when you have access to a computer, then just add the numbers you record in the evenings when you have access again to a computer, those number would be most helpful. Even old info is better than no info.
While you may not see the pattern in your kitties' numbers, another set of eyes may see something that can explain what's happening with your kitties.

I would not be one that could comment on dosing and responses for your kitties, but as Ronnie said, someone will be along shortly.
For the future, could you advise what online access you do have and the hours so that those replying will know if you receiving or if you have left for home and will not see the posts till your return to work or to another online access.
 
LOL, well I guess everyone else is as flummoxed as I am since no responses and 36 lookers. Guess I'll just continue with what I'm doing and referring to the Rand info on dosing.
 
Dale, this has been my fear, I have a few Lev vials left and a bunch of Lantus and I worry that switching Tucker to Lantus will give us wonky numbers.

I think the rule is still the same, hold the dose for a bit although I'd be a little concerned about Charles not moving out of the 400s.

Could I help you with the spreadsheets? Maybe you can send me the Word doc once in a while and I can put together spreadsheets. I know how much you have on your plate and with my foster kittens out of the house I have time to help out if you'd like.
 
sorry Dale, most of us here are night people so don't be surprised if you get better responses after midnight. :smile:

Have you looked at the Dosing Protocols sticky here? Just wanted to be sure you've seen the most updated ones, the old German Tight Regulation protocol and the old Rand protocol have been revised and combined into one. We've modified it even more on this board. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Max has been on 0.5 units for 5 days/10 cycles and nadirs are in the 200's, so the protocol calls for an increase to 0.75 units. If you would prefer to wait another couple of days, that is ok too (our revised protocol holds the starting dose for 5-7 days).

Zena: if he's getting some numbers in the 100's then you might wait a day or two before deciding to increase. It's hard to see patterns without a spreadsheet (I'm very visual with these). You want to test enough to be fairly sure you're not missing seeing some green.

Charles: if he has been on Lantus for the same 5 days as the others and really hasn't moved from the 400's, I would increase to 1.5 units tomorrow.

Hope this helps!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top