3/10 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like Henry didn’t get too much of a drop on the insulin today. Yet two days ago he dropped to 96 at +6 on the same dose.
:sad:
Curious to see what the end of the day number(s) will be.
 
No fur shot.
He ate some Friskies turkey dinner at 4 am and this morning after test. It is on the low carb food list. He then had FF classic turkey & giblets later in the day. After last test I caught him in the other cats Goodlife receipe dry when the bedroom door was open. It always stays on dresser where he can't jump wen the door was open. He could only have gotten a few kibbles cause as soon as he headed in there I grabbed it out of reach, this was after his last test.
The other 2 won't touch canned food.
 
The Friskies turkey is different from what he usually eats. He eats FF classics 99% of time, I was low on FF and had the Friskies on hand. We restocked FF this afternoon.
 
No that was a fluke today I had set the dry food down on floor while i was wiping off placemat on dresser it sets on then went out and closed the door. I caught him within 1/2 a minute of opening the door. i am very careful its out of his reach. he cannot jump on the dresser with his mobility problems with back legs from spinal disc disease.
i wondered if it possibly could be slight dose decrease this morning?
 
Even 2 or 3 kibbles can really send their BG up from what I have heard. And of course if the dose is a drop or two less, some times / some cats seem very sensitive to that. From what I have seen with PZI it often seems to sort of have a sweet spot - a drop to little and the #s are high, a drop too much and it's uber-green, but get just the right amount and you see great #s.
 
Looking at the SS I'd say it's probably the reduced dose, but I would actually stick with the same dose tonight to see if you get an evening out of the PSs and a better PS in the morning. Even if you got say two pink PS rather than a red and a yellow it seems like that will make it easier to judge the dose, and then if you raise it back up you can evaluate it more clearly.

It's like he's in this wacky pattern with the different AM & PM PSs, and it would be really nice if you can see that change. It is just making the picture so confusing to evaluate the doses. There are some cats who have to have a different AM and PM dose, but I don't know how to figure out what dose to give at each time, his #s are just so confusing.

So I'd be tempted to stay with 1.25 for another day and see where you are at that point. If he is having some rebound or something like that, then the #s should come down some on their own in the next cycle or two. If not and they stay higher, then this dose is probably too low. But I think it's too soon to decide that for sure.
 
Yes I believe 2 or 3 bites could drive his BG up; he seems extremely carb sensitive, but this was after his tests I keep him out of the bedroom until after the +6 test to keep him from hiding under the bed wen its testing time.
I am usually uber careful that the dry food is always out of his reach, that is the first time hes had access to dry food in months.
PMPS 295 1.25 U
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top