3/10 Hugo AMPS 297, +6 149 time for another increase? BG question about my sick civvie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiina and Hugo

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone! Hugo seems to be done with the 1.50u dose, or what do you think? Time to increase to 1.75? Today he seems like he is breaking the bounce, so should I still do 1.50 tonight and increase in the morning?

My other cat, who is not diabetic (yet) has had a relapse with his illness. He has IMHA, immune mediated hemolytic anemia, that was in remission for two years. But last Tuesday when I took him for a dental it turned out his hematocrit had crashed. He has been on Prednisolon maintenance dose 2.5mg every other evening, but now they increased the dose to an immunosuppression dose of 10mg per day. I have been checking his BG throughout his illness, and he has had normal numbers in the 50s and 60s. But now he is 150. I worry that he will get diabetes too. But since there is no way he could take less Pred as he needs it to stop the hemolysis of the rbc, when do you think it can be said that he is also diabetic? I want to start insulin early, but of course not yet.

Thank you if anyone can give me advice.
 
I think I'd wait to see how low Hugo goes tonight. If you don't see green, you are probably fine to increase the dose to 1.75 units. I'm sorry to hear about your civvie. I don't have any advice on whether to start insulin or not. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think I'd wait to see how low Hugo goes tonight. If you don't see green, you are probably fine to increase the dose to 1.75 units. I'm sorry to hear about your civvie. I don't have any advice on whether to start insulin or not. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you. I'm very worried of my cat, this is such a cruel illness and I hope he can fight the anemia for a second time.
 
Hi Tiina, good to see you and hope the increase helps Hugo

Since civvie is on a steroid, I would make sure you are feeding LC food like you give to Hugo since we now that steroids raise the BG . I don't now when you should think about insulin for him. Maybe others can weigh in. Do you get different test through out the day on him?
 
Hi Tiina, good to see you and hope the increase helps Hugo

Since civvie is on a steroid, I would make sure you are feeding LC food like you give to Hugo since we now that steroids raise the BG . I don't now when you should think about insulin for him. Maybe others can weigh in. Do you get different test through out the day on him?
Mostly he is eating LC, and I don't feed dry anyway because of Hugo and because Elvis (the civvie) got three teeth extracted. But I have given now gravy foods to Elvis, because he drinks too little and needs to be hydrated. I have only taken one test, on Wednesday. I actually just decided to take a test, because the manual of Hugo's glucometer says that it measures if hematocrit is between 20 to 60 and I wanted to see if it gave a number, since his hematocrit was at 18 andI'm desperate to know if it's coming up. I didn't expect such a high BG, though at the vet he was 140. When should I test? Right before I give him his Pred?
 
Good luck with the increase for Hugo.

My civie has been on pred for over a year for his IBD. I am testing periodically (last test 68:D). Not all kitties on pred get diabetes. My civie is also bad about drinking water, so I add extra water to each of his low carb meals. For Elvis, I would test periodically for the next few days. Maybe test a few hours after his meal. Since he just had a dental and some extractions, he's likely got some inflammation which can raise the BG's and the inflammation can take a week to go down. My civie once was over 210 from stress at the vet and 55 the next day at home, so just you can't decide what to do on just one test.
 
Good luck with the increase for Hugo.

My civie has been on pred for over a year for his IBD. I am testing periodically (last test 68:D). Not all kitties on pred get diabetes. My civie is also bad about drinking water, so I add extra water to each of his low carb meals. For Elvis, I would test periodically for the next few days. Maybe test a few hours after his meal. Since he just had a dental and some extractions, he's likely got some inflammation which can raise the BG's and the inflammation can take a week to go down. My civie once was over 210 from stress at the vet and 55 the next day at home, so just you can't decide what to do on just one test.
Thanks Wendy and such nice numbers with your civie. I will try to get more tests with mine, but I feel bad about poking him when he needs all the rbc for himself at the moment. His illness is so serious, that it's still very uncertain how things will go. I might start the tests after I hear the latest bloodwork. Then I will have more of an idea if the Pred has stopped the destruction of his rbc.

Hugo decided to surprise me with a green amps, so for the morning I stuck to the old dose and gave him a carbier meal. Probably way too carby...looking at the SS. I was afraid he would dive. But I decided to go ahead with the increase anyway for tonight. We'll see how it goes. I think he needs more juice.
 
I agree with Wendy. I would get some periodic tests from Hugo. It could easily be vet stress that was elevating his numbers or that he just isn't feeling great.

Rather than using a gravy based food, I'd add water to Hugo's food. I routinely added water to Gabby and Gizmo's food and have continued to add water to Gizmo's food now that Gabby is gone.

Treating the anemia has to take precedence over any issue related to whether Hugo develops diabetes. The anemia is life threatening -- the diabetes is not. You know how to use insulin and should Hugo's pancreas decide to give you both trouble, you know the routine and we're here to help.

 
I agree with Wendy. I would get some periodic tests from Hugo. It could easily be vet stress that was elevating his numbers or that he just isn't feeling great.

Rather than using a gravy based food, I'd add water to Hugo's food. I routinely added water to Gabby and Gizmo's food and have continued to add water to Gizmo's food now that Gabby is gone.

Treating the anemia has to take precedence over any issue related to whether Hugo develops diabetes. The anemia is life threatening -- the diabetes is not. You know how to use insulin and should Hugo's pancreas decide to give you both trouble, you know the routine and we're here to help.
Thank you. I'm sorry if I was being a bit unclear. I was talking about my other cat, Elvis. So Elvis has the anemia and is not diabetic yet. Hugo has been diabetic for over a year. :)
 
Hi Tiina.

So nice to see a Hugo condo. I guess this morning's AMPS was proof that dosecrease threats do work! :rolleyes:
I agree he could use some more juice. He will probably bounce from this green, and however low he got in the wee hours of the morning. He does seem to still be a bouncy cat.

I'm so sorry Elvis' illness has reactivated. I hope the Pred brings it under control. I agree with Sienne: this illness take precedence over any threat of FD. While Harvey became diabetic from the Pred he was prescribed for his lymphoma, my civvie Sasha was on it for quite a while, and she did not get FD. So ECID. We'll just hope Elvis is one of the lucky ones that doesn't get it. But if he does, you know how to handle it. I would say, if you are concerned, you could try testing before he eats in the morning, just like an AMPS, then test again 2-3 hours after he eats. If the second test is lower, his pancreas is working.

Sending healing vines for Elvis. Hugo, stay off the trampoline!
 
Thank you Tricia @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey :bighug: for the advice. I will do as you suggested. Seeing how bad Elvis' teeth were (three of them were extracted) I really need to find the money to do Hugo's teeth too. The dental, thee extractions and basic bloodwork cost 720 euros for Elvis. :eek: It's crazy expensive in Finland.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top