saltycat
Member Since 2016
yesterdays condo
So today is about the 1 day a year I actually take a "vacation". The Indycar races are in town and I've been going since it started, haven't missed a year. Jack decides to give me a nice high green amps
. I had a friend test him at 11am and give a good bit of MC and the feeder had some more MC in it.... I think I overdid it a bit with his nice 246 at +7, but I have no regrets carbing him up a bit just in case. I still had to leave much earlier then I wanted from the races, but kitty comes first and at least I made it down there for a bit!
The Dali museum is just outside the left of the shot, and all the yachts are to the right, not a bad way to play hookie on a Friday!
@Sandy and Black Kitty
Thank you for all the help and advice recently, I need it with the recent changes in Jack's patterns.
I'll bump up the reduction point to 70 and see how he does. I think that is a good strategy, especially while he is in this somewhat unpredictable stage.


I thought it might have been breaking then, but since he rose back up, it might have been the acro tumor pulsing as well.
), were the depot drainers. The night before he got 32u, the first light green morning I went with 20u and he was pink by pmps when I shot 30u(a 2u reduction). The next morning was 24u and we took another reduction to 28u that evening.
That equates to about a 2/3 shot the first morning, and a 3/4 shot the next morning. In the past it seemed like a 2/3 to 3/4 depot drain worked good for Jack. I suspect the acro makes him more sensitive to bcs shots since the IGF-1 clogs up the receptors for the insulin. When I tried 50% reductions he comes up a lot, i.e. 2/13, from 51 at amps, to almost 400 at pmps.
My vet was adamant that NO cat needs more then 5u and all the extra insulin would be bad for his health. Luckily she spoke with the vet at MSU after both tests were positive and had to admit what I learned from here that "he needs what he needs" and the extra insulin isn't going to rot his insides. After a few situations like that where my "opinions" were validated by another vet or an Idexx paper, I think I gained a little trust from her. She did have to research Lev before she agreed that it would be an acceptable feline insulin after I asked for it. She is still against dosing R insulin, but I just don't bring it up when I visit... We will agree to disagree
New plans are to be smarter and not shoot under 50, and take reductions at 70 instead of 50. Any other things you can think of that would be a good idea? I try to get a late night test in, but do need the occasional fullish night of sleep.
Thanks again for all your help!
So today is about the 1 day a year I actually take a "vacation". The Indycar races are in town and I've been going since it started, haven't missed a year. Jack decides to give me a nice high green amps
. I had a friend test him at 11am and give a good bit of MC and the feeder had some more MC in it.... I think I overdid it a bit with his nice 246 at +7, but I have no regrets carbing him up a bit just in case. I still had to leave much earlier then I wanted from the races, but kitty comes first and at least I made it down there for a bit!
The Dali museum is just outside the left of the shot, and all the yachts are to the right, not a bad way to play hookie on a Friday!
@Sandy and Black Kitty
Thank you for all the help and advice recently, I need it with the recent changes in Jack's patterns.
I'll bump up the reduction point to 70 and see how he does. I think that is a good strategy, especially while he is in this somewhat unpredictable stage.
Oh boy, you mean the rollercoaster ride from 38u to 22u was still just the kiddie rollercoasterYou will know when the IAA breaks and when it does it's really time to go with the flow (making sure you fasten your seat belt first).
I thought it might have been breaking then, but since he rose back up, it might have been the acro tumor pulsing as well.
The 2 mornings when I shot light greens (tail between legsWhich day/dose was the designated depot drainer? I'm not seeing it.
), were the depot drainers. The night before he got 32u, the first light green morning I went with 20u and he was pink by pmps when I shot 30u(a 2u reduction). The next morning was 24u and we took another reduction to 28u that evening.That equates to about a 2/3 shot the first morning, and a 3/4 shot the next morning. In the past it seemed like a 2/3 to 3/4 depot drain worked good for Jack. I suspect the acro makes him more sensitive to bcs shots since the IGF-1 clogs up the receptors for the insulin. When I tried 50% reductions he comes up a lot, i.e. 2/13, from 51 at amps, to almost 400 at pmps.
My vet was adamant that NO cat needs more then 5u and all the extra insulin would be bad for his health. Luckily she spoke with the vet at MSU after both tests were positive and had to admit what I learned from here that "he needs what he needs" and the extra insulin isn't going to rot his insides. After a few situations like that where my "opinions" were validated by another vet or an Idexx paper, I think I gained a little trust from her. She did have to research Lev before she agreed that it would be an acceptable feline insulin after I asked for it. She is still against dosing R insulin, but I just don't bring it up when I visit... We will agree to disagree

New plans are to be smarter and not shoot under 50, and take reductions at 70 instead of 50. Any other things you can think of that would be a good idea? I try to get a late night test in, but do need the occasional fullish night of sleep.
Thanks again for all your help!
