3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92 +4 117 +5 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

HeidiandMax

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks,

Haven't been here in about a year since my boy, Max went off the juice last March. I find myself dealing with diabetes again and now a possible hypo situation.

FYi: PMPS 175 1.75u Lantus
+1 135
+2 89 gave a little high carb food

BTW....I have no former SS set up (was only on insulin for 3 weeks) and have nothing set up now as I've just been working with the vet and internal specialist

Please help?
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

Test again in 1/2 hour after that HC and post your number.

Do you have karo, lots of HC and test strips for tonight?
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

That's still a nice normal number. Do you have an idea of when Max typically nadirs?
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

Hasn't really had any real normal nadirs....he's on subq fluids and often slides and recently started prednisilone so that disrupted everything.
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

How long has Max been on 1.75 units? Just trying to figure out a little bit of history without a spreadsheet.

When did he last have fluids? That can also lower BG's. Has he eaten all of his normal LC dinner? If he hasn't, I'd give him the rest or just give him a little LC to see if we can get him surfing here. And then maybe a 3.5 test?
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

Fluids were given at +8 of AMPS. He finished most of his LC dinner (the bowl is still down)...seems more interested in the HC food right now. He's walking around acting pretty normal. Started 1.75 units last night (this is his third dose at 1.75), however his shed could be off too as he had an endoscopy on Tuesday and was only given 1u that day (had been on 1.5u before that and up until March 9th a.m.).
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

I think you can take the 911 down. He's at a perfectly safe number and we don't usually give HC until they get below 50. He's coming down nice and slow.

I'd give him two large tsp of LC as long as he's above 50 and retest in 30 mins. Please read "Handling Low Numbers" linked in my signature block.
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

+3.5 92 checked his bowl and he's finished LC dinner as well as HC spoonful

Should I give him more HC food?
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

Stick with LC for now. As Marje said, we don't usually do HC unless they are below 50. However, the HC will wear off, so you'll have to keep testing for a while.
 
Re: Going in hypo direction

To remove the icon, go to your first post, edit it, and unclick the 911 post icon.

At the same time, you might want to change the Subject to update where you are at. Our format is usually <date> <name of cat> PMPS xxx etc.
So now it could be 3/10 Max PMPS 135 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92

Keep updating that Subject, and people who scan the board will see what your current status is.
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92

Will someone still stay with me and help until it's safe? Also don't know what to do in a.m.. No one will be here during the day after his morning shot.
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92

HeidiandMax said:
Will someone still stay with me and help until it's safe? Also don't know what to do in a.m.. No one will be here during the day after his morning shot.

In the morning, if you are not comfortable with giving a shot, then don't give one.
It's easier to deal with a high number when you come home than a low one, yes?

As for tonite, you are getting numbers, up and down, but if you are still rising around +5, you should be fine. Again, if you worry about going to sleep, then just leave out some food, LC or if it feels better for you, leave some LC mixed with a wee big of HC, how does that sound?

ETA:
there's no way at all to know now what's going to be happening by morning, so test when you get up and post with the number. There should be someone around to give you some feedback.
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92

Subject line is perfect. I'll be up for a while yet. Print off and read the Handling Low Numbers sticky that Marje referred to.

There are a number of dose advisers on the east coast who will be up and checking the board in the morning. I'm guessing your shot time is 7:00 AM west coast time? You might want to take a test at +11 tomorrow morning before shot time and post asking for dose advice for tomorrow. To post a question, again go back to your first post, but select the ? post icon, then add something like "Dose ?" at the end of your subject line.

However, without some history, it's going to be hard for people to give advice. Do you think you could put together a spreadsheet with the data you do have?
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92

Thank you! Dose time is actually 8:00a.m.

I can do a spreadsheet, but I have tons of data and it will take me awhile. Also DH is out of town and he usually helps with computer related stuff.
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92

HeidiandMax said:
+4 117 When does HC food wear off?

Depending on what that HC food was, it could be soon or much later.
If your cat ate just the gravy from some high carb, maybe an hour.
If your cat ate some of the solid food with the gravy, a bit longer.
And if you gave your cat some dry food, even just a little bit somewhere along the line, it takes a day or longer for some cats to get that dry food out of their systems.
If just Karo, you may see that wear off in under an hour.

Something to keep in mind about fluids..... they bring down the cat's BG numbers.
So, if you are giving subQ fluids at home, don't give them to dropping BG numbers... hold off till the numbers are higher or at least rising.

If a person is new or has no spreadsheet with collected BG test numbers, it is a bit more difficult for others to help, but not hard.
The more info and data that you can provide, the faster that others can give you a helping hand.
People will want to know your insulin, your dose, your shot times, the food being fed and when, and also what your BG numbers have been so far. They'll also find it helpful to know what HC you gave to your cat and what results were from that eating.

So, in the morning, try to put as much info into your post for 3/11, and someone will be able to give you a helping hand.

Gayle
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92 +4 117

are you ok here, heidi?
you've been given some excellent advice and max's numbers are rising. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92 +4 117

good. if his numbers continue to rise just leave out some food for him to nibble on before you go to bed.
 
+5 165 Gave him a couple of teaspoons of LC food and put him to bed. Is it safe for me to go to bed too?
Hope he doesn't vomit with all the extra food. He's being treated for IBD. Hasn't vomitted in a few days. Fingers crossed!
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92 +4 117

Sweet dreams. I think you can say goodnight too.
 
Re: 3/10 Max PMPS 175 +2 89 +3 78 +3.5 92 +4 117

Many, many thanks to all who helped me here tonight. I had been advised by the internist to increase Max's dose to 3u (he's been over 400 and 500 the last few days). Can you imagine what would have happened? Something told me to hang tough and stay at 1.75u. Will try and get spreadsheet up soon (lots of data to enter and not very computer savvy). Thanks again!! Will post in a.m. for dosing advice, but I'm expecting a high number again. Ugh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top