3-10 - Jones - AMPS 169, +6 61, PMP S176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Previous Condo

Jonesy ate most of his food last night which was nice. He saw some green before the pred would of kicked in. Will hold dose to see if I can see below 90 in the day before maybe taking another drop out of syringe. DS forgot yesterday ( he was not happy with the lecture he received) will be checking in today and reminding him.

He likes his new LC treats which are on his green list for allergies, thanks @Wendy&Neko for the suggestions. He even came for cuddle during the night, maybe he has finally forgiven me for leaving him for so long. He seems really good. Will be starting on the raw buffalo tomorrow. See if we can help on the IBD side of things. He is due for a check-up soon so we will see. He is still skinny, not putting on as much weight as I would like, so maybe he does have lymphoma. Will be checking with the vet on doing the pulse dose of the leukeran and see what she thinks.

Otherwise everything seems to be holding it's own. Anti-jinx!

Hope all the kitties surf safely today!
 
Last edited:
It's nice to see green on Jones' SS again. I suspect there are some greens hiding in the empty spaces when you are not able to test. Maybe you could manage a curve soon to see how low he might be going?

How is he eating? Does the Mirtz help? Does it make him meowy? I didn't like how my cats reacted to it, so I used Cyproheptadine, but ECID.

 
When you start the raw, just put a tiny piece beside/on top of his regular food. He will have to get used to the smell of it first. Is it a new protein for him? I have heard that starting with chicken is easiest for doing the raw conversion, but it's on the yellow list so not sure how that would work with Jones.

Is Jones losing weight or just not gaining? I'd be more worried if he was continuing to lose.

Love today's midcycle test. :D Go DS!
 
It's nice to see green on Jones' SS again. I suspect there are some greens hiding in the empty spaces when you are not able to test. Maybe you could manage a curve soon to see how low he might be going?

How is he eating? Does the Mirtz help? Does it make him meowy? I didn't like how my cats reacted to it, so I used Cyproheptadine, but ECID.

The greens are nice. Have one today becauase DS did his part. Was going to a curve on Sunday. I have no idea what was going on while on vacation but hope to get at least 1 mid cycle test in per day. I actually have stopped the Mirtz. I found that he cried for a day and ate everything in sight. Then it would wear off and he wouldnt really eat on day 3. It was hard to regulate his BG with such extremes. He is eating close to his 300 calorie requirement but vet says he needs more calories to gain. He was never a big eater or overweight so food is not a motivation.
 
Last edited:
When you start the raw, just put a tiny piece beside/on top of his regular food. He will have to get used to the smell of it first. Is it a new protein for him? I have heard that starting with chicken is easiest for doing the raw conversion, but it's on the yellow list so not sure how that would work with Jones.

Is Jones losing weight or just not gaining? I'd be more worried if he was continuing to lose.

Love today's midcycle test. :D Go DS!
It is a new protein...so I thought maybe a tsp with regular food for a couple of days. Just add more as we go. I was going to do chicken but it isn't his favorite anyway.

Just not gaining. Maybe I need some patience pants.
 
It's good that he's not losing weight. That would be concerning.

Good job, DS!
I actually have stopped the Mirtz. I found that he cried for a day and ate everything in sight. Then it would wear off and he wouldnt really eat on day 3. It was hard to regulate his BG with such extremes. He is eating close to his 300 calorie requirement but vet says he needs more calories to gain. He was never a big eater or overweight so food is not a motivation.
If you decide he needs some help with the appy, I'd recommend trying Cypro. I had to talk my vet into it, as she swears by Mirtz, but she couldn't argue with the results. Much calmer cat, and eating. Another benefit is that you can give it up to twice a day.
 
Another benefit is that you can give it up to twice a day

So do you give it if they are eating and just not a lot or just when they stop eating?

He does eat, he is just so....male....and won't get up to eat but if you put it in front of him he will. He is eating about 2-2-1/2 cans of FF and maybe about 1/4 can of Wellness each day...plus treats of course. But I really need about a 100 more calories in him to really gain. DH says not to worry, he has more meat then before which is true, he doesn't feel or look like a skeleton anymore but he doesn't have any extra weight either. He dropped about 1.25kg/2.75 lbs in total which is huge! He had only gained back 100g/22oz the last time we were in for a vet check which is the first time he hadn't lost weight in 5 months (took us forever to get things figured out and in the right direction). He should be around 5kgs/11lbs at a lean weight.
 
I would take a look at the nutritional info on the raw you plan on feeding. Depending on the calories of the raw food you're switching to, you may want to supplement with Wellness. Wellness is generally pretty calorie dense.

Are you giving Jones a snack at around +8 or +9? A little bit of food may help to lower his pre-shot number.

 
Are you giving Jones a snack at around +8 or +9? A little bit of food may help to lower his pre-shot number

I am gone for work most days. He doesn't have a timed feeder - just a feeder that shuts out everyone but him. His civvie sisters are food hogs. He is always free fed but to encourage more eating, I try to get the DH to put the food in front of him when he is home @ +3 and hopefully +9 but that doesn't always happen. That said, most days the food is all gone when I get home @ +11. At night, he doesn't eat as much and there is usually a little bit left, but he tends to run higher at night because of the pred.

The MotH at my house will "forget" very easily. I wish I could trade them in for models that work. Let me know if you know any that are available?;)

The idea is to give the raw when home and I can be around to pick up or refill if needed. And leave the canned when I am at work. Just wanted to give more options within his allergy green zone and I have read the raw helps with IBD. Make the raw more of an addition to the regular canned food. Can't seem to find to much canned with the proteins that are in his green zone. Will keep looking though.
 
Broke down and gave Mirtz. Don't like him going too long and he ate nothing but some treats today and maybe 1/2 can of FF. Hasn't eaten but a few bites for dinner. :( Let the meowing and wonky #'s begin.
 
If there's a way to do it, the snack later in the cycle may stimulate Jones' pancreas to produce it's own insulin and pull his pre-shot numbers down. It's likely what you're seeing by mid-cycle given his green numbers.

It sounds like the only way you could let Jones get his food would be to separate him from your other kitties. That may end up being too stressful for everyone. They do make it challenging, don't they?

 
We did try separating him from everyone to start with but you are right. It did become very stressful on him and he stopped eating and would just sit at the door and cry. So I gave it up as I wasn't gaining anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top